Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Need help with "buggy" Photoshop CS6 (Mac)  (Read 585 times)
tsinsf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« on: February 03, 2013, 03:20:34 PM »
ReplyReply

I use a Mac Pro 2x2.66 Dual Core Xeon tower with 15 GB Ram and OS 10.7.5. CS6 (always the latest update) is becoming very "buggy". It starts slowing way down, then does things like sharpening changes in ACR disappear when the photo is opened as a file in Photoshop, and other random little failures. Resetting preferences in both Bridge and Photoshop doesn't fix it. Also repairing Disk Permissions had no effect. The only thing that works is re-installing CS-6. I have to do this now about every two months, which is a pain. Any thoughts about what might be going on and how to fix it? Thanks!!
« Last Edit: February 03, 2013, 03:22:45 PM by tsinsf » Logged
Mark D Segal
Contributor
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6767


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 03:33:56 PM »
ReplyReply

My Mac sounds similar to yours except I have more memory, using 10.6.8 and only periodically use PS6. (I'm mainly an LR user these days, unless I need something it doesn't have). I think when you have this kind of problem, it could be that something in the OS is interfering with the expected operation of certain applications. I suggest you may wish to do a system check with the Mac Disk Utility (Applications>Utilities>Disk Utility) and see whether it turns up the need to repair or trash any permissions or preference files, and repair as indicated. The other popular way of doing this is to download a copy of Drive Genius 3 and use that. (But stick to one or the other.)
Logged

Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml
tsinsf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2013, 03:48:37 PM »
ReplyReply

As I mentioned, I have tried repairing disk permissions and this has no effect. I'm wondering if the bug is because I'm not using the most current Mac OS (can't install it on my four and a half year old relic).
« Last Edit: February 03, 2013, 03:53:01 PM by tsinsf » Logged
Mark D Segal
Contributor
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6767


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2013, 03:58:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry - I read too fast - you did say you repaired permissions. Any corrupted pref files? Drive Genius 3 is a piece of software several Mac specialists I talk with rave about. http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Prosoft%20Engineering/59100/ tells you all about it. Using one or the other is advice I received from one of the specialists I talk with. He advised me that using both (repair using one, then the other) can create a mess in my computer. So I took his word for it. :-) I have DG3 installed and it warns me when there is trouble - infrequent, but periodically it wants me to trash an arcane preference file that I need to go into "Terminal" to ferret-out. Quite impressive.
Logged

Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad