Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Anybody use Photo Mechanic inconjunction with LR4?  (Read 1704 times)
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« on: December 05, 2012, 09:10:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Anyone use Photo Mechanic to ingest files and upload the later into LR4?  Looking for a quick upload to the HD, so i can up upload them into LR4 when I have time or late at night.  I'm talking about uploading 900+ images.  Also, will PM ingest quicker than LR4?  I'm looking to get the files off the cards and backed-up in the quickest time. 
Logged
NikoJorj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1063


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 03:43:42 AM »
ReplyReply

I used to do that : yes PM is quicker to ingest than LR (same copy time, but no preview building time), and it also had a second advantage : the backup copy has the same folder structure than the working directory, that may ease an eventual data recovery.
Main con : it ingests anything that is on the card in one pass, with no ability to separate it in more jobs during import AFAIK.

That, added to the slightly more complex workflow, made me ingest with LR and not use PM anymore since LR4.
My 1st raw backup is now in a kind of mess (these "Imported on February 34th" folders) but I hope I won't have to sort my way through them.
Logged

Nicolas from Grenoble
A small gallery
Rory
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156


« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 07:56:31 AM »
ReplyReply

I use PM to cull and sometimes to keyword when I am on the road before I ingest as I do not have time to wait for Lightroom to ingest and build previews.  As far as I can tell, LR and PM ingest at the same speed.  The value of PM is it's speed displaying the embedded jpgs and efficient metadata management.

BTW, you can filter which images to ingest.  This is what I do when assessing 500-1000 shots from the day.
Logged
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2012, 12:58:58 PM »
ReplyReply

I used PM years ago with Capture 1.  My patience runs a little short sometimes when ingesting with LR4.  I have a habit of ingesting everything, even the crappy shots of my feet.  Culling before ingesting makes sense--just uncheck the lesser stuff--and only requires a slight change to my workflow. 

Being slavish to a workflow can blind you to improvements.  Thanks for the help.
Logged
k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1417


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2012, 01:45:39 PM »
ReplyReply

I do this every day. I use Photo Mechanic to Ingest my cards, then Rename, Caption, Keyword (using the amazing and fast Structured Keywords panel), then do the initial culling of bad photos, then choose which images will be processed through Lightroom and open them in LR directly from PM.

At work I do not utilize Lightroom's asset management capabilities -- it's strictly a raw processor. A very good raw processor, with some great time-saving features over Camera Raw. At home, I keep my entire archive of personal work in LR, and use it as my primary printing machine, too.
Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2012, 09:14:13 PM »
ReplyReply

I do this every day. I use Photo Mechanic to Ingest my cards, then Rename, Caption, Keyword (using the amazing and fast Structured Keywords panel), then do the initial culling of bad photos, then choose which images will be processed through Lightroom and open them in LR directly from PM.

At work I do not utilize Lightroom's asset management capabilities -- it's strictly a raw processor. A very good raw processor, with some great time-saving features over Camera Raw. At home, I keep my entire archive of personal work in LR, and use it as my primary printing machine, too.

I was unaware you could open them in LR directly from PM!  I need to see if PM offers a 15 day trial.
Logged
NikoJorj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1063


WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2012, 02:43:48 AM »
ReplyReply

BTW, you can filter which images to ingest. 
How do you do that with PM? Is it a new feature of PM5?
Logged

Nicolas from Grenoble
A small gallery
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2642



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2012, 05:35:18 AM »
ReplyReply

You just drag them to the LR icon in the Mac dock or right click and Edit Photo - it chooses the default app for that file type.
Logged

k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1417


WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2012, 06:04:01 AM »
ReplyReply

I have Lightroom set up as my default image editor in Photo Mechanic. I select the photos I want to process, then click Command-E to Edit them (Mac), which opens LR to the Import window.
Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad