Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Speed of Capture One 7.0.1  (Read 1617 times)
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« on: December 06, 2012, 08:18:56 AM »
ReplyReply

In case you guys want some speed, try out Capture One 7

Here is a speed test I did recently:

Processing 33 D800E files to 16bit tiff - including OpenCL. You can get 4.7 times faster processing (NVidia GTX680 GPU)



Logged
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1692


« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 08:28:27 AM »
ReplyReply

Mac or PC?
Logged
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 09:02:54 AM »
ReplyReply

The one before was from a PC, this is from a Mac Pro.

-Lionel
Logged
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1692


« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2012, 01:35:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Lionel,

thanks!

Which card would you recommend for an early 2009 MacPro (Nehalem)?
Officially Apple offers Radeon ATI 5770 or 5870 cards ... but does one of these two significantly improve performance (over the standard Nvidia GT120 the MacPro shipped with back then).
Logged
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2012, 03:43:50 PM »
ReplyReply

To get you Capture One rolling:

Mac Pro
16GB-32GB RAM
Dual 6 core CPU
AMD 5870 GPU
SSD disk(s)
 
Alternatively (cheaper)
the new iMac with Nvidia 680mx and 32GB RAM, Fusion HD
-Lionel
Logged
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1692


« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2012, 03:58:59 PM »
ReplyReply

To get you Capture One rolling:

Mac Pro
16GB-32GB RAM
Dual 6 core CPU
AMD 5870 GPU
SSD disk(s)
 
Alternatively (cheaper)
the new iMac with Nvidia 680mx and 32GB RAM, Fusion HD
-Lionel
so upgrading only the graphic card won't improve things?
Logged
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2012, 01:33:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes it will - and to a large degree.
-Lionel
Logged
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1692


« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2012, 03:09:00 AM »
ReplyReply

okay, cool!
I have no interest in buying a new MacPro ... but upgarding the graphic card and using a SSD as system drive is on my list for some time.

Many thanks!
Logged
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1692


« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2012, 12:02:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes it will - and to a large degree.
-Lionel
the ATI Radeon 5870 does wonders to C1's performance on my MacPro. Especially the preview/redraw of adjustments works almost instantly... no noticeable lag.
Thanks again!
Logged
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2012, 05:42:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Good to hear - that was the design goal - fluent feedback for (almost) all sliders.
-Lionel
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad