Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: i1P won't work with ny HSAP dongle  (Read 643 times)
aaronchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


« on: March 13, 2013, 10:12:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Dear All,

I have been using my PM5 HSAP dongle with i1P for quite a while already.
Recently I just reinstalled my MacPro (10.6.Cool and after that, i1Profiler won't work with the dongle anymore.
I've downloaded the PM5 and it still works with that. So I beg the dongle has no problem. (actually it works on my other computer as well)

I'm running the latest i1P version, 1.4.2
Should I uninstall it and use an older version first than upgrade it back to 1.4.2?

thanks
aaron
Logged
ThDo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 03:12:22 AM »
ReplyReply

That's strange.

Just to be sure, when you upgraded to iProfiler you did chose your dongle to store the license key?
(see picture in the upgradeprocess http://www.i1upgrades.com/i1publish-software-upgrades/how-to-upgrade/)

Logged
aaronchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2013, 08:59:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Problem solve and i was right.

I uninstall 1.4.2 and installed 1.3.1,
then it works right away.
Then i also upgraded it back to 1.4.2, it works fine as well.

seems like if i install 1.4.2 right away, it just won't regonize my dongle
weird

aaron
Logged
l_d_allan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2013, 04:38:20 PM »
ReplyReply

I have been using my PM5 HSAP dongle with i1P for quite a while already.

So your PM5 dongle works (or worked) with an older version of i1Profiler? I infer you purchased a license to i1Publish, and x-rite has an upgrade that involves using the PM5 dongle to activate/license?

My n.i.b. iSis + PM5 arrived just before i1P 1.4.2 was released. I've been having trouble with PM5 (much self-inflicted ... some village is missing its idiot) and tried out i1P 1.3.2 Demo and then 1.4.2 Demo. The i1P demo software could control the iSis for scans, but not actually generate a printer-profile. That was as expected.

I may try installing i1P 1.3.1, then plug in my purple PM5-PhotoStudio dongle, and see what happens. My speculation is that it won't work, nor should it.

IIRC, part of the PM5 installation included HASP. Later, there was a Windows Update that involved HASP (or HSAP?).
Logged

retired in Colorado Springs, CO, USA ... hobby'ist with mostly Canon gear ... let me know if you're in the area and would like a free guided tour of our photographically "target-rich environment"
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1917


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2013, 01:56:52 AM »
ReplyReply

My speculation is that it won't work, nor should it.
It won't. When you purchase the i1 Publish/Profiler upgrade from PMP you decide whether to upgrade the dongle or carry the licence in an i1 Pro. The upgrade writes new licensing information onto the dongle.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad