Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: library panel gone  (Read 2729 times)
petermarrek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 212



« on: March 21, 2013, 04:01:43 PM »
ReplyReply

As the title says, my library panel is gone.
Logged
Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2925



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 04:34:27 PM »
ReplyReply

I would start by deleting LR, deleting the preferences, reinstall
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2883



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2013, 05:03:37 PM »
ReplyReply

No, do not delete preferences and do not reinstall. Seriously, don't give such advice.

In the top panel, right click Develop and tick Library to display it again.

John
Logged

Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2156


« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2013, 05:47:36 PM »
ReplyReply

This is just a case of one of Lightroom's strengths simultaneously being its achilles heel.
Lightroom has multiply redundant ways of doing things so it is possible to inadvertantly activate a shortcut without immediately realizing what you are doing.
John's advice also shows that it is easy to remedy the problem.

Tony Jay
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2883



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2013, 06:40:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Allowing users to hide modules was a pretty dumb decision by Adobe.
Logged

Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2156


« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2013, 06:58:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Indeed - may be something for Adobe to look at going forward.

Tony Jay
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2883



WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2013, 07:37:42 PM »
ReplyReply

I doubt that - it's an Lr4 "listening to customers" addition. On the other hand, users soon learn from their mistake.
Logged

CatOne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2013, 09:51:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Allowing users to hide modules was a pretty dumb decision by Adobe.

I don't know.  There are 4 modules I never use in Lightroom; I like them hidden.  I *only* use Library, Develop, and Maps.
Logged

Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5529


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2013, 11:47:31 PM »
ReplyReply

On the other hand, users soon learn from their mistake.

This is the best comment...learn how to use the application.

The answer to the OP's question could have been found in the relatively simple user manual where it discusses the ability to hide/show main header info. Rather than spend the time learning how to use the app, the user came here and begged for an answer. would have been better to tell the OP to learn how to use LR in the first place...it really ain't that hard.
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1987


WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2013, 01:40:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Before everyone just insults the OP; Maybe it would be courteous to find out if it the panel had become deselected or if there has been or a more obscure problem ?

Panels shouldn't simply disappear. What sort of problem causes this ?
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2883



WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2013, 01:46:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Before everyone just insults the OP;
I'd always give someone credit for asking for help rather than suffering in silence.
Logged

stamper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2870


« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2013, 04:25:35 AM »
ReplyReply

I don't know.  There are 4 modules I never use in Lightroom; I like them hidden.  I *only* use Library, Develop, and Maps.

Library & Develop are the only ones I use and I appreciate the ability to hide others which I might use in the future. No point in having something showing if you don't need it?
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2883



WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2013, 05:24:49 AM »
ReplyReply

There might be no point seeing them if you really know what you're doing, but it does no harm. On the other hand, hiding them is a great way to get less value out of Lightroom. To give you one example, a friend knows how to print in Photoshop and had never bothered looking at Lightroom's Print. Had he taken your attitude and hidden the modules he didn't use, he would never have been tempted to click Print one day and discover the reasons which led him to switch his print workflow to Lightroom. I think this process applies to a large group of users, and while I doubt the hiding feature was costly engineering, I don't think Adobe should have put any time at all into it.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 05:26:24 AM by johnbeardy » Logged

stamper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2870


« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2013, 05:36:35 AM »
ReplyReply

There might be no point seeing them if you really know what you're doing, but it does no harm. On the other hand, hiding them is a great way to get less value out of Lightroom. To give you one example, a friend knows how to print in Photoshop and had never bothered looking at Lightroom's Print. Had he taken your attitude and hidden the modules he didn't use, he would never have been tempted to click Print one day and discover the reasons which led him to switch his print workflow to Lightroom. I think this process applies to a large group of users, and while I doubt the hiding feature was costly engineering, I don't think Adobe should have put any time at all into it.

You are erroneously assuming that I didn't learn what they did and then decided that I didn't have a use for them? Wink
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2883



WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2013, 09:49:32 AM »
ReplyReply

No, I assumed you knew what you were doing.
Logged

petermarrek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 212



« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2013, 10:00:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks everybody for all the replies. I managed to get it to show up again unfortunately without knowing how I did it, probaly similar to the way I deleted it in the first place. Thanks again, Peter.
Logged
Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2925



WWW
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2013, 03:15:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Sry about my response, my only experience losing modules comes from when this happened via a corruption in an earlier version.  Sometimes challenging to keep up with eye candy improvements, tend to focus on the big stuff when new versions are released.

I can see how it could get deselected accidentally.  Maybe a "Module " menu item in the view menu would be a nice add, where you could also select or deselect the modules.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad