Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR 4.1 - How Much Processor Will I Need?  (Read 2300 times)
RedwoodGuy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 417


« on: August 30, 2012, 09:27:18 AM »
ReplyReply

I recently changed cameras to the Fuji X-Pro 1. And now LR runs dog slow. No, painfully slow. I'd like to upgrade my motherboard and get it right the first time without wasting money. My current PC has an older dual core 6320 with 4GB memory and Win 7. (It was fine when I was processing JPGs of all sizes.)

Currently, when I open a RAW image from the Fuji, it might take a full 60-seconds for the image to load. And that is from a SS drive, which holds all my images. The three obvious questions for an upgrade then would be:

What level of processor? I5? I7? etc.
How much memory?
What video card? I currently have a Geforce 6300.

I know there is a general answer which is always, "as fast as possible, as much memory as possible" - but that also implies "as much money as possible." I'd like to not overspend above what is needed.

If I could get the 60-second load time down to a few seconds, I'd be happy. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.
Logged
Remo Nonaz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 261


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 10:11:53 AM »
ReplyReply

As noted, as fast as possible is good. I have an i5 2500K, which is a higher end, 2nd Generation, Core-i CPU with onboard graphics, and it works well enough for the RAW images from a GH2 (16MP). Where you will see a significant slow down in Lr4 is when you have a number of adjustment brushes or gradients added. 

Your best bet is to go http://ark.intel.com/#DesktopProcessors  and take a look at the i5 and i7 CPUs. Ark lists the 'recommended price', which is usually pretty close to the Newegg or other discounter price. In each family there are usually one or two models that have a nice price/performance ratio. Seek out one of those and find a good board to match it up with. Note that the new Intel CPUs use integrated graphics - some have this some do not. If you like a CPU that does not have graphics, you will need a graphics card, which I think you said you have, but make sure it will still work with your new board and CPU. The in-CPU graphics are more than adequate for Lr4.

While your upgrading your system, think about an SSD for your C drive. The thing will boot up in about ten seconds and wake up from sleep mode faster than your montior can turn on! Wink
Logged

I really enjoy using old primes on my m4/3 camera. There's something about having to choose your aperture and actually focusing your camera that makes it so much more like... like... PHOTOGRAPHY!
RedwoodGuy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 417


« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 11:30:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you Remo. I did use your link to review the processors. Very useful. I have a tentative path now in mind.

ASUS Z77 - Ivy Bridge M'bd
I5-3570 processor
16GB Memory

It comes to about $460. A shade more than I would like to spend, but not seriously out of bounds. I don't think at this time I will add an SSD on the boot drive because I only boot every couple days, and I really don't mind the minute or so it takes. The SSD on the catalog though was a nice boost.

Thanks again for your advice.
Logged
Remo Nonaz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 261


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 12:09:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes, I expect that will be a big improvement from the E6320. BTW, I rebuilt my system about a year ago. I was running Win7/64 and a Core 2 Duo as well. All my data was on a second drive, which I removed before changing the MB. I put in the new MB, the system burped a couple of times and started right up. I was quite amazed at how well it went. No hassles with the Microsoft police either.
Logged

I really enjoy using old primes on my m4/3 camera. There's something about having to choose your aperture and actually focusing your camera that makes it so much more like... like... PHOTOGRAPHY!
AndyS
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 55


WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2012, 01:16:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

I'm running Win7 64-bit, 8GB RAM, 2xSATA Drives and i7-2600 3.4Ghz processor, GTS 450 graphics.

4.1 always seems pretty speedy to me (haven't tried the 4.2 RC, which by some accounts is a bit snappier). With 5DMkII raws it's a second or so to load in the develop module - although this goes up as local adjustments and noise reduction get added.

Worth noting that with LR4.1 you can also get quicker load times in develop by converting to DNG - can't remember the specifics of why, but something to do with the DNG now containing additional information.

Logged

JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 390


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2012, 01:32:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Andy,

Ivy bridge mobo like asus etc, as cpu a core i5 3570k and 16GB of memory will do very very well. No need for seprate videocard, the cpu has integrated graphics and is fine for photediting work. Note that Game related video performance is of little relevance to photoediting.

If you have more money to spend using a cpu  i7/3770k will be a bit faster.

If you still have more money to spend look for SSD's for system disk and one for your catalog, i use Samsung 830 256GB because of its good write speed. I hold my image files on a WD black caviar 2TB.
Logged

Fine art photography: janrsmit.com
Fine Art Printing Specialist: www.fineartprintingspecialist.nl


Jan R. Smit
SangRaal
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2012, 02:23:10 PM »
ReplyReply

An even less expensive solution would be to go AMD CPU 8150  or 8120 8 core cpu into an ASUS Sabretooth mil spec 990series mobo a very fast and stable combo (way faster than any intel i5 and most i7 combinations) total cost about $350 at newegg (newegg is throwing in 2 4gig ram sticks with the mobo). A major advantage of the AMD combo is that all the SATA slots are SATAIII (as opposed to only 2 on the intel combos). 240 gig sata3 SSD for your boot /C drive and a 2 tb WD black caviar for Data storage. There are alot of decent video cards that will work for photo editing between $125 and $185 my choice would be an XFX amd based one .
Logged
RedwoodGuy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 417


« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2012, 03:26:37 PM »
ReplyReply

I've never had an AMD proc. I must admit, my first concern would be just plain old compatibility. I have no patience for "strange errors," and opening Terminal to type in patches and workarounds and all that. I had enough of that with Linux. Or going to Windows registry and finding all kinds of arcane settings to "modify" to make it work with a mouse and such. Not saying that's the case, but I am wondering? Is it 100% "compatible with Intel" - or 99.9%? If the latter, I probably wouldn't go that way. My interest in "fixing stuff" to make it compatible is close to zero.

BUT, if it is all the same, and faster and cheaper, now you got my attention! Thanks! I'll see what I can discover about compatibility.
Logged
SangRaal
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2012, 04:44:20 PM »
ReplyReply

I and a friend have built 4 similar computers with the 8 core AMD "Zambezi" Cpu's and the Asus Sabretooth mobo's 100% compatable with any program I have put up not a single glitch bringing up the original OS( often buggy with intels). I am communicating right now on the first build (Jan. 2012) boot drive is a 240gig sata3 SSD corsair 3 western digital sata3 2tb black caviar hard drives for data storage , 32 gig of desk top ram in a full sized ATX air cooled ThermalTake case with 5 hot swapable bays for the HD's, and 1080 watt corsair power supply. There are lots of external connectors in every type of usable permutation so i can connect up with my law office legacy devices etc. You might want to go onto the Newegg site they publish user reviews of all the parts and pieces they sell it appears that these combos have functioned flawlessly for hundreds of other people also 
Logged
RedwoodGuy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 417


« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2012, 05:10:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you Sangraal - - that's excellent and useful info. I will check it out.
Logged
bduke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2012, 08:55:09 PM »
ReplyReply

I just purchased a notebook, and the most demanding applications are Lightroom and Photoshop.
Processor:  i7-3920XM - fastest mobile processor Intel makes.
Memory:  20GB - it can go upto 32GB
One of my key requirements was to have a notebook that can be docked, so it's a business grade machine.  Your requirements will be different.

In my opinion, the answer is - purchase the fastest processor you can afford.  It will save upgrading later.  And in a notebook it's not very practical.

Lightroom does not use multi-core processing in graphics cards, yet.  This means that the rendering of the images is done by the main processor, so fast is important.  And the larger the screen, the longer it will take.  I understand that Photoshop does use multi-core graphics cards.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad