Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Problem with the C1 overlay function.  (Read 1878 times)
HarperPhotos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1252



WWW
« on: February 02, 2013, 08:22:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Hello the other day I was doing a shoot for a client with my Nikon D800 and the client wanted me to overlay a NEF image from the same shot on a NEF image I had shot later that day to check the the angles where right for the retoucher to combine the images.

Unfortunately for some reason it would not work.  The only way was to make the overlay image into a jpg for it to work.

Going back to to my Leaf Capture software when I used my Leaf Aptus 75 the MOS files used to overlay without a problem.

Am I doing some thing or is this a fault of C1?

Ciao

Simon
« Last Edit: February 03, 2013, 12:22:37 PM by HarperPhotos » Logged

Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand
Kerry L
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 131


« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 10:40:42 AM »
ReplyReply

RAW files are not supported by CO 7 for overlay. When you open the LOAD OVERLAY IMAGE dialogue box to select the file, you'll notice that it  says "All Supported Graphic File" which are processed files, tif, gif, jpg, png etc.

Perhaps when you select the LEAF MOS file , the overlay function is actually accessing a thumbnail and not the RAW file.
Logged

"Try and let your mind see further than your eyes.
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2867


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2013, 08:38:01 AM »
ReplyReply

PSD, PDF, GIF, TIFF, JPG are supported. Raw files are not.
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
HarperPhotos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1252



WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2013, 12:55:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Doug,

Would you be a dear and contact the people at Phase and ask them to modify there C1 software so raw images can be overlayed like Leaf Capture cause it is a major for us advertising photographers.

Ciao

Simon
Logged

Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2867


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2013, 09:15:58 AM »
ReplyReply

Phase One has read your feature request and thank you for your input.

As some additional information...

Using the raw file itself poses some performance issues.

On a Mac the OS itself draws a preview of the raw file and therefore provides an easy way around the performance issues. When dragging a raw into the overlay on a Mac Capture One can use the OS preview to provide an overlay. Windows lacks this capacity in a way that Capture One could tap into it.

As an alternative you could make a process recipe with Root set to Image folder and using QuickProof JPG. That would immediately return a JPG from the raw file you were displaying in the same folder as the raw. This takes a total of one more click and around 3 seconds than a direct drag and drop.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 09:23:17 AM by Doug Peterson » Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
HarperPhotos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1252



WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2013, 12:03:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Doug,

Thank you for your reply.

Sorry mate but you lost me at  As an alternative....

I not computer savvy so what you just tried to explain to me just gave me incredible brain freeze.

I think I will have to pass this on to one of my young assistance

Cheers

Simon
Logged

Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand
yaya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1143



WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2013, 01:14:49 AM »
ReplyReply

Simon another (very quick) option for you is to create a screen grab of the image you'd like to use as an overlay:

Command+Shift+4 and then click&draw to select the part of the screen you are grabbing

On a Mac by default this will save a jpg image on the desktop and will name it "Screen Shot DD:MM:YYYY HH:MM:SS

You can then rename it and bring it in as an overlay

Hope this helps

Yair
Logged

Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Mamiya Leaf |
e: ysh@mamiyaleaf.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.mamiyaleaf.com | yaya's blog
HarperPhotos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1252



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2013, 01:13:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Yair,

Thanks great idea. Quick and simple.

Ciao

Simon
Logged

Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad