Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Using Image Title As A File Name?  (Read 3836 times)
Bob Rockefeller
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 91



WWW
« on: October 14, 2012, 06:59:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Aperture's file naming presets give a lot of options, but those don't include using the image title as the file name. There's version name, original file name and custom name, but no title.

Is there a way to use title?
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2445



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2012, 07:31:16 AM »
ReplyReply

Where are you looking, Bob? In Metadata > Batch Change > Version Name Format >Edit? I don't see a way to use any IPTC data in filenaming, but I may not have looked everywhere. I don't know if Aperture allows AppleScript the IPTC info and filenames, but might it do the job?
Logged

Bob Rockefeller
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 91



WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2012, 07:35:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Presets>File Naming...

That's where I'm setting up my file naming export presets.

Bob
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
KirbyKrieger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 357


WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2012, 11:21:25 PM »
ReplyReply

There is not.  This has been a known limitation for some time.

In Aperture you should use the Version Name field for your picture titles.

I've been told that you can populate the Version Name field from the IPTC Title field using Applescript, but I don't know how to do it.

You can use the worthy plug-in BorderFX to put the contents of the Title field on top of or in the border of a picture.  That is not, of course, the same as making the title part of the file name.

Feature requests to Apple for Aperture can be made via "Aperture➞Provide Aperture Feedback".
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2445



WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2012, 07:00:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Kirby,

Can it not be done with AppleScript?

John
Logged

KirbyKrieger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 357


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2013, 08:51:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Kirby,

Can it not be done with AppleScript?

John
Sorry for the delay -- I was busy at the end of the year, and then picked up every cold in town.

I'd be surprised if it can't be scripted -- but I don't script.   Embarrassed
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad