Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Highlights & Shadows on D800e RAW file seem drastic  (Read 1631 times)
Mike Guilbault
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 817



WWW
« on: November 04, 2012, 09:50:18 PM »
ReplyReply

I've noticed that I'm consistently lowering the Highlights and increasing the Shadows in LR for my D800e RAW files, moreso than I did with my D700.  Otherwise the images is way too contrasty.  Sometimes I'm decreasing Highlights all the way (-100) and increasing the shadows all the way (+100) and still have to go in with the Adjustment Brush or Grad Filter to adjust some more.

Is anyone else noticing something similar? Could I have something 'set' incorrectly on either the camera or in LR? 
Logged

stamper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2622


« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2012, 03:19:06 AM »
ReplyReply

I read that the D800e has a DR of over 13 stops compared with 12 stops for the D700. Could that be the "problem"?
Logged

kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 728


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2012, 03:34:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Is your camera set to standard? may be put it at neutral is you think your images have too much contrast..
Nikon capture NX2 give the most relaxed images as far as i know...you might give it a try
Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
Mike Guilbault
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 817



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2012, 09:25:48 AM »
ReplyReply

The D800e definitely has more DR than the D700, but it seems odd that I have to adjust the highlights and shadows so much to bring it out... unless it's just me going overboard with bringing out the detail that I hadn't seen before.

I'll have to check what the camera is set at, but it's either standard or neutral - but I didn't think that made a difference when shooting RAW?

I tried NX many years ago and gave up on it.  It was much too slow for my workflow. LR suits my flow much better, especially since I do my own printing now as well.
Logged

Richowens
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 837



« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2012, 09:44:47 AM »
ReplyReply

Mike,

 Sounds to me like you have an import preset adding way too much contrast. Where are your exposure and contrast sliders set. Also the point curve default is increased contrast, though slight.

 Try manually setting all settings to "0" and see what it looks like. Of all the files I have done I have seldom had to use highlight and shadow that much together.
Separately, yes, but not together.

Rich
Logged

Paul2660
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1677


WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2012, 12:39:05 PM »
ReplyReply

What is your camera profile set to in LR.  If it's camera landscape, you may want to change to Camera neutral or camera standard.  Both of these in LR, not your physical camera.  The Camera landscape adds way too much saturation and contrast for me, especially on the 800e.  It was a bit different on the 800.  As I recall you get 5 options here for camera profile.

I have been curious if LR is using a separate set of profiles between the 800 and 800e, I am starting to feel that they are using the same profiles on both cameras.  I have had more trouble with e files in LR 4 than I had with 800 files. 

Similar issues, but I have not had to move the slider all the way as you have, but blacks seem much harder to get a pure black than on the 800 files.

One other camera setting to look at is the active D lighting.  I used neutral on the 800 and have switched to low on the e.  This setting has quite a big effect on files IMO.

Paul
Logged

Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
Photography > http://photosofarkansas.com
Blog> http://paulcaldwellphotography.com
JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 360


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2012, 02:07:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Mike, I have a D700 and a D800e and i am not experiencing such behaviour with the d800e images.
I do use AdobeStandard as default cameraprofile, else my own made with Color CheckerPasport.
I do not use D-lighting, i do proper exposure, that is expose to the right in case there is some room left.
I do notice however that previewing the image on the camera-back can give the idea it is properly exposed, but in LR it is a bit under-exposed. So i primarely watch the histogram. I also set the contrast to the minimum, does make the preview look flat, but the clipping indication is then much closer to the actual raw clipping.
Logged

Fine art photography: www.janrsmit.com
Courses and workshops: www.centrumbeeldbeleving.nl

Jan R. Smit
mac_paolo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 420


« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2012, 03:51:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Lots of people seem to forget the first and most important slider to save in the import preset: contrast!
Try reducing your standard to -10/-20 and look how much DR you'll get back before even touching highlights/shadows sliders Smiley
Logged
Mike Guilbault
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 817



WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2012, 08:54:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Mike,

 Sounds to me like you have an import preset adding way too much contrast. Where are your exposure and contrast sliders set. Also the point curve default is increased contrast, though slight.

Rich

After import, my sliders are all still at 0.  There is no adjustment made and I don't have any presets that I apply on import to change these values.
Logged

Mike Guilbault
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 817



WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2012, 08:56:16 PM »
ReplyReply

I'll check the other settings... D-Lighting, profiles and such, tomorrow when I'm back in the studio (dont' have the camera with me this evening).  Thanks for the suggestions. 
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad