Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: How can I change default settings  (Read 1099 times)
alangubbay
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 115


« on: April 01, 2013, 09:05:00 AM »
ReplyReply

I have just upgraded my computer to Windows 7.  CS6 and Elements 11 are installed. The latter program is used only occasionally for teaching.  Now when I click on a dng file in ACR or on a tiff file, it opens in Elements instead of CS6.  I just cannot find a way of changing this default.  Can someone point me in the right direction please?
Logged
mvsoske
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 121



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 09:22:23 AM »
ReplyReply

I have just upgraded my computer to Windows 7.  CS6 and Elements 11 are installed. The latter program is used only occasionally for teaching.  Now when I click on a dng file in ACR or on a tiff file, it opens in Elements instead of CS6.  I just cannot find a way of changing this default.  Can someone point me in the right direction please?

Just go to an image file.  Right click on it and in the dialogue hover your cursor over "Open With..." then at the bottom of that window, click on "choose default program" and make your selection. 

Mark
Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8083



WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 09:32:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Open Control Panel, choose "Default Programs",  and choose "Associate a file type or protocol with a program." All of the recognized filename suffixes will be listed alphabetically on the left. Scroll down to ".dng" and type in Adobe Photoshop CS6 in place of whatever is there (which is probably "Adobe Elements") and close it.
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
alangubbay
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 115


« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2013, 02:03:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you both for your help.  Unfortunately right clicking on an image does not always work because the list of programs offered is often too limited.  However, I have managed to change the defaults from the control panel as suggested.  Having spent so much time on this, I am very grateful to have been given a solution.
Logged
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8083



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2013, 02:33:43 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm glad it worked.
Somehow, my computer switches assignments frequently (update any one of the four internet browsers I have on my computer and it will try to make itself my new default, unless I'm extremely vigilant.) So I find myself having to patch various defaults every few weeks.
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
mvsoske
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 121



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2013, 03:20:51 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you both for your help.  Unfortunately right clicking on an image does not always work because the list of programs offered is often too limited.  However, I have managed to change the defaults from the control panel as suggested.  Having spent so much time on this, I am very grateful to have been given a solution.

Just FYI, if you follow my method, the initial list of programs is small, but there is a "browse" button on the lower right giving you access to all the programs you might want to use to open the files. Many ways to solve a problem. Glad you solved your issue!

Mark
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad