Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom 3 - losing 1:1 previews  (Read 1373 times)
kdern
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« on: March 18, 2013, 07:22:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi all... I'm new here - hope this is the right place to post this question.

I am using Lightroom 3 on a Macbook Air. I have my catalog settings set to discard 1:1 previews after 30 days, but I seem to be losing them very quickly. For example - I am working on editing a batch of about 100 photos. I tell LR to generate 1:1 previews, which it does. When I close the app and come back to it later to work on the photos again, I see the "Loading" thingy every time I try to zoom in on a photo for editing. If I generate 1:1 previews again, this goes away.

Any idea what could be causing this?

Here are my catalog settings:



Thanks for any advice!

Kevin
Logged
elied
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 269


« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2013, 07:07:50 AM »
ReplyReply

Those 1:1 previews are Library module previews and are not used by the Develop module which generates its own previews using data from the CR Cache. Moreover, when doing 1:1 the Develop module does not make a preview of the entire image, but rather only the section of it on screen which can be very quickly redrawn as it is modified by editing or movement to a different section.
Logged

Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news
kdern
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2013, 09:53:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Elied - thanks so much for your help.

I'm confused - I thought the point of the 1:1 previews was for editing. So are you saying if I generate 1:1 previews for a bunch of photos, those previews will not be used when I am in the editing module?

Any suggestions on how to handle? I edit quickly and would like to generate full size previews for all the photos I am working on...
Logged
elied
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 269


« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2013, 02:14:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Why do you want the full sized previews? Normally the reason would be to examine fine detail. When you view a 1:1 version you see only a part of the image and have to scroll through it, unless your image is no larger than the pixel dimensions of your monitor, but even a Retina display at 2880x1800 is significantly smaller than the output from most modern cameras. So if you can see only a portion of the 1:1 image at any given time, functionally it should make no difference to you if LR is displaying a part of a freshly generated full resolution image or only the pertinent section. The advantage in the way Develop does it is that you don't have to wait for LR to recreate the full image after every little movement of a slider.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2013, 02:17:01 PM by elied » Logged

Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news
kdern
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2013, 02:44:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Interesting - so do you mean when I am in edit mode and I zoom in on an image, it's only generating a larger preview for that section?

I find that when I open a new photo to edit, I get "loading" for several seconds... if I am zoomed in I see a blurry or pixellated image. Any idea how I can fix this?

I notice the "loading" thing even in the Library module - if I am viewing photos full screen, sometimes even after I've generated a 1:1 preview.

(PS - Thanks for your help!)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad