Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Weird problem - TIFF file opens in Camera Raw  (Read 20426 times)
nemophoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 507



WWW
« on: May 29, 2013, 09:11:15 AM »
ReplyReply

I have a weird problem with PS6. With certain TIFF files, whether I try to open or place, the file opens in Camera Raw (7.4). I've tried every way I think of to thwart this but it's always the same. The same file exists in an image database with Lightroom. Sure, I can just go ahead and have Camera Raw open the file as is, but then it changes the metadata of the file and then Lightroom tries to figure out what to do next time it encounters the file.

Any thoughts on what causes this and how to fix it?

Thanks.
Nemo
Logged

kjkahn
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2013, 10:11:26 AM »
ReplyReply

Two possibilities:

In Photoshop, click Edit|Preferences|Camera Raw
At the bottom of the dialog box, next to TIFF, select Disable TIFF support


If that doesn't fix it and if you are using Windows try this:

Right-click on a TIFF
Select Open with|Choose default propram
Select the desired program
Check Always use the selected program to open this kind of file.



I have a weird problem with PS6. With certain TIFF files, whether I try to open or place, the file opens in Camera Raw (7.4). I've tried every way I think of to thwart this but it's always the same. The same file exists in an image database with Lightroom. Sure, I can just go ahead and have Camera Raw open the file as is, but then it changes the metadata of the file and then Lightroom tries to figure out what to do next time it encounters the file.

Any thoughts on what causes this and how to fix it?

Thanks.
Nemo
Logged
jerryrock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 565



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2013, 11:44:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Another possibility is that they are actual RAW files. The 1st Canon EOS 1Ds (2002) recorded RAW files with the old Kodak standard .TIF file extension and not .CRW used on the Canon EOS D60 (2002) or the .CR2 file extension used today.
Logged

Gerald J Skrocki
skrockidesign.com
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3759


« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2013, 11:58:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Any thoughts on what causes this and how to fix it?

Hi Nemo,

From Photoshop, select File|Open as..., and make sure that the Open as filetype is not "Camera Raw" but TIFF.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
nemophoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 507



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2013, 12:06:23 PM »
ReplyReply

All great suggestions. The weird thing is that the image is a TIFF from a 1Ds2 that was processed in Lightroom, and not only that multiple variations of the image. Interestingly, I just opened the image (again it came up in Camera Raw). I did an Alt-click to open it without metadata changes. I noticed it was 8-bit, converted it to 16-bit, and then resaved the image. Now it opens normally. Very weird....
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9189



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2013, 08:58:29 AM »
ReplyReply

The weird thing is that the image is a TIFF from a 1Ds2 that was processed in Lightroom, and not only that multiple variations of the image. Interestingly, I just opened the image (again it came up in Camera Raw). I did an Alt-click to open it without metadata changes. I noticed it was 8-bit, converted it to 16-bit, and then resaved the image. Now it opens normally. Very weird....

It's a TIFF or it's from a 1Ds2? IF a TIFF and IF you opened and applied any metadata (parametric instructions), in ACR then it will continue to open in ACR. That's correct behavior. From time to time, I've found one TIFF test image I work with opening in ACR due to this and just saving as... TIFF seems to undo this effect. IOW, just save off a new but identical TIFF iteration, that should stop ACR from trying to open it again.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
nemophoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 507



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2013, 11:46:12 AM »
ReplyReply

It's a TIFF or it's from a 1Ds2? IF a TIFF and IF you opened and applied any metadata (parametric instructions), in ACR then it will continue to open in ACR. That's correct behavior. From time to time, I've found one TIFF test image I work with opening in ACR due to this and just saving as... TIFF seems to undo this effect. IOW, just save off a new but identical TIFF iteration, that should stop ACR from trying to open it again.

The original file was a CR2 file from the 1Ds2. I then did conversions in Lightroom and ended up creating several additional TIFF file versions. As I mentioned, I converted the 8-bit TIFF to a 16-bit TIFF and then did a save. Seemed to "fix" the problem, but still very strange that it would have seen the file as a RAW of some sort. BTW, I originally opened the file simply by dragging from Windows Explorer into PS CS6. Last night, I ended up uninstalling PS CS6 because of bugs and issues with the original install. I couldn't use several plugins, including PixelGenius Photokit Sharpener. Now, if only I can figure out what I did with my install disk.... Found the box....
Logged

E.J. Peiker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2013, 09:31:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Go to the file in Bridge, right click on it and select Develop Settings > Clear Settings.  The file will now open in Photoshop.  The most common cause for this is that at some point the file was opened in ACR by right clicking on the file in Bridge and selecting Open in Camera RAW.

The reason this happens is because an application (ACR or Lightroom usually) attached an XMP file to the TIF file.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2013, 09:47:06 AM by E.J. Peiker » Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad