Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Question on base noise reduction settings on Capture One 7  (Read 1573 times)
Paul2660
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002


WWW
« on: November 12, 2012, 08:10:35 AM »
ReplyReply

I have been working with Capture One 7 for a few weeks now and had worked with it during the beta program. I have run into one area that strikes me as odd, the default noise reduction amounts on base iso 50 files.

In earlier versions of Capture One, as you moved up in iso, the default amounts of noise reduction also increased.

On my base iso files from the IQ160 or P45+, the base noise reduction is set to Luminance of 50 and detail noise reduction to 50. I was working a series of files that had great detail in the distance, which was easily visible on the cameras LCD and using the focus mask. However when I opened the files in Capture ONe, I was surprised to see that the distance details, were a bit soft and had the plasticly look that over done noise reduction can create.

This was easily solved by backing off the detail noise reduction from 50 to around 5 and the Luminance to about 7. The sky picked up no extra noise with these reductions and the increase in the details in the distance was very impressive.

I am curious if any others have noticed this?

Paul
Logged

Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
Photography > http://photosofarkansas.com
Blog> http://paulcaldwellphotography.com
remko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2012, 01:27:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Paul,

Yes, I have noticed that as well. I have a Nikon D800 and D3. Even at base ISO the noise reduction sliders are set to 50 and do not change if the ISO goes up, unless a certain treshold is met.
To me the basic settings are surprising and a I do not take them seriously. A D800 file at base ISO is impressively clean and certainly do not need any noise reduction, whether luminance or chroma. I simply bring the sliders down to zero. Even at ISO 800 I bring the sliders down to zero and do not see any noise when zoomed in at 100%.

I have no idea why the Phase One team has chosen these settings. I was under the impression that these settings were camera specific, but aparently they are not! At least at base or low ISO. Otherwise you would not have the same base settings for your camera.

cheers,
Remko
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 01:35:10 PM by remko » Logged
Kevin Sink
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2012, 07:32:26 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for posting this!  I was working with some files where the out of focus areas had that "plastic" look; something I hadn't seen with v6.  I'm now suspect of the higher base noise reduction may be the culprit.
Logged

Kevin

Kevin Sink Photography
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3905


« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2012, 06:08:54 PM »
ReplyReply

I have no idea why the Phase One team has chosen these settings. I was under the impression that these settings were camera specific, but aparently they are not! At least at base or low ISO. Otherwise you would not have the same base settings for your camera.

Hi Remko,

That's why I use a default user style which, amongst others, turns off noise reduction. I can always add it later, in the rare cases that I need it.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
Paul Steunebrink
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2012, 02:40:55 AM »
ReplyReply

Regarding the default slider value of 50 for the noise reduction sliders, the approach Phase One designers take in CO7 (with the CO7 Engine) is different from earlier versions. At least that is what I have been told by the designers.

The value is relative, and should internally adjust to different levels of noise reduction per camera and per ISO setting. This explains that you do not see different slider values when you use the CO7 Engine for different cameras and ISO settings. Note that with the CO6 Engine in CO7, the values are the same as with CO6.

To change these defaults for your cameras and backs, you can set a new default for the NR tool, per camera.

With the new CO7 Engine, the noise reduction algorithms are different and readjusted. Apparently, the internal adjustments are overcompensating and need ... readjustment.
Logged

Capture One trainer
Phase One Certified Professional
remko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2012, 03:54:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Bart,

Thanks for pointing me to the default user style!

I was aware of it, but as a newby to C1 Pro did not use it as of yet as there is so much to explore. I now certainly will try it :-)

cheers,
Remko
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad