Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: CS6 will not paint white  (Read 1073 times)
Trevor Murgatroyd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« on: September 09, 2012, 07:49:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Hello

I am a new Photoshop user and very much a novice. I am finding that my brush will not work with white, either when working on masks or painting directly on an image.

All other colors and black work fine, but when I switch my color to white, the brush leaves no mark on images or masks.

I would much appreciate any suggestions

Trevor
Logged
Richowens
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 846



« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2012, 09:39:10 AM »
ReplyReply

White is erase.
Logged

Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1967


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2012, 09:46:02 AM »
ReplyReply

White is erase.
Certainly the case when drawing on a mask layer, but not on an ordinary image layer.

You should be able to paint with white.
As a test create a two layered document and fill the bottom layer with a dark colour. Then move to the layer above and set the colour to white and draw away. You should see the paint lines, assuming you've set the brush to have a large enough diameter (which you should see an outline of).
Logged
Bryan Conner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 520


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2012, 12:23:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Make sure your painting mode is set to normal.  If it is set to darken, a brush will not do anything with white the chosen color.
Logged

Trevor Murgatroyd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2012, 09:13:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Make sure your painting mode is set to normal.  If it is set to darken, a brush will not do anything with white the chosen color.

Thank you Bryan, that was my problem exactly.

Regards

Trevor
Logged
Bryan Conner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 520


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2012, 01:07:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you Bryan, that was my problem exactly.

Regards

Trevor

Glad I could help.  I remembered that from past experience...I spent hours a few years ago trying to correct the same problem.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad