Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Over-Saturation Problem  (Read 2881 times)
Kit-V
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129


« on: November 30, 2012, 09:15:04 PM »
ReplyReply

I am running a slideshow on my HDTV that I created in FotoMagico 4.1 through my MacBookPro (OS 10.7.5). All of my images are over-saturated when viewed on the HDTV. I am connected to the HDTV with a DVI-HDMI cable. How can I resolve this over-saturation problem?

Thank you for your indulgence with (what I am sure) is a remedial question.

Kit
Logged

Falling Fork Photography
Slobodan Blagojevic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6045


When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2012, 10:03:02 PM »
ReplyReply

By adjusting colors and contrast on your TV. TVs are typically sold with way too high contrast and saturation.
Logged

Slobodan

Flickr
500px
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7655


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2012, 10:40:49 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Some TV-s may have a preset for for computer. My parents have a TV from Phillips, and colors from PC were awful. We than changed a preset  to one saying "computer" and everything got just fine.

Another issue to keep on mind may be that HDMI can be operated in standard or enhanced mode. Standard mode is broadcast and uses only a part of the tone scale (16-232 I guess). So if computer outputs enhanced HDMI and TV is set for standard to steep contrast will result.

As a side note, I used Fotomagico, but I'm moving away from it and started using Final Cut Pro X instead. The main reason is that I am concerned about long term stability of Fotomagico file formats. I have stuff that won't play any longer. Also, if I export Fotomagico slideshows as movies the results are not very impressive. But I still use Fotomagico from time to time, just not for stuff I want to be around 'for ever'.

Best regards
Erik


By adjusting colors and contrast on your TV. TVs are typically sold with way too high contrast and saturation.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2012, 10:49:48 PM by ErikKaffehr » Logged

francois
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 6877


« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2012, 05:58:31 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Some TV-s may have a preset for for computer. My parents have a TV from Phillips, and colors from PC were awful. We than changed a preset  to one saying "computer" and everything got just fine.


Yes… I have a Sony TV and there's a "theatre" mode that essentially desaturates colors. In this mode, colors a very similar in saturation to the ones on a computer display.
Logged

Francois
Kit-V
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129


« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2012, 07:49:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Slobodan, Erik & Francois:
Thank you for the responses. I will navigate through the HDTV menu & see what options I have. I appreciate it.

Erik:
Actually, I am new to FotoMagico. I had used iMovie to create slideshows for several years, but became disenchanted with image quality. I think that was because my photography skills improved & subsequently I became for demanding. Although I am still working on my first slideshow on FotoMagico, the quality of the production tools seem to be a notch above iMovie. Admittedly though, I have been having issues in FotoMagico with retaining image quality after exporting my images out of Lightroom. But it appears that FotoMagico might have resolved that issue with version 4.1.

Thank you again for your help.

Kit
Logged

Falling Fork Photography
jeremypayne
Guest
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2012, 09:26:13 AM »
ReplyReply

I have calibrated and profiled my Samsung TV using the VGA connection and it worked pretty well ... I used a Spyder 3.
Logged
na goodman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 355


« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2012, 07:51:47 PM »
ReplyReply

What software did you use with your Spyder 3 to calibrate the TV?
Logged
jeremypayne
Guest
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2012, 08:36:07 PM »
ReplyReply

What software did you use with your Spyder 3 to calibrate the TV?

I calibrated the Television itself for use with my cablebox using the spyder 3 and the spyder TV package ... Which wasn't all that great ... The settings I had found on the AVS forum were just as good.  I would not recommend the incremental $69.

I used the v4 Spyder software for the Spyder 3 and a frankensteined lenovo laptop to drive it via the VGA input.

I don't use the TV as a monitor anymore ... But it was much improved over the unprofliled state when I did.

I never used it for processing either ... Only for display.
Logged
na goodman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 355


« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2012, 08:54:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the info. I heard the Spyder TV software wasn't that great. I'm on a Mac and have been looking for software to calibrate the TV's.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2012, 01:19:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Probably the best way to handle this inexpensively is to adjust the controls you have while viewing a decent set of reference images. You're not building an ICC profile, you're not really measuring anything I can see being that useful (hence the reason so many find the Spyder product in this respect not very good).
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
PhilipCummins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 103


« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2012, 12:24:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the info. I heard the Spyder TV software wasn't that great. I'm on a Mac and have been looking for software to calibrate the TV's.

Most people seem to opt for CalMan or ChromaPure to be able to handle the TVs specifically, on the Macs it would be via Boot Camp/emulation however. Worthwhile checking the AVS Forum to get some ideas.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad