Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: i1Profiler D2 Lion Edition saving Magenta profiles, why?  (Read 5703 times)
AlanRei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« on: April 07, 2013, 12:42:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi all,
I'm getting crazy with my i1 Display 2 calibrator and my Mac display. It seems to make a perfect profile just until I try to save it, and suddenly everything goes magenta! I tried every settings, just if I use Native white point it's looking a little similar to my old (and good) profiles, but not perfect at all (a little too dark and contrasted).
I usually set the software profiler at D65, gamma 2.2, 80cd/mq.
My Mac is running Mountain Lion and i1 Profiler is version 1.0.1 (tried also with the old beta version, same results). I tried ICC v2 and v4, matrix and table based profiles, same results...

Please someone help me with any kind of suggestions, thank you very much.

Alan
Logged
AlanRei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2013, 01:04:38 PM »
ReplyReply

New informations: I tried also with trial version of BasicColor Display 5.0.3, with same settings (D65, 2.2, 80cd) I have better results, but still a little magenta... What the hell is going on???
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9092



WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2013, 01:22:19 PM »
ReplyReply

The profile seems to load it's LUT then you get magenta. So it's the profile. Since you tried two products, it could be the instrument. Make sure you do not build a V4 ICC profile. That might help.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
AlanRei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2013, 09:47:46 PM »
ReplyReply

It's not the instrument, it's functioning perfectly on the old version of Xrite Software (i1 Match 3.6.3) and Snow Leopard, and it's also functioning perfectly just until I hit the "save profile" button in Mountain Lion. Looks like there is something that transforms the ICC profile to another color space during the save process. I tried both V2 and V4, same results.
Can't really understand it!
Logged
chichornio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2013, 10:14:37 PM »
ReplyReply

Same problem here!!! I´ve tried all the combinations and the only one that works is the native one. Have you contact X-Rite? I´m planning to do it tomorrow. I´ll let you know if I have any feedback from them.
Logged
AlanRei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2013, 03:23:55 AM »
ReplyReply

You can try to contact them, but the problem is that they don't support i1Display 2 anymore. If you have any answer, please post it here.
Thanks!
Alan
Logged
chichornio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2013, 07:23:23 AM »
ReplyReply

The profile seems to load it's LUT then you get magenta. So it's the profile. Since you tried two products, it could be the instrument. Make sure you do not build a V4 ICC profile. That might help.

Update: I think you are right, Andrew. I tried to profile my monitor in a Win7 based system, using APS (Advance Profiling Solution that came bundle with my z3200ps) and it happens the same. The saved profile turns magenta. So it may be the i-one display 2 that it is faulty. Is there any way to reset the instrument? Any workaround you may know?
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9092



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2013, 08:45:19 AM »
ReplyReply

You can see if the i1Digonistic software detects a flaw in the instrument. It's a free download, somewhere on X-Rite's site.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
chichornio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2013, 11:40:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Below is an answer from X-Rite support to someone who had the same problem that we had. I will try this workaround in both win and mac and let you know.

To investigate further, if your i1Display 2 device might be malfunctioning, may I kindly ask you to run an i1Diagnostic test for your device and send the report to me, even if your device passes the test? I1Diagnostic is a little freeware tool from X-Rite. Please follow these steps:
- Download i1Diagnostics V 2.5.1:
http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=766&Action=support&SoftwareID=506
- Disconnect i1Display 2 from computer
- Install i1Diagnostics
- Reset your monitor to manufacturer’s defaults
- Mac only: assign a monitor profile, which was NOT created with i1Display 2, in system preferences > monitors
- Run i1Diagnostics
- Save resulting report with option ‘File > Save Log As’ (this will include XYZ measurement values from your device)
- Send the report to me
I will check the quality of the measurement values and let you know, if the device is working or malfunctioning.
Logged
chichornio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2013, 11:46:54 AM »
ReplyReply

I run the diagnostic in Mac OS Mountain Lion and this is the result:

General Information
  Date and Time: 4/17/13 1:43 PM
  Application version: Version 2.5.1
  SDK version i1: Version 3.4.0  Build 131
  SDK version iO: Version 1.1.2  Build 100
  SDK version iSis: Version 1.0.6  Build 72
  Platform: Apple Mac OS X 10.8.3 (12D78) i386

Device Information
  Device type: i1Display (Version 2) [ Ambient Light  Emission ]
  Serial number: 651857

Calibration
  Emission calibration: Successful

Emission Test
  White measurement: Successful
  Gray measurement: Successful
  Black measurement: Successful
  Red measurement: Successful
  Green measurement: Successful
  Blue measurement: Successful
  Emission Test: Fail
  White measurement: Successful
  Gray measurement: Successful
  Black measurement: Successful
  Red measurement: Successful
  Green measurement: Successful
  Blue measurement: Successful
  Emission Test: Fail

*** FAIL ***
Logged
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2013, 04:14:37 PM »
ReplyReply

*** FAIL ***

Yep, i1D2's all fail eventually and when they do the profiles look magenta. A known problem. Short lifespan those had. Time to get an i1DP and move on. Much better device with increased life expectancy.
Logged

AlanRei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2013, 05:01:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Will try the test next week (I don't have the device with me at the moment), what a shame if it's the life of the product...
Logged
AlanRei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2013, 03:29:13 AM »
ReplyReply

Tried the test just now, everything is fine, my i1 Display 2 is functioning perfectly. I expected it to be wrong in some way, but no, the problem is software! What the hell is going on??? I think I'll try to contact Xrite and hope for their help, but it's a discontinued product...
Logged
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2013, 08:27:38 AM »
ReplyReply

Tried the test just now, everything is fine, my i1 Display 2 is functioning perfectly.

Regardless of what diagnostics is saying, if you're getting Magenta profiles your i1D2 filter has gone out, which is REALLY common. Time to upgrade and move on. The i1DP is a far, far better device.
Logged

chichornio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2013, 10:40:46 AM »
ReplyReply

There is a workaround to do the last try before I send the device to the trash. X-Rite suggest to clean it. I´ll let you know how it goes with mine.
Logged
kingscurate
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2013, 01:53:49 PM »
ReplyReply

This magenta cast is popping up a lot in the last month on the forums.  Ive had it myself, my gut feeling is gpu driver update. Yeah try gpu driver roll back.
Logged

I aint a pro
chichornio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2013, 02:10:17 PM »
ReplyReply

This magenta cast is popping up a lot in the last month on the forums.  Ive had it myself, my gut feeling is gpu driver update. Yeah try gpu driver roll back.

You may be right. I did a second diagnostic test and the device seems to be all right. I`ll try the driver roll back in win 7 and let you know. The results are in Spanish, but it says that "PASS".


Información general
  Fecha y hora: 03/05/2013 12:54:02 p.m.
  Versión de la aplicación: Versión 2.5.1
  Versión del SDK i1: Version 3.4.0  Build 131
  Versión del SDK iO: Version 1.1.2  Build 100
  Versión del SDK iSis: Version 1.0.6  Build 72
  Plataforma: Microsoft Windows Huh, Service Pack 1

Información sobre el dispositivo
  Tipo de dispositivo: i1Display (Versión 2) [ Luz ambiante  Emisión ]
  Número de serie: 651857

Calibración
  Calibración de emisión: Se ha completado correctamente

Prueba de emisión
  Medición de blanco: Se ha completado correctamente
  Medición de gris: Se ha completado correctamente
  Medición de negro: Se ha completado correctamente
  Medición de rojo: Se ha completado correctamente
  Medición de verde: Se ha completado correctamente
  Medición de azul: Se ha completado correctamente
  Prueba de emisión: Prueba superada


*** PRUEBA SUPERADA ***


**************************

General Information
  Date and Time: 03/05/2013 12:54:02 p.m.
  Application version: Version 2.5.1
  SDK version i1: Version 3.4.0  Build 131
  SDK version iO: Version 1.1.2  Build 100
  SDK version iSis: Version 1.0.6  Build 72
  Platform: Microsoft Windows Huh, Service Pack 1

Device Information
  Device type: i1Display (Version 2) [ Ambient Light  Emission ]
  Serial number: 651857

Calibration
  Emission calibration: Successful

Emission Test
  White measurement: Successful (X=55.923 Y=70.440 Z=55.947)
  Gray measurement: Successful (X=17.826 Y=22.616 Z=18.550)
  Black measurement: Successful (X=0.089 Y=0.101 Z=0.087)
  Red measurement: Successful (X=27.713 Y=18.332 Z=0.724)
  Green measurement: Successful (X=18.942 Y=45.989 Z=6.977)
  Blue measurement: Successful (X=8.393 Y=5.214 Z=47.279)
  Emission Test: Pass


*** PASS ***
Logged
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2013, 01:59:04 PM »
ReplyReply

Borrow another device if you can to rule out the instrument itself.
Logged

AlanRei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2013, 03:09:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry Scott,
I understand your point, but I really want to know if the problem is hardware or software before throwing in the trashcan a 250 Euro calibrator for another brand new 250 Euro calibrator from the same producer! If I have to pay 500 Euro every 4/5 years just because the filters "degrade", it must be a really really bad calibrator and I don't want to make the same mistake. 5 years ago my i1Display 2 was state of the art, suddenly, Xrite bought Gretag and they never made a good software for my calibrator, so it started to "degrade" and they now force me to buy a new one... I really think it's not an hardware problem but a marketing problem...
Logged
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2013, 04:16:45 PM »
ReplyReply

I understand your point, but I really want to know if the problem is hardware or software before throwing in the trashcan a 250 Euro calibrator for another brand new 250 Euro calibrator from the same producer!

That's why borrowing another device that's known to work from a friend might be really illuminating and save you an expense.

If I have to pay 500 Euro every 4/5 years just because the filters "degrade", it must be a really really bad calibrator and I don't want to make the same mistake.

This was a problem with both the i1D2 and several Spyders that has since been fixed - you shouldn't expect the current filters to degrade like your i1D2 likely has.

5 years ago my i1Display 2 was state of the art

Some of us knew it was junk 5+ years ago and destined to plague lots of people with this very problem. The Monaco Optix was the device to have up until the i1DP came out, IMO, and that's always what I've encouraged my clients (and those here) to adopt.

Logged

Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad