Given that the data that's in your current catalog is not what you want, you can ignore it.
When you double click on the backup catalog, LR will close (but not delete) the current troublesome catalog. I wouldn't bother to delete the current catalog unless it is huge
and/or corrupted in some way that is affecting the functioning of your machine. I think neither is likely.
In any case you always want to take one step at a time
. Find, and open, your backup catalog first. If all is well, then you can decide whether or not to delete the one with the info. you don't want.
PS 1 Unless you've been backing up your catalog daily (I do), it's likely that you will have lost some of your most recent edits
2 once you've opened the backup catalog and begin working from it, it becomes your default working catalog.