Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Adjustment brush stuck  (Read 2423 times)
Kirk Gittings
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547


WWW
« on: September 16, 2012, 06:19:50 PM »
ReplyReply

When I click on the adjustment brush it comes up preset with some setting I used 3 weeks ago (probably 100 images ago) instead of nuetral or the settings from my last use. Reset does nothing, clearing the cache does nothing, rebooting the computer does nothing-Restore Local Presets does nothing......

Any suggestions?

LR4 with most recent update, W7, 6 Core, 24 GB ram.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2012, 06:42:08 PM by Kirk Gittings » Logged

Thanks,
Kirk

Kirk Gittings
Architecture and Landscape Photography
WWW.GITTINGSPHOTO.COM

LIGHT+SPACE+STRUCTURE (blog)
Scott Hargis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2012, 10:49:13 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm pretty sure the answer is, "That's how it is."

Dumbest thing I've seen. There should be a way to zero out everything.
Logged

<a href="http://www.scotthargisphoto.com">Website</a>
David Eichler
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 329


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2012, 11:08:30 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm pretty sure the answer is, "That's how it is."

Dumbest thing I've seen. There should be a way to zero out everything.

Hmmm. Sometimes it takes several uses for new settings to stick, but I have never experienced these tools just changing on their own or using some setting from a long time ago.
Logged

aduke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 361


« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2012, 11:47:04 PM »
ReplyReply

Try this:

Click on the adjustment brush tool, note the settings of the sliders, then zero all of the sliders.
Start an adjustment brush, set one of the sliders to some value.
Close the adjustment brush by again clicking on the tool.

I believe that the next time you click on the adjustment brush tool, all of the sliders will be zero. I also believe that, if in the first step you set one or more of the sliders to some value, then when you start a new brush, the sliders will have the values you set the last time you set the sliders without having an active brush.

This is the behavior of my adjustment brush settings in LR4.2 on a Windows 7 64-bit system.

Alan
Logged
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5744



WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2012, 12:03:47 AM »
ReplyReply

Open the Brush tool.  Hold down the Alt/Opt key and 'Effect' in the top left changes to Reset.  Click that and all of the sliders are zeroed.  Now, press 'New' for a new brush.  Don't paint anything, just close the brush tool.  Open the Brush tool and all of the sliders should still be zeroed.

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Scott Hargis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191



WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2012, 09:42:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Hmmm. Sometimes it takes several uses for new settings to stick, but I have never experienced these tools just changing on their own or using some setting from a long time ago.


I didn't say they were changing on their own. I was pointing out that the brushes will remember the previous settings, but that there's no simple "zero-all" or "reset" button. Which in my opinion would be a no-brainer.
Logged

<a href="http://www.scotthargisphoto.com">Website</a>
Robert Katz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2012, 11:40:24 AM »
ReplyReply

When the adjustment brush is open "Effect" changes to Reset when Alt is pressed.  If you then click on it all the brush effects are zero'ed out.
Lr.42RC, Windows 7
Robwer
Logged

Robert Katz
Robert Katz Photography
AFairley
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1158



« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2012, 01:39:59 PM »
ReplyReply

The great thing about dodging and burning in the darkroom was that you didn't have to be a rocket scientist to do it.... Roll Eyes
Logged

Kirk Gittings
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2012, 02:38:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Open the Brush tool.  Hold down the Alt/Opt key and 'Effect' in the top left changes to Reset.  Click that and all of the sliders are zeroed.  Now, press 'New' for a new brush.  Don't paint anything, just close the brush tool.  Open the Brush tool and all of the sliders should still be zeroed.

Mike.

That did it thanks. That was getting old!
Logged

Thanks,
Kirk

Kirk Gittings
Architecture and Landscape Photography
WWW.GITTINGSPHOTO.COM

LIGHT+SPACE+STRUCTURE (blog)
Scott Hargis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191



WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2012, 04:34:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Open the Brush tool.  Hold down the Alt/Opt key and 'Effect' in the top left changes to Reset.  Click that and all of the sliders are zeroed.  Now, press 'New' for a new brush.  Don't paint anything, just close the brush tool.  Open the Brush tool and all of the sliders should still be zeroed.

Mike.

Outstanding. Thanks for that.
Logged

<a href="http://www.scotthargisphoto.com">Website</a>
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad