Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Canon and color space question  (Read 1951 times)
kevs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 302


« on: April 07, 2013, 07:02:22 PM »
ReplyReply

A new retoucher told me that I need to change my colorspace on my 5D2. He says srgb is not as good as Adobe 1998?

Can I do that?

If so, can you do that with jpegs?
__________________
Logged

Imac 27"
10.6.8
CS5
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7955



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2013, 07:09:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes, you can and it is indeed possible to create a jpg file tagged with AdobeRGB color space.

A wider color space will result in fewer "extreme" color values reaching the edge of the color space, which translate in better differentiation between those saturated/bright colors.

sRGB is still recommended for web images though. On the other hand, print or display on some displays designed for critical color work will benefit from using AdobeRGB.

Besides, all the manipulations you do on your images in applications like Photoshop benefit from an even wider colorspage, typically Prophoto to further reduce the risk that some intermediate image manipulations may result in color value truncation.

You should invest in some books about basic color management, they all go through this in minute details with explanations way better than mines.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1793



WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2013, 08:12:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Here are two on line places to start:
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/color-management-printing.htm
http://www.peachpit.com/articles/article.aspx?p=1321842&seqNum=5
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
kevs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 302


« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2013, 01:12:59 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks guys  Ellis and Bernard-- back to the main question here. (if you are Canon centric)

How does one make jpegs come out by default with the 5D mark 2.

And for Raw, I suppose same question.

Logged

Imac 27"
10.6.8
CS5
Bryan Conner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 519


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2013, 11:53:27 PM »
ReplyReply

I recommend downloading the free manual from Canon.  http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/eos_slr_camera_systems/eos_digital_slr_cameras/eos_5d_mark_ii#BrochuresAndManuals
Logged

kingscurate
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2013, 08:53:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Do you not press menu button on your canon dslr(just done that on a 350d), scroll through the tabs until you see "colour space" and then change to adobe 1998.
Logged

I aint a pro
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 9092



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2013, 09:32:08 AM »
ReplyReply

A new retoucher told me that I need to change my colorspace on my 5D2. He says srgb is not as good as Adobe 1998?

Shoot raw, it doesn't matter what you set and you can get an even bigger color gamut and always convert to sRGB or other down the road. Here's why:

Everything you thought you wanted to know about color gamut

A pretty exhaustive 37 minute video examining the color gamut of RGB working spaces, images and output color spaces. All plotted in 2D and 3D to illustrate color gamut.

High resolution: http://digitaldog.net/files/ColorGamut.mov
Low Res (YouTube): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n0bxSD-Xx-Q

OR if you must shoot JPEG, set the camera to Adobe RGB (1998) and again, you can always convert that data to sRGB for the web (the only real useful place for that color space).
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
kevs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 302


« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2013, 12:11:59 PM »
ReplyReply

thanks guys got it!
Logged

Imac 27"
10.6.8
CS5
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad