Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?  (Read 1001 times)
Scott Hargis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 194



WWW
« on: May 08, 2013, 04:19:46 PM »
ReplyReply

I was just told by a B&H customer service rep that "There are no focusing screens for the 5dMiii."

Seriously? Is this guy just crazy? I find this hard to believe, and yet there are none listed on the B&H website. I'm inclined to think that the Mark II screens will work, but I'm reluctant to go stuffing the wrong screen in without getting some sort of verification that it'll fit.

Anyone know anything about this?
Logged

<a href="http://www.scotthargisphoto.com">Website</a>
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 3763


« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 05:54:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Anyone know anything about this?

Hi Scott,

I don't have a 5D Mark III, so can't advise from experience, but what does the manual say?

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
Scott Hargis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 194



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2013, 06:01:59 PM »
ReplyReply

I never read manuals, I just ask on forums...    Wink

But it did occur to me to call CPS, and it turns out, focusing screens are a thing of the past, sure enough. But there *is* an electronic version of it, that you can turn on in the menus. Works good, I'm all happy again.
Logged

<a href="http://www.scotthargisphoto.com">Website</a>
jrsforums
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 744


« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2013, 06:28:24 PM »
ReplyReply

I was just told by a B&H customer service rep that "There are no focusing screens for the 5dMiii."

Seriously? Is this guy just crazy? I find this hard to believe, and yet there are none listed on the B&H website. I'm inclined to think that the Mark II screens will work, but I'm reluctant to go stuffing the wrong screen in without getting some sort of verification that it'll fit.

Anyone know anything about this?

None from Canon.  It was not designed to have one.

I have seen 3rd party offerings, but have no experience with them.

Having used 3rd party screens on prior cameras, one potential issue (besides warranty issues if you mess something up) is that most of them will potentially cause metering problems as the metering is performed after the light passes through the screen (up into the prism).   
Logged

John
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 3763


« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2013, 06:38:45 PM »
ReplyReply

I never read manuals, I just ask on forums...    Wink

But it did occur to me to call CPS, and it turns out, focusing screens are a thing of the past, sure enough.

That's curious, but interesting.

Quote
But there *is* an electronic version of it, that you can turn on in the menus. Works good, I'm all happy again.

For my edification, what does it offer? I use a different focusing screen in my 1Ds3, because the physical characteristics of a different diffusion (better DOF estimation and manual focus accuracy with f/2.8 or wider optics) cannot really be compensated in software (as long as the viewfinder is all optical).

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
Scott Hargis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 194



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2013, 07:13:07 PM »
ReplyReply

Bart, all you get is a broad grid pattern -- there's no split-circle focusing aids, or even any options for the grid itself. Luckily, all I wanted was the grid they provide, so I'm happy enough.
Logged

<a href="http://www.scotthargisphoto.com">Website</a>
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 3763


« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2013, 07:53:47 PM »
ReplyReply

Bart, all you get is a broad grid pattern -- there's no split-circle focusing aids, or even any options for the grid itself. Luckily, all I wanted was the grid they provide, so I'm happy enough.

Hi Scott,

I see, thanks for the answer.

Bart
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad