Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Alternatives to PhotoKit Sharpener 2?  (Read 3200 times)
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1726



WWW
« on: July 25, 2012, 08:54:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Don't get me wrong I love PhotoKit Sharpener  and have used all three of it's modules practically from the time it first went on sale back in 2002 or 2003? withthe quality of ACR 6 and 7's and Lightroom 3 and now 4's capture and output sharpening thesedays I mostly use the Creative Sharpener 2 module - or at least I was.

But I am now having trouble activating PK Sharpener 2 in Photoshop CS6. The launch window keeps telling me I have exceeded the limited of activations - which is odd because I only have it installed on one computer.

Admittedly I have changed my boot/applications  drive from an internal HDD to an internal SSD, but I am not trying to run it on a third or even a second computer.   
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2225



WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 10:30:13 PM »
ReplyReply

I haven't touched it since LR3 days.  No need IMO.
Logged

Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5418


WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 11:08:06 PM »
ReplyReply

But I am now having trouble activating PK Sharpener 2 in Photoshop CS6. The launch window keeps telling me I have exceeded the limited of activations - which is odd because I only have it installed on one computer.

Do you have the most recent version PKS 2.0.7? Have you contacted PG Tech Support?
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1726



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2012, 07:56:34 AM »
ReplyReply

I haven't touched it since LR3 days.  No need IMO.
Good for you. but an irrelevant answer. if you never used the Creative Sharpening module in PK Sharpener 2 you shortchanged yourself. The Sharpeners in Lightroom 3 & 4 still dod not do certain things that i use the Creative Sharpener for and of course, no working with layers in Lr either.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1726



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2012, 07:59:20 AM »
ReplyReply

Do you have the most recent version PKS 2.0.7? Have you contacted PG Tech Support?
Thank you Jeff,
Yes the most recent version (2.0.7) is installed.
I have contacted PG Tech Support multiple times about this issue. They have tried to help but to no avail.
I need this fixed today. I have work that has to finished.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1726



WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2012, 07:34:07 PM »
ReplyReply

With the patient help of PixelGenius' help desk today I was able to get the problem resolved. I fully cop to being a part of the problem  but not the whole of it.  
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5418


WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2012, 09:49:32 PM »
ReplyReply

I fully cop to being a part of the problem  but not the whole of it.  

Ellis helped track down a bug in the PKS2 2.07 installer that mistakenly added components of PhotoKit Color 2 into the install location. That was a mistake by the engineer which has been fixed and re-uploaded to the PG web site. Since out 3 plug-ins share components, each installer double-checks the installed components and updates them were needed. However, the installer was mistakenly thinking users actually had PhotoKit Color 2 and would install it even if the user didn't even have PKC2 (such as Ellis). Of course, it would pop a serial number request and Ellis had no serial number for PKC2 which through him for a loop...

But it's all fixed now and the installer has been updated...
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1726



WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2012, 08:21:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you Jeff and thank you the PG support team.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2012, 01:09:51 PM by Ellis Vener » Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
bretedge
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 258



WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2012, 06:53:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Since no one has chimed in with any alternatives to PhotoKit Sharpener 2 I thought I'd share my two cents.  I use Nik Sharpener Pro 3 and couldn't be any more satisfied with the results.  It's that rare combination of software that is easy to use but incredibly powerful.  I use it for all my sharpening needs whether they be for jpegs on the web, canvas prints, fine art paper prints, etc.  I've never used PK Sharpener so I can't compare the two.  I can say, without a doubt, that Nik Sharpener Pro 3 is far superior to LR 3's sharpening tools.

Hope this is helpful.  Let me know if I can answer any questions for you.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2012, 06:55:16 PM by bretedge » Logged

Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1726



WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2012, 10:54:44 AM »
ReplyReply

I've worked with Nik Sharpener Pro as well. I do not find it "superior" to the capture sharpening stage in Lightroom's Develop module. Different, but not superior. And PKS 2 is still the way to go (in conjunction with The Lr capture sharpener) for multi-stage sharpening.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad