Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 19 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: What are you wishing for in LR5 ?  (Read 49182 times)
hokuahi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 57


Warrior, Photographer


WWW
« Reply #60 on: December 25, 2012, 08:43:36 AM »
ReplyReply



Hope this explanation helps.

Tony Jay

It does.. For some reason I am having trouble adding only certain images and I need to go back an re-create that. 

But, what I think I am trying to say is that I want the Collections to function in a more hierarchical manner. Unless I am again missing something, right now I can only create a nested collection inside a Collection Set. I can't create a 'sub-collection' inside that second, nested set, I have to create that sub-collection next to my nested Collection. Kind of like Folders>Sub Folders>Sub, Sub Folders, etc.

Logged

Two 2.26 Quad-Core Mac Pro
16 GB Ram
Mac OS X 10.8.4
Canon 5DIII
PS CC
LR 5
Epson 3800/3880
AlfSollund
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 128


« Reply #61 on: December 25, 2012, 12:09:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Improved signatures & text adding on export.

Better file handling following folder structure such as the ability to have folder (hierarchy) structures on collections and be able to export/publish (sync) with same folder structure. In fact I would also like to be able to filter/find on exported, and make collections based on exported.

Also to be able to "link" files with same name  but different extortions so that when I delete  one file the corresponding files are also deleted. Would save me some time.

Would like some kind of version control (make new virtual version).
Logged

-------
- If your're not telling a story with photo you're only adding noise -
http://alfsollund.com/
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2029


« Reply #62 on: December 25, 2012, 05:14:11 PM »
ReplyReply

It does.. For some reason I am having trouble adding only certain images and I need to go back an re-create that. 

But, what I think I am trying to say is that I want the Collections to function in a more hierarchical manner. Unless I am again missing something, right now I can only create a nested collection inside a Collection Set. I can't create a 'sub-collection' inside that second, nested set, I have to create that sub-collection next to my nested Collection. Kind of like Folders>Sub Folders>Sub, Sub Folders, etc.

I think you may need to do some more reading around metadata, keywords and collections, smart collections.
It seems to me that you are trying to use a powerdrill as a hammer.
It may sort of work some of the time, sort of, but really it is still best used as a powerdrill rather than a hammer.
So what I am trying to say is that you should not be needing to deeply nest collections in the manner of folder structures and collections are not really designed to be used thus - because it isn't necessary.
I think your workflow needs a redesign that actually takes advantage of the strengths of Lightroom.

Get yourself the video tutorial, "Where the @#$% are my Pictures" available on this website.
Although the whole video deals with much broader issues it does give an excellent primer on the sorts of issues that are giving you such headaches.
Also, if you do have further questions to raise it might be best to start a new thread since this one is dealing with a wishlist for Lr5 and your questions revolve around workflow issues in the Library module.

Tony Jay
Logged
DesertAura
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #63 on: December 25, 2012, 09:54:17 PM »
ReplyReply

1. Healing brush (more advanced than a single spot healer or clone tool)

2. Freestyle watermarking. What I mean by that is the ability to change a saved watermark (e.g., position, color, size, opacity) for an exported image without having to Save it as a new watermark every time. That way, I could have fewer saved watermarks, based mainly on font style, and I could customize the position, size, etc. each time I export an image.

3. Ability to put multi-line text on photos. I know I'm probably a lone ranger in wanting this, but I put text on photos a lot (mostly for my church; scripture quotes and such). Applying text is about the only thing that I still have to go into Photoshop Elements for and I'd like to be able to do it in Lightroom.

Bev
Logged
aduke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 348


« Reply #64 on: December 25, 2012, 11:00:28 PM »
ReplyReply



3. Ability to put multi-line text on photos. I know I'm probably a lone ranger in wanting this, but I put text on photos a lot (mostly for my church; scripture quotes and such). Applying text is about the only thing that I still have to go into Photoshop Elements for and I'd like to be able to do it in Lightroom.

Bev


No, you're not the only one. My wife likes to make cards of her photos. A better way to add text, either to the image or in another image space next to it would be wonderful.

Alan
Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #65 on: December 26, 2012, 01:00:21 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
2. Freestyle watermarking. What I mean by that is the ability to change a saved watermark (e.g., position, color, size, opacity) for an exported image without having to Save it as a new watermark every time. That way, I could have fewer saved watermarks, based mainly on font style, and I could customize the position, size, etc. each time I export an image


This is already available, although the placement can be more useful.  It is in the drop down list. If you look at the bottom of that list you will see Update Setting, or something of the sort. It will do just that.
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
DesertAura
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #66 on: December 26, 2012, 06:44:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks, Phil. I can't wait to try that. Is it a recent addition? Please don't tell me it has been there all along.  Smiley

Bev
Logged
PeterAit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1584



WWW
« Reply #67 on: December 26, 2012, 09:22:43 AM »
ReplyReply

So what I am trying to say is that you should not be needing to deeply nest collections in the manner of folder structures and collections are not really designed to be used thus - because it isn't necessary.


I disagree that nesting collections is not needed. I would find it very useful. For example, I am currently printing a large show. I put alll the photos in a collection. As I print them I'd like to be able to move them to a sub-collection. Then, when they are successfully framed and are ready to hang, move them to another sub-collection. Of course, the parent collection should not show the images in the sub-collections.
Logged

Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my photos at http://www.peteraitken.com
walter.sk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1322


« Reply #68 on: December 26, 2012, 11:04:25 AM »
ReplyReply

...As I print them I'd like to be able to move them to a sub-collection. Then, when they are successfully framed and are ready to hang, move them to another sub-collection. Of course, the parent collection should not show the images in the sub-collections.

I use the purple label for those I've printed, and it's quick and easy to filter for them.  The rating carries over to the collections, as well.
Logged
Bryan Conner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 511


WWW
« Reply #69 on: December 26, 2012, 11:55:39 AM »
ReplyReply

A small request, but being able to have an image in multiple collections would be nice.

I have some images in 3 collections.  I did not know there was a limit to how many collections an image can be in.
Logged

John Caldwell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 415



« Reply #70 on: December 26, 2012, 12:54:48 PM »
ReplyReply

I use the purple label for those I've printed, and it's quick and easy to filter for them.

Good idea. I wish we could search the History states for any image that had been Printed. Does anyone know how difficult, from a programming standpoint, that searching History states would be?

John Caldwell
Logged
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2029


« Reply #71 on: December 26, 2012, 02:06:03 PM »
ReplyReply

I have some images in 3 collections.  I did not know there was a limit to how many collections an image can be in.

There isn't.

Tony Jay
Logged
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2029


« Reply #72 on: December 26, 2012, 02:10:37 PM »
ReplyReply

Peter, using smart collections I can see a way to achieve your goals using private keywords that act as controllers for both negative and positive criteria for the smart collections.
I also fully acknowledge not completely understanding your workflow of course.

By the way, Good Luck with your show!

Tony Jay
Logged
frednh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #73 on: December 28, 2012, 06:01:13 PM »
ReplyReply

How about a single key that displays the current image full screen.  This is a feature of most image processing software.
Logged
stamper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2391


« Reply #74 on: December 29, 2012, 02:47:30 AM »
ReplyReply

How about a single key that displays the current image full screen.  This is a feature of most image processing software.

                                                                             TAB?
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2458



WWW
« Reply #75 on: December 29, 2012, 03:24:08 AM »
ReplyReply

                                                                             TAB?
Which just hides the left and right panel and leaves you in whatever view you're in, such as grid view.

E, Shift+Tab, FF
Logged

Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1862


WWW
« Reply #76 on: December 29, 2012, 03:32:43 AM »
ReplyReply

E, Shift+Tab, FF
Which is four key strokes. It works, but it's not what our new member was suggesting.

Welcome Fred, good suggestion.
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2458



WWW
« Reply #77 on: December 29, 2012, 03:44:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Which is four key strokes. It works, but it's not what our new member was suggesting.

"Check out the big brain on Brad"?
« Last Edit: December 29, 2012, 03:54:13 AM by johnbeardy » Logged

stamper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2391


« Reply #78 on: December 29, 2012, 04:35:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Which just hides the left and right panel and leaves you in whatever view you're in, such as grid view.


E, Shift+Tab, FF

How much bigger can the screen get using your suggestions rather than TAB. I tried your suggestions - Rhossyd was correct about the four keystrokes - and none of them made the screen larger than using TAB.  Roll Eyes
Logged

stamper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2391


« Reply #79 on: December 29, 2012, 04:37:02 AM »
ReplyReply

"Check out the big brain on Brad"?

Care to elaborate further?
Logged

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 19 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad