Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: TIFF opens in ACR, make it stop for just this doc  (Read 1299 times)
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8027



WWW
« on: October 17, 2012, 01:01:30 PM »
ReplyReply

I've got a TIFF that when I try to open it, always defaults to Camera Raw. OK I know I can stop this by altering the General Preferences but my question is, why when I open as a TIFF (alter format popup), then save that to the desktop as a NEW TIFF, that new TIFF also opens within ACR. There has to be some metadata getting transferred. At this point, to stop the behavior, it is a all or nothing proposition: Turn off the ability to edit all TIFFs in ACR forever. Or keep the setting on for some files and have to select TIFF for this document every time.

Jeff or anyone else, does this make sense? If one takes a TIFF that once opened in ACR and saves it out as another TIFF, should that new iteration behave the same? What does one do to remove this 'tag' that tells Photoshop (CS5 or CS6) not to open in ACR, open like other TIFFs?
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
deejjjaaaa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 743


« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 01:29:50 PM »
ReplyReply

At this point, to stop the behavior, it is a all or nothing proposition: Turn off the ability to edit all TIFFs in ACR forever.
well... I guess if your TIFF editing in ACR is rare then you can switch that off in ACR preferences and then open the file from Bridge by directly saying "open in ACR" or open the file from PS with Open As by specifying "Open as Camera Raw"... that will allow you to open TIFF in ACR on demand only ... right ?
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8027



WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2012, 01:35:15 PM »
ReplyReply

It is rare, I probably was only playing around with this one doc.

Seems strange we have to deal with an all or nothing approach here. The new preference solves the issue with this one doc at least.

When I look the file info, Advanced, I do see embedded ACR metadata instructions (camera raw properties). That must be what pops ACR with the preference on.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1862


WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2012, 02:34:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Just a wild guess, but does the file you're trying to open have a side car .xmp file for it ?
Could PS be looking for an xmp and if it finds one assumes you want it opened in ACR ?
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8027



WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2012, 02:52:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Just a wild guess, but does the file you're trying to open have a side car .xmp file for it ?
Could PS be looking for an xmp and if it finds one assumes you want it opened in ACR ?

No XMP files (not really necessary) the edits from ACR are seen within the document in File Info. That is what I assume ACR 'see's when the preferences are set to use it and it opens there. What was interesting was saving out a copy didn't fix the issue because, well the metadata gets copied.

Bet if I used Save for Web and stripped it, it would open normally.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2444



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2012, 01:40:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Andrew, you can delete chunks of metadata in the Advanced tab of File Info?

John
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8027



WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2012, 05:02:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Andrew, you can delete chunks of metadata in the Advanced tab of File Info?

Not working. I see the little trash can. When I select something in Advanced (Camera Raw data), click on the trash can, nothing seems to happen.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
MichaelEzra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 640



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2012, 08:39:21 PM »
ReplyReply

HI Andrew, you can use Bridge, right-click\Develop Settings\Clear Settings
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad