Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR 5 Public Beta is live.  (Read 26317 times)
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2136


« Reply #100 on: April 21, 2013, 07:19:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Ellis, I assume, perhaps incorrectly, that you are referring to the 'make a second copy' function in the import dialog.
If, so that function is alive and well in beta copy of LR5 in the filehandling subpanel on the right.
If I have the wrong end of the stick I apologise.

Tony Jay
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1816



WWW
« Reply #101 on: April 21, 2013, 10:02:56 AM »
ReplyReply

I am speculating here Ellis but I wonder if it is not a function of it still being in the beta phase.
I confess that I don't recall the same issue with LR4 beta and I haven't checked anything myself with LR5 beta (it is on a different workstation), but I will check this out myself.

Tony Jay

It was there in the Lr2, 3, and 4 betas.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2136


« Reply #102 on: April 21, 2013, 10:28:47 AM »
ReplyReply

I see my post didn't get saved for some reason.

I will repeat the gist of it now.
I assume that you mean't the 'make a second copy to' function.
If you did then it is certainly present in my Lr5 beta version.
It is present in the usual place in the file handling subpanel on the right of the import dialog.

If I have the wrong end of the stick I apologise.

Tony Jay
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1816



WWW
« Reply #103 on: April 21, 2013, 10:35:48 AM »
ReplyReply

For some reason I'm not seeing that. I am using the Lr5b in OS X 10.8.3 Here's what I see (screen shot attached):
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5499


WWW
« Reply #104 on: April 21, 2013, 12:21:59 PM »
ReplyReply

For some reason I'm not seeing that. I am using the Lr5b in OS X 10.8.3 Here's what I see (screen shot attached):

Right click on the right side panel and check the File Handling panel. Somehow, you've got it hidden...
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2831



WWW
« Reply #105 on: April 21, 2013, 12:22:11 PM »
ReplyReply

I wonder if you accidentally hid that section. Right click another section on that side of the panel and see if one of the panels is unticked.
Logged

Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1965


WWW
« Reply #106 on: April 21, 2013, 01:34:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Beta 5 ?? I've just spent the weekend trying it out. All rather underwhelming for me.

The positive notes;

The new healing brush might be useful occasionally. The auto detect function is a joke, but after some intervention it works well enough to be useful.

Responsiveness in the develop module is improved, a little bit.

Auto levelling ? a hit rate of about 5% here, so not a lot of use. I thought the new grid overlay would be useful when levelling images, but it disappears in the crop/rotate window just when you need it, so a fail there.
Auto perspective correct ? A slightly better hit rate, but it doesn't seem to really be that more useful than just using the manual controls.

And that seems to be the best to be said of it.

Radial filter ? just a gimmick I won't use.
Improvements in the book module ? not much at all, Blurb's Booksmart still beats it into the corner and is free.

Hopefully something will turn up in the final release to make it as compelling an upgrade as in the past, but it's not looking worth much to me at the moment.
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2228



WWW
« Reply #107 on: April 21, 2013, 11:35:08 PM »
ReplyReply

Zero features worth paying for here.  A few are steps in the right direction but still not good enough to not have to go in PS, so they may as well be absent.  Should have been a point release, very blah.  I will be totally skipping a version it looks like, for the first time.
Logged

jrp
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #108 on: April 22, 2013, 01:11:32 PM »
ReplyReply

LR5 has some nice tweaks (straightening uprights, healing brush) but I agree with the previous poster that it's more of a half-point release so far.

On the negative side, it sometimes seems to need a kick (or restart) to get going on rendering full-size previews; it sticks on the first one. Speed could also be further improved on developing or importing. (Photomechanic is still the app to beat on the latter score.)
Logged
pluton
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72


« Reply #109 on: April 23, 2013, 02:34:25 AM »
ReplyReply

I am still puzzled as to why so many people rush to provide free software testing to a multi-billion dollar corporation. I am paying for this program and I expect it to work properly right from the start. If you want me to test your new software, I will send you my rate sheet. Otherwise, bugger off.

All software that has the complexity of Lightroom has defects, which the industry refers to as "bugs";  By the time the developers would have time to nearly perfect it, the open market demands that they move on to new iterations and features.
It'll never be perfect and last, that's for sure.
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1816



WWW
« Reply #110 on: April 23, 2013, 07:32:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Schewe:
Right click on the right side panel and check the File Handling panel. Somehow, you've got it hidden...

If it is hidden then it opened up that way after downloading directly from Adobe Labs.

Quote
Tony Jay:
Ellis, I assume, perhaps incorrectly, that you are referring to the 'make a second copy' function in the import dialog.
If, so that function is alive and well in beta copy of LR5 in the filehandling subpanel on the right.

Can't find it.

Quote
JohnBeardy:
I wonder if you accidentally hid that section. Right click another section on that side of the panel and see if one of the panels is unticked.

As I wrote above, the screen shot  is the default state as downloaded from Adobe Labs. I have clicked on the right and left side panels and checked my General and Catalog settings and presets, there is no option for it unless I am completely blind. This is the OS X version (I am running 10.8.3)  downloaded on April 17 from AdobeLabs.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2831



WWW
« Reply #111 on: April 23, 2013, 08:24:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Are you really certain? Here I right clicked on File Renaming and you can see File Handling is unticked.

John
Logged

Whitney Dunn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #112 on: April 23, 2013, 09:01:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Ellis,

Like Jeff and John suggested, right click on the panel and make sure "File Handling" is checked. The option to make a second copy to is greyed out when you choose to "Add" photos to the catalog, but available when you choose to "Copy as DNG", "Copy" or "Move".

Cheers,
Whitney
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1816



WWW
« Reply #113 on: April 23, 2013, 11:26:03 AM »
ReplyReply

That did the trick. I do not remember  that option being hidden before or unchecking it if it the default state is to show it.  Thank you everyone for your help in solving that mystery.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
thierrylegros396
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 672


« Reply #114 on: April 23, 2013, 11:49:26 AM »
ReplyReply

I found the radial filter very useful in a lot of situations, especially when the linear filter is not possible.

You can be creative and use it in all elliptical shapes to improve sharpness and a lot of things.

Thierry

Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1107


« Reply #115 on: April 23, 2013, 07:21:35 PM »
ReplyReply

When the official launch goes out, I WISH Adobe can add a "This Time" or "Apply" feature to the watermark tool, WITHOUT a force to Update current or Save.

This will allow you to bring up any of the presets and then change it for the one time. This way you keep a basic rough and adjust to unique image situations.

Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
hjulenissen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1683


« Reply #116 on: April 24, 2013, 07:11:21 AM »
ReplyReply

All software that has the complexity of Lightroom has defects, which the industry refers to as "bugs";  By the time the developers would have time to nearly perfect it, the open market demands that they move on to new iterations and features.
It'll never be perfect and last, that's for sure.
It seems that the open market is quite willing to accept bugs and quirks in exchange for rapid development and many useful features.

This makes software engineering different from, say, building bridges, where the willingness to accept major failures seems to be quite low.

The interesting this is, if you ask people (users), I'd guess that most of them would say that they prefer stability/less crashes, and are willing to pay for it in terms of price and rate of development. Yet, the assumption of a free market suggests that what they get what they are willing to pay for.

-h
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1816



WWW
« Reply #117 on: April 24, 2013, 07:20:43 AM »
ReplyReply

What people say they want when surveyed is often different than what they actually want. This is according to political and commercial pollsters I've worked with.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
schrodingerscat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


« Reply #118 on: April 26, 2013, 03:26:22 PM »
ReplyReply

The Beta is OS 10.7(Lion)+ compatible only, is it confirmed that this will remain the case in the final release? Apple was shipping machines natively running 10.6(Snow Leopard) as recently as early 2011. It's estimated that close to 50% of Mac users are still using 10.6, with no intention of moving to 10.7/8 any time soon. I have no use for most of the Lion fluff, don't patronize the app or itunes stores, sync, or plan on clouding. If this is the direction Adobe is headed, may have to look elsewhere despite liking their products thus far.

Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1965


WWW
« Reply #119 on: April 26, 2013, 04:05:43 PM »
ReplyReply

If this is the direction Adobe is headed, may have to look elsewhere despite liking their products thus far.
Given the way Windows XP users were been dumped off the supported list with LR4, don't be surprised.
Logged
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad