Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Installing LR 5 over LR 4  (Read 1517 times)
HDProman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« on: June 11, 2013, 07:59:41 PM »
ReplyReply

I have my preferences set not to store presets with my catalog. Will LR 5 automatically find and use my existing presets or do I need to manually copy them to a new location?

What are the pros and cons of having the presets stored or not with the catalog?

Thanks, Floyd...

Logged
ario
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112


« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 09:21:55 PM »
ReplyReply

LR5 will find your existing presets where they are.
The optimal place to store the presets depends on how many catalogs and how many computers you are using. I tend to use a single catalog on different computers so I found convenient to store the presets with the catalog.
The only drawback is that certain third party preset will not install automatically on the catalog (but you can copy them manually).
Logged
msoon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2013, 04:42:32 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm wondering if installing LR5 over 4 will mess with the VSCO preset filter set?
Logged

Product Photography Portfolio - http://www.marksoon.com
ario
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112


« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2013, 05:44:39 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm wondering if installing LR5 over 4 will mess with the VSCO preset filter set?
No, it doesn't
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8763



WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2013, 05:51:03 AM »
ReplyReply

What are the pros and cons of having the presets stored or not with the catalog?

For me, the pro's are that if you backup/clone this data to multiple drives as I do, it's always accessible when you use those drives (location drive vs. Desktop). I haven't had two cups of coffee yet this morning, I don't know what the disadvantages are.

It would be real useful if the next version of LR had a better means of syncing all the user created data: DNG and Lens profiles, presets no matter where stored etc.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
jrsforums
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 733


« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2013, 08:30:14 AM »
ReplyReply

For me, the pro's are that if you backup/clone this data to multiple drives as I do, it's always accessible when you use those drives (location drive vs. Desktop). I haven't had two cups of coffee yet this morning, I don't know what the disadvantages are.

It would be real useful if the next version of LR had a better means of syncing all the user created data: DNG and Lens profiles, presets no matter where stored etc.

Hi, Andrew...

I have found 'LR Backup' to be quite useful....

http://www.photographers-toolbox.com/products/mdawson/tpglrbackup/

Of course, I think it only works if you do not store with catalog....at least I have not tried that.  I do find that if I need to move presets,etc.  from one machine to another, these backup files allow me to easily do it.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2013, 08:32:25 AM by jrsforums » Logged

John
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5720



WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2013, 01:18:20 AM »
ReplyReply

I only use one catalogue per release, and I have my images within the Pictures folder and my Lightroom catalogues, etc. also within that folder (all within subfolders, etc.)  Older images are archived on an external drive, also within a Pictures folder.  By backing up that one folder (and subfolders), I back up my images, my catalogue(s, including older versions), my presets, keywords, previews and pretty much everything associated with LR.  The actual program and system presets, etc. are stored in different locations.

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Hans Kruse
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 628



WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2013, 01:58:04 AM »
ReplyReply

I backup and optimize my catalog on a regular basis and back it up separately.

Other than that, I have one machine, one catalog and back it all up using Time Machine (Mac) on multiple drives (one in the office and one for the road). Older pictures are on an external USB 3 drive which is synchronized with several other drives and always one on another location. I also have online backup of everything in the cloud here http://www.backblaze.com/
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad