Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Jeff, Eric, Odd 4.2RC Import Issue  (Read 2953 times)
HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« on: September 02, 2012, 01:22:46 AM »
ReplyReply

This one's weird.

Setup is the following: Retina Macbook, Mountain Lion, 4.2 RC. Catalog lives on my SSD internal. Images live on an external Thunderbolt HD, which is backed up daily.

Photo hierarchy is as follows:

Master_Images
        Legacy
        Recent
                 Year
                      Project


Ever since updating to 4.2 RC, the importing is fouled up. Say I want to import to Project. Okay, slip in the card; go to Grid; choose Import; point to card; point target to Project and?

And, the photos DON'T end up in Project. Well, not quite. They end up in a hierarchy that looks like so:


Master_Images
        Legacy
        Recent
                 Year
                      Project
Project

IOW, two levels up and with the identical folder name. What's more taking the photos out of the wrong Projects and dragging them into the right Project tosses up an "Sorry, I can't do that, Dave" message.

Notice there on the left, I intended the photo to be imported into RX100 test and LR created a second RX100 Test folder, two levels up. This happens, BTW, whether I'm importing from a card or HD and both via Import and drag-and-dropping from the desktop.

Any ideas? Is this a known thing? Am I crazy, or all-of-the-above?

Regards,

Marshall




 

Logged
HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2012, 02:47:11 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm really at wit's end. The folder structure on my drive is totally fine. The catalog is totally bonkers. The misbehavior totally reproducible. Does anyone have any ideas?
Logged
MBehrens
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156


« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2012, 08:34:29 PM »
ReplyReply

wow, that's some filename. Does it mean anything?
Logged
HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2012, 10:05:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Interesting and odd. I thought perhaps you were just being a wiseass  Grin . But I hadn't noticed that and, on further inspection, it is weird.

I normally have LR rename my files on import as DATE_shoot_filename. I don't think that particular long name has anything to do with the problem. I suspect it was just some random jpeg I grabbed off the web and dragged into LR, but it's one more variable to eliminate.

Any other ideas? So far I've eliminated the problem by creating a new catalog and reimporting everything--which means I've lost a lot of edits. I'd like to somehow be able to go back to my old catalog and "fix" the problem, whatever that entails.

TIA
Logged
MBehrens
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156


« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, 12:22:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Any time I've had issues with things being imported to the wrong place it's been an oversight in the import screen. Lots of options hidden in collapsible sections.

Might try revealing the Master_Images parent folder. May show some clues, is the errant Project folder really parallel to Master_Images.

Sorry Can't be more help but not on a Mac and can't reproduce the issue.

- Morey
Logged
HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2012, 12:39:10 AM »
ReplyReply

>>Any time I've had issues with things being imported to the wrong place it's been an oversight in the import screen. Lots of options hidden in collapsible sections.<<

With all due respect, I've been a LR user since pre-day-one, I've been a software beta tester since OS/2 2.0, have run training and help-desk ops and written in-house tech manuals. I'm also a klutz and a lunkhead, so I suppose I could have just, all-of-a-sudden, forgotten how to operate Import. However, it's unlikely.

Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101


« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2012, 11:44:11 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm really at wit's end. The folder structure on my drive is totally fine. The catalog is totally bonkers. The misbehavior totally reproducible. Does anyone have any ideas?

Hi Ham, have you tried importing images to another folder path entirely?  I understand with this particular folder path, the broken behavior is reproducible.  I'm wondering what happens if you try another folder path (would help provide a clue as to the source of the problem).

Thanks.
Eric
Logged

HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2012, 01:29:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Well, I've blown past the whole thing by creating a new catalog and the existing path. Importing now works as usual. However, for experimentation's sake, I can go back to the old "bad" catalog and try what you suggest.

It may well be the problem didn't reside in a bad catalog,though, but someplace else. I have no idea how LR does what it does or the route it takes, so experimentally, something else to do with the ACT of creating a new catalog may have fixed the problem, which may have resided elsewhere. We'll see.

I can tell you that when it was acting up, there was ONE form of importing that worked fine-- Right-Clicking on the target folder in loupe or grid view and choosing "Import to this Folder." That didn't create a "stray". Worked just as advertised. Dunno if that helps.

Marshall
Logged
MBehrens
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156


« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2012, 09:58:41 PM »
ReplyReply

>>Any time I've had issues with things being imported to the wrong place it's been an oversight in the import screen. Lots of options hidden in collapsible sections.<<

With all due respect, I've been a LR user since pre-day-one, I've been a software beta tester since OS/2 2.0, have run training and help-desk ops and written in-house tech manuals. I'm also a klutz and a lunkhead, so I suppose I could have just, all-of-a-sudden, forgotten how to operate Import. However, it's unlikely.

Um, gosh I was just being self deprecating and trying to offer a suggestion based my experiences. I wasn't challenging your intelligence at all. I get it you're a smart guy. I'm to going to bore you with my credentials, but I'm a smart guy too. I don't understand why folks come to forums with a problem and then take a very defensive attitude, seems counter productive. I get it you wanted Jeff or Eric (and all you got was this Morey dork that suggested you were an idiot...), but the former seldom replies to direct inquiries on the forum and the latter came through with - what - a suggestion. You seem to be the only person experiencing this, so any responses are purely out of the goodness of our hearts. I truly hope you find a solution, but be nice.

- Morey
Logged
HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2012, 11:38:57 PM »
ReplyReply

The Morey dork's good intentions are surely appreciated. Don't sweat it. Operator error's always a consideration.
Logged
HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2012, 12:12:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Eric:

Okay, I opened up LR using the "bad" catalog. The "bad" behavior continued WRT to "dropping-back-two-levels-but-actually-in-real-life-on-the-actual-file-system-putting-the-file-in-the-"right"-place" if you get what I mean.

Then, as I think you suggested, I tried hitting Import and, on the destination side, choosing "Create New Folder" as a subfolder in the hierarchy. Same bad outcome. Instead of placing the folder (The catalog folder) in the proper hierarchy, it drops it two levels up. However, checking in the actual FS, the folder is, in fact in the correct place.

IOW, in the catalog, my new folder Test 5, is represented as Master_Images/Test 5. Whereas in the Mac FS, it's correctly located in Master_Images/Recent/2012/Test 5.

Now, here's where it gets fun. Creating yet another folder totally OUTSIDE the Master_Images Hierarchy, on a different drive, creates the proper representation in LR and in the FS. IOW, I create a folder, Test 6, and put it in Startup/Users/marshall18/Desktop and, bingo, it's properly displayed in LR.

Soooooooo. Your thoughts? BTW, this is LR 4.2RC on OS x 10.8.2 12c37, 43, and 50 and, I believe, also 10.8.1.

Marshall

Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101


« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2012, 01:07:41 PM »
ReplyReply

If you right-click on the top-level "Project" and choose "Show Parent Folder" and then right-click on the newly appeared parent and choose "Show Parent Folder" again, and repeat those steps several more times in an attempt to create a duplicate of the full folder hierarchy (Master_Images>Recent>Year>Project) in the Folders panel, do you eventually get an error message which says something like, "An internal error has occurred.  Database "<path to database>": columns rootFolder, pathFRomRoot are not unique Statement: UPDATE AgLibraryFloder SET rootFolder = ?,pathFromRoot = ? WHERE id_local = ?;"
Logged

HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2012, 09:22:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Nope. Right-clicking on Master_Images yields Lightroom/Master_Images. Right-clicking on Lightroom yields Files (Which is the HD)/Lightroom/Master_Images.

No funky database error message.
Logged
HamSammich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34


« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2012, 09:53:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Eric:

Woo Hooooo! I guess.

Right-Clicking on the top level folder Master_Images, and choosing "Hide Parent," finally produced a database error.
Does this get you closer to a diagnosis/treatment?

Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad