Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: HowTo? Get PM5's MeasureTool to "Save" TestCharts (button never enables)?  (Read 908 times)
l_d_allan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206



WWW
« on: February 20, 2013, 12:16:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Win7-64-Pro (same problem with XP)
ProfileMaker 5.0.10 newbie. Purple dongle.

I've been unable to get MeasureTool to "Save" in the TestChart Generator utility. I can get to the point where the generated profile is showing in the "Preview" widget, but the "Save" button in the lower right remains disabled / grayed (see attachment).

  • been on phone several times to X-Rite tech support with no resolution
    • first tech: "MT TestChart Generator 'Save' should work fine without a dongle"
    • second tech several days later: "you need a more capable dongle"
    • no replies to several preliminary and follow-up emails
  • even with dongle removed, MT connects (configures) to X-rite device fine
  • can use ACPU to print included TC9.18 target
    • then measured with MT5 (with or without dongle connected)
    • (and also PM5, ColorPort, and demo version of i1Profiler 1.4.2)
    • then make (so-so) profiles with PM5 (dongle needed for this)
    • that seems to suggest MT would generate test-charts without dongle ... or not?
  • most functionality in PM5 seems enabled (demo mode for Scanner and DeviceLink)
  • attempted to get MT5 to "Save" on several computers using Win7, XP-Mode on Win-7-Pro, and XP in separate partition. No change. Drat.

I have my doubts that I really need a "more capable dongle". I've pretty sure I'm doing something wrong such as leaving out a step, but what?
Logged

retired in Colorado Springs, CO, USA ... hobby'ist with mostly Canon gear ... let me know if you're in the area and would like a free guided tour of our photographically "target-rich environment"
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5489


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2013, 09:40:31 PM »
ReplyReply

It's been a while since I used ProfileMaker but I still have a dongle...I fired up Measure Tool and without my dongle attached, I can not save out a chart in the  TestChart Generator utility. If I plug in my dongle, then I can save out a target.

What's not clear is what you are trying to do...apparently you can print out the TC918 target and make a profile in PM, correct? That implies that your dongle is working, at least for ProfileMaker, correct?

I have no ideas about different dongles...it's been years since I used ProfileMaker and have no memory of dongles or upgrades that I may have gotten. I'm using i1 Profiler now successfully.
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5489


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2013, 11:26:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Again, this isn't the best place to post this question...this is clearly a CM question and should have been posted in the CM sub-forum...
Logged
MonsterBaby
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 133


« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2013, 04:47:39 AM »
ReplyReply

did u try to run messure tool as admin?

i remember saving problems due to this!
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1950


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2013, 05:27:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Not every purple dongle has the necessary licence to use the chart generator feature in the measure tool. It all depends on what original package you bought.

My dongle doesn't allow chart generation, measurement averaging,  scanner profiling or device link profiles, but everything else in the PM5 suite works fine.

Logged
l_d_allan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206



WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2013, 07:28:30 AM »
ReplyReply

Again, this isn't the best place to post this question...this is clearly a CM question and should have been posted in the CM sub-forum...

I'm trying to figure out how I can move the thread to the appropriate sub-forum. Perhaps I didn't see an option of how this is done. I think SMF 2.x allows this by the OP, but perhaps not SMF 1.1.x

I was unable to "report myself" to a moderator by the SMF forum software. I've thought about clicking the "Report to Moderator" button on your reply, and if the SMF forum allows, ask the responding moderator to move the thread. That seems like a problematic / flawed approach.

Or perhaps you (Mr. Schewe) wouldn't mind clicking the "Report to Moderator" button on my OP  and requesting that the moderator move the thread?

Or anyone reading the post, please feel invited to "Report to Moderator" on the OP and request that this thread be moved. Thanks!

And same invitation to Mr. Schewe or anyone reading this post ... please click on the "Report to Moderator"  on the OP of the ill-advised poll:
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=75567.0
Logged

retired in Colorado Springs, CO, USA ... hobby'ist with mostly Canon gear ... let me know if you're in the area and would like a free guided tour of our photographically "target-rich environment"
l_d_allan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206



WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2013, 08:25:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Thread continued @ ...
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=75630.0
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 08:42:49 AM by l_d_allan » Logged

retired in Colorado Springs, CO, USA ... hobby'ist with mostly Canon gear ... let me know if you're in the area and would like a free guided tour of our photographically "target-rich environment"
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad