Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?  (Read 11965 times)
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« on: June 05, 2013, 05:29:08 PM »
ReplyReply

After a day's use, DxO Optics Pro seems kind-of OK, but it quickly became obvious that I've become accustomed to making a few selective adjustments on more or less each photo.

So what do people use with DxO Optics Pro for those selective adjustments?
(Suggestions other than LR, PS, PSE please.)
Logged
kirkt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138


« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 11:42:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Photoline:

www.pl32.com

kirk
Logged
Sigi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 92


WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2013, 02:00:44 AM »
ReplyReply

I use NIK software
Logged

Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2013, 07:42:53 PM »
ReplyReply

What do you mean by selective adjustments?

Are you referring to a Gradient or brush in a selected area, or??...
Or are you referring to placing the cursor on the point of adjustment area in one region to adjust things such as ....
/color/illumination, as well as the dark/shadow/light/highlight (terms from LR modules) ?

I've been considering DxO in my mix of Dev apps.
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Vladimirovich
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1155


« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2013, 09:26:03 PM »
ReplyReply

(Suggestions other than LR, PS, PSE please.)

Adobe Bridge runs ACR w/o PS   Wink
Logged
Bryan Conner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 511


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2013, 12:26:46 AM »
ReplyReply

I use NIK software

+1
Logged

BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3019


« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2013, 05:19:38 AM »
ReplyReply

So what do people use with DxO Optics Pro for those selective adjustments?
(Suggestions other than LR, PS, PSE please.)

Hi,

Topaz Labs photoFXlab is both a stand-alone application and a PS plugin. It has several useful controls which can be applied on blending layers, and it can use the excellent Topaz Labs plugins on those individual layers. There are some tutorials here.

Photoline (mentioned in an earlier post) is another very capable program, and it allows to use PS plugins, including those from Topaz Labs.

Cheers,
Bart
« Last Edit: August 08, 2013, 05:25:43 AM by BartvanderWolf » Logged
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2013, 05:09:32 PM »
ReplyReply

What do you mean by selective adjustments?

Are you referring to a Gradient or brush in a selected area, or??...

Yes, and removing the 100' pine tree that's obscuring the sub-alpine lake, and moving bluebird sky into the top corner of a composite image that I somehow neglected to photograph (I blame it on the altitude), and...


Topaz Labs photoFXlab is both a stand-alone application...

Thanks, I actually have the demo installed but still need to install useful modules. Maybe soon, I have a couple of photos with both a near focus and a far focus which I've failed to satisfactorily merge with Enfuse or Hugin, so I'd like to add alpha masks and try again.

Logged
Vladimirovich
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1155


« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2013, 10:02:47 AM »
ReplyReply

and, Isaac, why stop using already purchased PS product with perpetual license ? you replaced ACR/LR w/ other raw converter(s), but you still can get PS/PSE and use it w/o subscription... or you can still run old ACR on .tiff for local corrections even you do not upgrade to "CC" to get new ACRs for new cameras... not supporting Adobe (because of "CC") does not need to go that far
Logged
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2013, 11:10:51 AM »
ReplyReply

not supporting Adobe (because of "CC") does not need to go that far

You seem to have confused me with BartvanderWolf.
Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2013, 08:16:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Basically, you mean a pixel level editor.

Corel Paint is an Alternate to Photoshop
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2013, 11:28:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Basically, you mean a pixel level editor.

Is that how you would describe LR? (Removed pine tree and moved bluebird sky.)

Is that how you would describe AfterShot Pro? (Selection + levels to create black masks for alpha channel composite images.)

Just one or two of the capabilities of a pixel level editor would be enough.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2013, 11:39:41 AM by Isaac » Logged
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2013, 12:12:21 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm confused by the apparent overlap between Topaz plugins -- afaict Topaz Clarity, Topaz Adjust, and Topaz Detail all seem much the same?
Logged
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2013, 08:22:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Topaz Labs photoFXlab is both a stand-alone application and a PS plugin. It has several useful controls which can be applied on blending layers, and it can use the excellent Topaz Labs plugins on those individual layers.

I can see how to apply various effects; and, for example, do selective sharpening using the layer masks; and it was easy enough to composite images with different WB adjustments for different foreground/background lighting etc

Is there a basic clone stamp in photoFXlab?
Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3019


« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2013, 04:03:18 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm confused by the apparent overlap between Topaz plugins -- afaict Topaz Clarity, Topaz Adjust, and Topaz Detail all seem much the same?

Hi,

They target different things, and achieve different effects that cannot be achieved by the other plugins. There is some functionality overlap in the other features like selections/masking.

Here is a short description of the differences.

Here is an overview of the most common stage in the workflow where they are used.

They also have lots of webinars and videos on their YouTube channel about the various plugins, and here is a recent one about some of the differences between 'Adjust' and 'Detail'.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3019


« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2013, 05:06:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Is there a basic clone stamp in photoFXlab?

Hi,

Not a clone stamp as such, but one can duplicate or import layers, Mask them, and move/resize them.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2013, 09:56:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks -- I guess the trick is to figure out how to move a duplicated layer relative to the original.
Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3019


« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2013, 10:06:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks -- I guess the trick is to figure out how to move a duplicated layer relative to the original.

You're welcome. It's not that difficult to move a layer in photoFXlab, just select the layer and use the controls at the top right hand side of the plugin as shown in the attached screenshot.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
Isaac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2351


« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2013, 12:52:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Not difficult at all, once you know it's there ;-)

Unfortunately afaict these actions really don't provide the effectiveness of the LR Spot Removal Brush.
Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3019


« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2013, 01:19:08 PM »
ReplyReply

Not difficult at all, once you know it's there ;-)

Unfortunately afaict these actions really don't provide the effectiveness of the LR Spot Removal Brush.

That's correct, but then nobody claimed that these plugins would, because they are more geared at total image enhancement, not specifically for detailed Retouch like an image pixel oriented editor. For that there are plenty of alternatives. Fortunately, most Raw converters do offer spot removal.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad