Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Discard 1:1 previews does not Free Disk space?  (Read 3592 times)
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1911



WWW
« on: May 19, 2013, 05:02:43 AM »
ReplyReply

I think I may have found an odd bug in LR (current 4.x release). I have LR installed on a 450GB SSD in my mac pro (boot and apps drive). My images (60,000+) are stored internally on the mac pro on 4 stripped and mirrored RAID hard drives. Catalogue is on the SSD. The catalogue lives on the SSD with the preview folder.

I had 1:1 previews rendered for the entire catalogue which filled the SSD which is never a good thing. So, deleted the 1:1 previews for the entire catalogue using Library / Previews / Discard 1:1 previews. Only problem is... the Lightroom previews folder did not shrink in size. It remained exactly the same.

Manually going to the previews folder and dragging it to the Trash does regain the disk space and LR has to rebuild previews (which is fine - I can just render 1:1 previews for those images I am using atm and don't need 1:1 previews for my entire catalogue).

Anyone else come across this?
Logged

Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2157


« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2013, 05:08:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Josh, are you running a Mac or a Windows system?

Tony Jay
Logged
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1911



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2013, 05:13:59 AM »
ReplyReply

"in my mac pro"

Mac  Grin
Logged

Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2157


« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2013, 05:21:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Shame on you Josh - made me blush.
That was dorkish - apologies for missing the bleeding obvious.

Not seen this on my Windows system but I will do a little experiment to make sure.

Tony Jay
Logged
Tony Jay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2157


« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2013, 01:37:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Josh, I don'r see the same issue on a Windows system.

I would think that the issue you refer to rests in the domain of the OS.
It should be able to count its fingers and toes correctly.
Nonetheless n=1 is not a great sample size and so a wider data sample is needed.

Tony Jay
Logged
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1911



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2013, 01:49:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for checking Tony. I did a search on the web and found a few other threads on other sites where people have reported the same behaviour with versions as early as 1.X.

I think this may be OS related as you imply.
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2892



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2013, 01:54:20 AM »
ReplyReply

Usually there's a delay before deletion, so here I might have waited to see if generating new previews for some items would have started the flushing process. Alternatively, in your circumstances I would have deleted the previews folder through the OS.

John
Logged

elied
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2013, 03:01:57 AM »
ReplyReply

How about a simple reboot?
Logged

Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2892



WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2013, 03:18:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Unnecessary.
Logged

Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1911



WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2013, 03:58:34 AM »
ReplyReply

A reboot did not solve the problem. I just manually trashed the previews file from the OS and it resolved the issue.
Logged

jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3649



WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2013, 08:27:45 AM »
ReplyReply

For reference - after deleting stuff from OSX you do not normally see more disk space become available until after Trash is emptied.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1911



WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2013, 05:37:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks - had tried the obvious of emptying the trash...
Logged

jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3649



WWW
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2013, 08:08:55 AM »
ReplyReply

Doesn't always show though, sometimes you need to restart your File Manager for it to update.
Though if you are using the execrable Finder, then even that is not straightforward.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
KarlGohl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2013, 06:41:42 PM »
ReplyReply

According to this from Ian Lyons: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/358039

"1:1 previews will not be deleted unless your chosen standard-sized preview is less than half the size of the full-sized preview"

I had a >100GB previews cache, and doing Discard 1:1 Previews did not reduce the size of .lrdata.  I just changed my standard preview size from 2048 to the smallest setting and did Discard 1:1 Previews on a bunch of photos:  LR is taking much longer to do the operation than the first time.  It is only about 1/3 done and the size of my .lrdata (as shown in Finder) is already down to 63GB.

Perhaps this will work for you.

Ian does say that in some cases the space won't be freed until a while after LR is closed and re-opened, but in my case the size shown in Finder started going down immediately.

I'm not exactly sure what Ian means by "half the size".  Probably means that if the width of the full size image is not at least double that of your standard preview size, then LR won't actually delete said 1:1 preview (perhaps it keeps it instead of the standard size preview???).  
« Last Edit: June 06, 2013, 02:57:43 PM by KarlGohl » Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad