Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Help needed ;) Banding in Ps CS6 13.0.1 but not in Lr 4.2 !  (Read 2067 times)
Naninou
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« on: October 09, 2012, 05:28:13 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi everyone,

i need help Wink

I calibrated the screen of my Macbook Pro Retina with a X-Rite i1 Display Pro.
I shoot in Raw with a Fuji X100 and import the photo into Lightroom 4.2.



From the Develop panel, i hit "Cmd+E" and Lightroom export the file into Photoshop CS6 13.0.1 in Tiff 16 bits ProPhotoRVB no compression.
The working space of Photoshop is set to ProPhoto RVB color space.
But when the photo appears in Photoshop, there are banding and color shift.



So i save this Tiff file and Lightroom import it back.
And when i look at this Tiff into Lightroom, there are no more banding and color shift.

I don't understand what is going on !
Did i press accidentally a shortcut ? I never saw this before the calibration of the screen.
I have important working session tomorrow and i am lost writing this post

Best regards.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 6803


« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 08:27:23 AM »
ReplyReply

No idea, unfortunately, but what happens when you revert to the standard display profile? When exporting a file in TIFF format, you only have a few options and you seem to have chosen the correct ones (TIFF, 16-bit, No compression and ProPhoto RVB).

Edit 2x: Have you tried to see whether the Graphic Processor Settings (Photoshop > Preferences > Performance…) plays a role?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2012, 08:43:25 AM by francois » Logged

Francois
Naninou
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 09:34:27 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Francois,

i have just tested the OpenGL mode in its 3 modes and in Basic mode, it solves the problem !
First, thank you for your advice Wink
But what do i loose in this Basic mode ? Any quality lost ?
Why do i have this problem with a fresh new system with all updates installed ?
I don't understand... i can't be the only one to see this problem, isn't it ?

Regards.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 6803


« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2012, 10:10:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Francois,

i have just tested the OpenGL mode in its 3 modes and in Basic mode, it solves the problem !
First, thank you for your advice Wink
But what do i loose in this Basic mode ? Any quality lost ?
Why do i have this problem with a fresh new system with all updates installed ?
I don't understand... i can't be the only one to see this problem, isn't it ?

Regards.

Using the basic mode uses the CPU to perform computations. The "problematic" mode uses the GPU and should give you faster performance. See the screenshot of the pref dialog.
The issue has nothing to do with a fresh system install, so don't worry.

Logged

Francois
Naninou
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2012, 10:57:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Interesting post here : http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1079215?tstart=0

But i have a question :

how can we be so few people to see this issue when my workflow is the most recommended one for photographer ?

Opening Raw file in Lightroom and then editing it in Photoshop in Tiff 16 bits ProPhoto, is it not the best quality way to work a photo ?

There is something i don't understand here...

How can this workflow be so recommended on Adobe website and all others forums, when such an issue exist ?
Logged
kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 732


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2012, 11:31:16 AM »
ReplyReply

hello naninou,

is this probably only a screen banding problem or a real one of the image?

A labtop screen shows more (screen) banding than a good screen at a desktop.

Do you see banding at 100% (photopixel = screenpixel ) ? - intermediate views may cause banding easely

Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
Naninou
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2012, 11:42:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Kers,

i see this banding and color shift only in Photoshop when GPU mode is on Normal and Advanced mode and my color space is ProPhoto.
And i see this issue at any zoom level, even at 100%.
Can you tell me in which GPU mode are you ?
And, i can tell you that the new Macbook Pro Retina display is very accurate Wink

Regards.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 6803


« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2012, 04:20:41 AM »
ReplyReply

…is this probably only a screen banding problem or a real one of the image?

A labtop screen shows more (screen) banding than a good screen at a desktop.

Totally agree! I believe that this case of banding is due to the difference in computations between CPU and GPU. A good way to check whether the laptop display [also] plays a role would be to use a second external monitor.
Logged

Francois
kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 732


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2012, 07:50:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Kers,

i see this banding and color shift only in Photoshop when GPU mode is on Normal and Advanced mode and my color space is ProPhoto.
And i see this issue at any zoom level, even at 100%.
Can you tell me in which GPU mode are you ?
And, i can tell you that the new Macbook Pro Retina display is very accurate Wink

Regards.

You could check the numbers in photoshop...
in prophoto you have to work in 16 bit- (otherwise the colour may indeed jump to fast)
see if the RGBnumbers jump in relation to the banding you see..  if not - it is a screen problem
then my reference is always a good print... but i must say also printing can cause banding ( a basic digital problem)
and then even your good retina is probably not as good as a good normal screen...

maybe you could try to  put the GPU accelerate off in photoshop- it  may give problems - never worked very well with my computer ( mac pro 2008-  nvidia 800gt)
« Last Edit: October 14, 2012, 06:39:30 AM by kers » Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
MarkL
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 334


« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2012, 11:32:42 AM »
ReplyReply

I also notice this on low key studio backgrounds and have no idea why it occurs. Does it also look fine in the develop module in LR? Apparently the library module uses adobe1998 and develop prophotoRGB to render previews.

ProPhotoRBG is far less tolerant re: banding than adobe1998 so I now export these sorts of shots in adobe1998 16bit but it still doesn't explain the discrepancy...
« Last Edit: October 16, 2012, 11:53:41 AM by MarkL » Logged
kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 732


WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2012, 07:51:24 PM »
ReplyReply

prophotos colorspace is very large- much larger than adobe1998.

But you still have the same amount of addresses in 16 or 8 bit - so the gap between two adjacent colors in prophoto is larger than in adobe1998.

if you use 8 bit ( instead of 16bit) the gaps gets too big because you have 256-times less addresses.
Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad