Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Combining two Paths in Photoshop  (Read 1265 times)
fotostudio.nl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13



WWW
« on: December 01, 2012, 08:14:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Sometimes it is better to shoot two products separate from each other.
then there is no contamination of colour between the items.
Very often I have two images with a clipping path that I want to combine to
one image with the combined paths from both images.
What I need is a new image with a new combined path.
The cut-out images do overlap sometimes.

In for example Illustrator it is easy to combine two vector paths,
but I cant find a way to do that in Photoshop.

Has anyone tried to solve this problem?
Logged

MarkM
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 257



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 02:38:42 PM »
ReplyReply

The trick is to get both paths on the same path 'layer'. You can do this with a simple copy and paste. Then in the that layer select both path components with the path selection tool. This will allow you to access the tool bar with the combine modes and buttons (see attached). You'll only see this tool bar when the path selection tool is active.

Note: I'm still using 5.5 so I'm not sure if things changed in CS6.
Logged

kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 721


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, 02:42:08 PM »
ReplyReply

bit off topic, but does anyone know how to save a tif without paths nor alpha channels automatically?
-Now i always check it manually  ...
Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
fotostudio.nl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2012, 09:20:06 AM »
ReplyReply

The trick is to get both paths on the same path 'layer'. You can do this with a simple copy and paste. Then in the that layer select both path components with the path selection tool. This will allow you to access the tool bar with the combine modes and buttons (see attached). You'll only see this tool bar when the path selection tool is active.

Thanks this works nice!

Now I am trying to move the layer content, and the path(part) that belongs to that layer
at the same time, to the right position.
Did not succeed so far, can only move the path or the layer.
Logged

MarkM
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 257



WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2012, 03:36:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Select the path layer from the path palette, select the layer in the layers pallet. Then create a vector mask: Menu->Layers->Vector Mask->Current Path. This will add a vector mask to the layer which be default will work as a clipping path and be linked to the the layer.

If you want the path with the layer but don't want a clipping path you could also turn it into a fill layer: select the path, Layer->New Fill Layer->Solid Color. This will get the path on the layers palette where it can be linked and moved with other layers.


Logged

fotostudio.nl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2012, 02:47:55 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks Mark!

I am going to try this and use the best way for me.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad