Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Unable To Move Files Within LR: Windows Vista  (Read 976 times)
John Caldwell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 473



« on: April 12, 2013, 02:24:02 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm assisting a new LR user who runs Windows Vista -  in which I'm ignorant. Having imported jpg images that are already in her Pictures folder through  Import>Add, we are unable to move those files to a Pictures subfolder from Grid view. The files simply fail to move; there are no error messages or explanations of failure to move. It's as though there are Permission violations of some sort.

When we import new images from her SD card, on the other hand, we appear to be able to move those newly imported files without restriction. When launching LR, we are choosing Run As Administrator, in case that's a factor.

Where is our mistake, please?

Many thanks,

John Caldwell
« Last Edit: April 12, 2013, 02:51:32 PM by John Caldwell » Logged
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2156


« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2013, 03:50:52 PM »
ReplyReply

John, try R-clicking on one of the images and then selecting 'properties'.
In properties select 'security' and check out the permissions.
If you need to change the permissions then click on the 'edit' button to change what requires changing.
It is possible that, for one reason or another there are restrictions as to what can be done with the images in question.
Selecting 'full control' will allow any action to be taken with the image.

Let us know how you go.

Tony Jay
Logged
John Caldwell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 473



« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2013, 08:14:55 AM »
ReplyReply

Tony thank you. Would you expect that the Full Control permission can be assigned to multiple files at one time through a Shift-Click selection coupled with Properties? What about selecting a folder of image files and giving Full Control to the entire folder contents? Looking for a way of not doing this one file at a time, you understand.

Many thanks, Tony.
John-
Logged
mcbroomf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 424


WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2013, 08:48:25 AM »
ReplyReply

You can right click on a whole directory or drive and get access to the same security tab to change permissions.  I had that problem within Capture 1 a few years ago and could not edit anything.. odd as it was not affecting LR.  I changed the permissions of the whole drive.
Logged

Mike Broomfield
Website
John Caldwell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 473



« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2013, 09:14:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Perfect. In this regard Windows must behave like what we have in OSX.

Thank you for your insights. This will be helpful we get our friend who is new LR user up and running.

John-
Logged
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2156


« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2013, 06:51:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Glad to see that we probably have resolution here!

Tony Jay
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad