Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: New Feature idea  (Read 1480 times)
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« on: June 07, 2013, 12:45:23 AM »
ReplyReply

For all the time I've thought how to organize and manage my images durring a shoot and editing process and having to do it in batches over days, and the way most projects I deal with are worked out....
I can SURELY use a little button, much like the Metadata, or Flag, and other gray colored boarder icons around an image in Library view..... I can use one that I could click on and out flips a little "Notes bubble".
This is where you can write down some notes on about the image...Anywhere from the shoot setup to how it will relate to another image file that maybe part of a collage, or anything that just doesn't make sense to place in metadata (some color or highlight indication the image has a note would be important).

It sure would be useful for me, as I would think many others.
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 312


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 01:51:32 AM »
ReplyReply

There is a plug-in that adds a big note field. i believe it is from john beardy. Else check photographers-toolbox, or jeffrey friedl's LR plugin's.
Logged

Fine art photography: www.janrsmit.com
Courses and workshops: www.centrumbeeldbeleving.nl

Jan R. Smit
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2458



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2013, 02:00:16 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, it's one called BigNote.
Logged

Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2013, 02:12:08 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks JR, and John for making this...but is it tested well? I don't have a test catalog, and I don't know what I would need to do to put it in testing properly.
I sure as heck don't want to use it and then corrupt, lose or somehow mess up my files or catalog.  I'm thinking this is likely OK, but reading the info does bring things to mind.

I think I'm gonna just install it and try it out anyway :-)
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2013, 02:16:48 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm glad I thought of this new idea, and super impressed how fast you got it out John :-P

If it's in the Metadata, I don't think you would be able to see if an image has notes to it, unless you highlight it and check in the metadata...right?  or am I jumping the gun, since I have yet to install it?
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2458



WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2013, 02:25:18 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm glad I thought of this new idea, and super impressed how fast you got it out John :-P
I went back to July 2009 to do so....
Logged

Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1862


WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2013, 04:04:57 AM »
ReplyReply

I asked for something like this back at version 2.

To me, the metadata option isn't ideal as it's a bit hidden within all the rest of the metadata. Also you can't see it in other modules.
Although it would be useful if you're passing the data elsewhere.

I'd prefer a virtual post-it note style addition to be added to the photo.
Probably not an easy option to implement, but also not impossible, it'll probably be the key upgrade feature in LR9 or something when they've added everything else.
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2458



WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2013, 04:09:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Agreed.
Logged

jrsforums
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 706


« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2013, 09:17:12 AM »
ReplyReply

If you want an indication that, that can be seen in all modules, that there is a 'Big Note', you can add something like "Note" in 'copyname'.

I have started using this to add a little more meaning to 'Edit' to indicate which external process the edit was done in.

The copyname can be selected in 'View Options' for grid or loupe view.
Logged

John
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2013, 11:30:11 AM »
ReplyReply

2009..hmmm, You may have beet me to it John, but I can't say it didn't pop up in my head. The key is you actually did something about it. Thank you for your programming abilities to get something in the direction.

Rhossydd's direction is what I am thinking of. It needs to be on the thumbnail just like Flag, color or star rating, so you see it has a note (otherwize grey-ed out) click it and some popup expands. This would have to get intot the visuals, not something you need to select a image to see in the meta.

This would be the most useful.  JRSforums, I don't know what "Copyname" is.

Also, I looked on the site John or a quick refresh on how to install these plugs, and I didn't see it on the BNotes page directing me to any tutorial.

Geez, I hope LR5 final release would have it.  It really does add so much more value to managing and cataloging vs emulation of folder structure in Library mode.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 11:34:04 AM by Phil Indeblanc » Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1862


WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2013, 11:39:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Geez, I hope LR5 final release would have it.
I think it very, VERY unlikely.

Although they have often added something useful in the final versions after the betas, I think this time it will be as compelling as the option to use your Adobe Cloud account to share images with other 'creative professionals'.
Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2013, 12:02:53 PM »
ReplyReply

That's just getting offensive. The word cloud is offensive in every way when forced.
But that's another topic already on another thread :-)

« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 01:00:46 PM by Phil Indeblanc » Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
jrsforums
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 706


« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2013, 01:27:28 PM »
ReplyReply


This would be the most useful.  JRSforums, I don't know what "Copyname" is.



Library mode, right side, metadata, select 'Default' (to left of word METADATA), 3rd item down is 'Copy Name'

'Copy Name' is a selectable field in the View Options and can be shown on the thumb nails.

Whenever you make a virtual copy, LR will create a name...copy1, copy2, etc.  This can be changed to anything you want...or you can enter it for any image without making a VC.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 01:30:24 PM by jrsforums » Logged

John
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2013, 01:58:36 PM »
ReplyReply

That is rather helpful! Yes, with havbing it show on the thumbs as a field maybe a good sollution!

Since I have yet come across the need to make a virtual copy, this would be clear for me.

Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083


« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2013, 03:39:29 PM »
ReplyReply

Any install instructions/tips?
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad