Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: External Editor problem  (Read 1549 times)
dgerth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


WWW
« on: October 03, 2012, 09:11:21 AM »
ReplyReply

I am having trouble with the Lightroom-Photoshop connection. I am running LR 4.1, and just upgraded to CS6. System is Win 7, 64 bit. Lightroom is still looking for the old 32 bit CS3 version of Photoshop, and all the export options (export as layers, smart object, etc.) are greyed out. I have had no luck in figuring out how to point LR to the new version of Photoshop. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.
Logged
Slobodan Blagojevic
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 5881


When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2012, 10:16:56 AM »
ReplyReply

... just upgraded to CS6...

You might need to update it first, before LR4 can recognize it.
Logged

Slobodan

Flickr
500px
dgerth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2012, 07:25:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Not sure what you mean - I have updated to the latest versions of both LR and CS; still no luck.
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2227



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2012, 08:26:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Just uninstall both then reinstall PS first then LR
Logged

RFPhotography
Guest
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2012, 09:35:04 PM »
ReplyReply

LR should, I believe, default to the most recent version of PS that's installed.

Check the preferences and if needed, change the connection in the External Editing preference for Lightroom. 

Uninstalling CS3 could also fix the issue.
Logged
W.T. Jones
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 121



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2012, 04:37:33 AM »
ReplyReply

dgerth,

Did you ever get this problems solved? I just went through a similar experience  earlier this week. I removed CS4 & 5 from my windows machine & all of a sudden LR was looking for CS4. It would not see CS6. I could not open files as a smart object or merge to HDR pro etc.
LR simply did not see CS6.  It was fine before I removed the old versions of PS. I have no idea what happened, but I reinstalled LR4.2 as I thought perhaps the upgrade was corrupt. did not fix it. so I reinstalled PS CS6 and all is well now.
Logged

Warren
dgerth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2012, 08:51:07 AM »
ReplyReply

I did get the problem solved. I inspected the registry entries for the Photoshop path, and it was pointed to the old CS3 file. I uninstalled CS6, reinstalled it, and all was well. Checking the registry again showed it pointing to the correct file.

No idea why it happened, but at least it's fixed. Thanks to all for the assistance.

dan
Logged
JackWinberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2012, 08:26:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Unfortunately, this rather erratic and "sticky" external editor behavior of Lightroom is well known and persists into the current version.  I had rather hoped they would fix it by now, but apparently that is not the case.

Deep sigh .... perhaps the next version?   Huh

Jack Winberg
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad