Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Unsupported image files that Aperture processed  (Read 5615 times)
Chairman Bill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495


« on: December 28, 2012, 02:16:43 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm transferring files from my old Aperture library on my old iMac, to a new library on my new iMac. Same version of Aperture. Should be no problems. Except, Aperture on my new iMac is a bit choosy about which files it will read.

I've imported images in batches, establishing a nice new library structure as I go. The export of images from the old Mac to a usb drive goes without any problems, but when I then import into my new Mac, every now & then a photo gets tagged as being an 'unsupported image format'. Quite how it can be unsupported by Aperture, when Aperture processed the damned thing in the first place, is beyond me.

Any solutions/suggestions?
Logged
msbc
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83


« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2012, 08:05:58 PM »
ReplyReply

RAW file support is provided by Digital Camera RAW which is an operating system framework, not Aperture directly. Do you have different version of DCR on the two iMac's? Check with Aperture>About Aperture - latest version is 4.03

Mark
Logged
Chairman Bill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495


« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2012, 03:49:18 AM »
ReplyReply

'Tis all the same stuff. And it's one or two in a batch of photos. All from the same camera, with others perfectly fine. Very odd.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6795


« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2012, 03:53:32 AM »
ReplyReply

'Tis all the same stuff. And it's one or two in a batch of photos. All from the same camera, with others perfectly fine. Very odd.

Any messages in the Console (other than the useless "Unsupported File Format")?

Edit: Can Preview.app open these problematic files?
« Last Edit: December 29, 2012, 03:57:46 AM by francois » Logged

Francois
Chairman Bill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495


« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2012, 04:34:13 AM »
ReplyReply

Seems sorted now - when I go to the adjustments pane, the image appears. Prior to that, exif data suggested there was nothing there (though it had the camera/lens combo correct), but now it reads normally.

Missing images now reinstated. Weird behaviour though.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6795


« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2012, 10:25:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Seems sorted now - when I go to the adjustments pane, the image appears. Prior to that, exif data suggested there was nothing there (though it had the camera/lens combo correct), but now it reads normally.

Missing images now reinstated. Weird behaviour though.

Glad to see that your issue is fixed but Aperture's behaviour is a bit unsettling!
Logged

Francois
jonathanlung
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70


« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2013, 12:52:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Maybe it's time for a library rebuild/repair.
Logged
Graham Clark
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 164



WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2013, 02:51:20 PM »
ReplyReply

When transferring from one machine to another transfer only projects or libraries, not individual images.

1. Old machine - drag library to external disk
2. New Machine - drag library to internal disk
3. double-click
4. done
Logged

Graham Clark  |  grahamclarkphoto.com
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad