Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Processing in a catalog then merging another processed catalog...what happens?  (Read 1323 times)
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1111


« on: March 16, 2013, 11:40:05 AM »
ReplyReply

I have a main catalog that I have processed recently. earlier I had many of those pictures in its own smaller catalog. Some of those were processed. But not all.

I want to import the small catalog into the new one. What happens to the process settings?  Will the one I import be overwriting the existing main catalog?

Will I have an option to select which to keep?

I see the "Replace:  options, but I want to compare the 2 before doing this. Is there a tool or  way it will compare?
---few seconds later-----
I might has just seen my answer..."Preserve old setting as a virtual copy".

Is that the only and best way?  When I go in I see them and compare and delete the one I dont want?

thanks
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 11:43:10 AM by Phil Indeblanc » Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5807



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 02:26:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I might has just seen my answer..."Preserve old setting as a virtual copy".

Is that the only and best way?  When I go in I see them and compare and delete the one I dont want?

That's the best way, but be careful you don't delete the original image and keep the virtual copy, because it won't.  If you have an image and a virtual copy and you only want the VC, use Sync to copy the settings over to the image then delete the VC.

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
elied
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 05:36:24 PM »
ReplyReply

That's the best way, but be careful you don't delete the original image and keep the virtual copy, because it won't.  If you have an image and a virtual copy and you only want the VC, use Sync to copy the settings over to the image then delete the VC.

Mike.

Not necessary; you can switch the two versions, make the VC the master and the first set of edits becomes the copy. Library/Photo/Set Copy as Master.
Logged

Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1111


« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 11:43:15 PM »
ReplyReply

thanks guys
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5807



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 12:42:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Learn something new every day.  I can quit for the day now!  Grin

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad