Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Nikon D800 changes settings in Manual mode by itself  (Read 4821 times)
figure1a
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 49


« on: June 05, 2013, 10:06:43 PM »
ReplyReply

I put the camera in manual exposure mode and set it to 1/1000 at f4. Sometimes after I take a shot, it changes the exposure to something like 1/800 at f3.5. Is there a setting that is doing this? I have another D800 that always stays where I put it. But it seems like this camera is set to "make a suggestion" for me which I don't want.
Logged
MichaelEzra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 659



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 10:42:16 PM »
ReplyReply

This may depend on a lens. Some lenses change aperture with change of focusing distance.
Logged

figure1a
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 49


« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2013, 11:04:44 PM »
ReplyReply

It's a constant f2.8 lens. But also the shutter speed is changing. There are so many option in the menus that I cannot figure out what would be doing it.
Logged
MichaelEzra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 659



WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2013, 11:21:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes, but some "constant" 2.8 lenses are not that constant:) they change depending how for you focus.
Logged

BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8246



WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2013, 02:03:28 AM »
ReplyReply

I put the camera in manual exposure mode and set it to 1/1000 at f4. Sometimes after I take a shot, it changes the exposure to something like 1/800 at f3.5. Is there a setting that is doing this? I have another D800 that always stays where I put it. But it seems like this camera is set to "make a suggestion" for me which I don't want.

I have never seen this kind of behavior and I am not aware of any setting that would impact S/A set by user in M mode.

The only thing I can think of are the 2 separate banks of settings between photo and film in live view, since each of them keeps their own setting. Did you not change that mode by mistake?

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
stamper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2824


« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2013, 02:41:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Have you enabled bracketing?
Logged

Rob C
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12213


« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2013, 03:37:20 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm seriously tempted to repost my shot of my Nikon f3.

;-)

Rob C
Logged

kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 773


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2013, 05:14:16 AM »
ReplyReply

I have only one little problem with the camera: sometimes i zoom in a picture i have shot and it get the wrong part of the picture and cannot move to the sides to see everything...
Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
AFairley
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1180



« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2013, 11:36:32 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm seriously tempted to repost my shot of my Nikon f3.

;-)

Rob C
Grin
Logged

BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8246



WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2013, 06:58:50 PM »
ReplyReply

I have only one little problem with the camera: sometimes i zoom in a picture i have shot and it get the wrong part of the picture and cannot move to the sides to see everything...

Hum... that happens to me a lot also.

A pro photographer once told me it was a susceptibility problem. Not sure what he meant?

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad