Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)  (Read 3746 times)
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759


WWW
« on: June 27, 2013, 01:43:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Capture One version 7.1.3 has added an interesting feature (which is currently labeled beta): you can import a Lightroom catalog into a Capture One catalog in just two clicks (and a few hours of waiting for the import/preview-generation).

We have extensive details here: Capture One's New Lightroom Catalog Import Tool

Of note exposure, contrast, saturation, crop, orientation, rating, color tag, and copyright are all imported.

It seems a very clear shot across the bow of Lightroom geared towards users who would like to use C1 for it's raw processing quality and pro features (overlay, color editor, focus mask, tethering with live view etc) but are locked into using LR because they have an extensive catalog.

I'd say the feature works pretty well as-is, but it is very clearly marked as a beta, so we recommend strongly against using it on any production machines, and only on copies of your catalog (not the master copies).
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
jwlimages
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 06:24:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Doug,

Thanks for posting this. I had noticed this - and your caution about not using it yet - and was going to ask if anyone had tried it yet. Call me chicken, I guess...

Along the same lines, sort of - have been wondering about C1 (& Media Pro too, IiR) using .xmp "sidecar" files. I have been using Lightroom catalogs to manage raw files & more, but occasionally access those same raws to process with C1. If I enable that checkbox in C1 to write .xmps, will it over-write the ones Lightroom has already generated? You can tell I don't want to find out the hard way.

John
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1889


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 11:34:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Mac only :-(

Hopefully a Windows version will arrive one day.
Logged
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7790



WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2013, 12:56:07 PM »
ReplyReply

Mac only :-(

Hopefully a Windows version will arrive one day.
+1.

Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
ihv
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2013, 02:56:22 PM »
ReplyReply

+1

Adobe has recently made quite an effort to get rid of their customers starting with the cloud.

Shorter lifecycle for LR sounded good in the beginning, even though that didn't reflect in the price. That was fine.
But the lack of producing quickfixes for serious issues and the complete lack to give an estimate for the fixes is beyond me.

See yourself the Lightroom forum, no official support but users trying to find fixes by themselves by using third party applications:
http://forums.adobe.com/community/labs/lightroom5
http://forums.adobe.com/community/lightroom





Logged
Vladimirovich
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1286


« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2013, 05:18:47 PM »
ReplyReply


Adobe has recently made quite an effort to get rid of their customers starting with the cloud.


LR still has perpetual license, what its users have to complain about ? unlike ACR users.
Logged
ButchM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2013, 07:43:07 PM »
ReplyReply

LR still has perpetual license, what its users have to complain about ? unlike ACR users.

Well, it's perpetual for now ...

Unfortunately the only enhancements and improvements of any consequence that have been added to Lr is in the Develop module (aka ACR) the other modules exist in relative obscurity by comparison when it comes to any further capabilities ... or the improvements added ... seem to be taking those modules in the wrong direction (i.e. the Book module) ...

While I don't mind the improvements in Develop ... I will not support or reward Adobe for their efforts when they are selling me an upgrade to the entire application ... unless and until they bring all the modules up to speed and the same level of worthiness as the Develop module, I will continue use other solutions ... I'll not throw good money after bad ...
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1889


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2013, 12:40:42 AM »
ReplyReply

LR still has perpetual license, what its users have to complain about ?
Photoshop had a perpetual licence at the start of the year too.
If CC is perceived as a success for Adobe do you seriously think they won't apply the rental model to all their products ?
Given their track record of saying one thing then changing policy a few months later, I wouldn't trust them too much now.

What have we to complain about ? the under whelming upgrade that is LR5 for a start.
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5427


WWW
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2013, 02:04:28 AM »
ReplyReply

What have we to complain about ? the under whelming upgrade that is LR5 for a start.

Ya know, at some point, you might want to quit flogging the dead horse...I mean, the horse is dead...it's starting to decompose...the skin is coming off the corpse.

This thread ain't about all the Adobe Hatred...this thread is about Phase One offering a migration from Lightroom to Capture one. What part of that don't you get? Do you use Capture One? I do...I find the migration interesting (although maybe just a bit optimistic because what LR does for processing ain't the same as C1).

So, do you want to talk about the topic of the thread or keep flogging the dead horse...the horse is dead ya know. It's really starting to stink.
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1889


WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2013, 02:18:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Ya know, at some point, you might want to quit flogging the dead horse...I mean, the horse is dead...it's starting to decompose...the skin is coming off the corpse.
Yes and I'm as bored with it as you. Why pick on me ? I've been a vocal fan of LR since the first public beta, I'm not one of the anti-Adobe crowd shouting you down all the time. I've pointed out several times it's futile arguing about it and highlighting the few good aspects of CC.
But that doesn't stop the latest LR upgrade being so underwhelming or convince me that it will remain on perpetual licence. I'm looking around and having an upgradable licence for C1 makes me look closely at that particular escape route from LR.
Quote
this thread is about Phase One offering a migration from Lightroom to Capture one. What part of that don't you get? Do you use Capture One?
Yes, and it's nice to see a migration solution being worked on so soon after it was requested. All to Phase One's credit for listening to it's customers and potential customers.
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5427


WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2013, 02:47:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes and I'm as bored with it as you. Why pick on me ?

Actually, I'm sorry I quoted you instead of Butch...although your post didn't do anything to stay on topic either. But it was Butch's post that was the most egregious...in any event, it does nobody any good to keep sprinkling the anti-Adobe message hither and yon...
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1889


WWW
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2013, 02:59:17 PM »
ReplyReply

although your post didn't do anything to stay on topic either.
See reply #2
Quote
it does nobody any good to keep sprinkling the anti-Adobe message hither and yon...
I'm sure the Adobe evangelists don't like to see people praising other companies for offering some competition, but raising awareness of alternatives can be helpful to others.

Your one man campaign of abuse against anyone daring to say anything that might be taken as against Adobe is getting mighty tedious of late. If you want the fire to die down, stopped feeding it.
Logged
ButchM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2013, 03:07:39 PM »
ReplyReply

But it was Butch's post that was the most egregious...

That's just priceless ....  Cheesy  Cheesy  Cheesy
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5427


WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2013, 03:11:25 PM »
ReplyReply

See reply #2I'm sure the Adobe evangelists don't like to see people praising other companies for offering some competition, but raising awareness of alternatives can be helpful to others.

Guess you missed the part where I said: "I do...I find the migration interesting (although maybe just a bit optimistic because what LR does for processing ain't the same as C1)."

I own a Phase One IQ180 back and use C1 for tethering to my P1 645 camera...so I have a vested interest in seeing C1 advance (although I tend to prefer LR's processing).
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2670



WWW
« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2013, 03:30:37 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm sure the Adobe evangelists don't like to see people praising other companies for offering some competition, but raising awareness of alternatives can be helpful to others.
I doubt anyone cares!

It's a sensible move by C1, but one thing that's always been good about Adobe if they don't go out of their way to make such an exercise difficult. Here C1 are directly accessing the SQL, which is a bit of a surprise, but all IPTC and most adjustment data has always been readable in other apps via XMP. And why shouldn't Lightroom do the same and directly import other databases?

John
Logged

snoleoprd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 394



WWW
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2013, 03:34:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Doug thanks for posting this, I had been asking for a way to import catalogs, but I guess I have to wait for the windows version to try it out, something to look forward to.

Alan
Logged

Alan Smallbone
Orange County, CA
hjulenissen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1666


« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2013, 03:36:35 PM »
ReplyReply

And why shouldn't Lightroom do the same and directly import other databases?
Agreed.

-h
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1889


WWW
« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2013, 03:44:25 PM »
ReplyReply

And why shouldn't Lightroom do the same and directly import other databases?
No reason at all, it could be sensible for them.
Can I see them doing it ? not at all. I doubt they'd consider the effort(=cost) worthwhile. Plus whilst I think a lot of people will give a smaller player like Phase One some slack if they don't get it right for the first few times, if Adobe release a poor offering it would be heavily criticised.

Lightroom's cataloguing is the key feature for them to develop and improve on as it keeps users locked into the product and less likely to migrate elsewhere.
I find it remarkable that they aren't putting more effort into improving this part of the program for that reason alone.
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2670



WWW
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2013, 03:59:15 PM »
ReplyReply

No reason at all, it could be sensible for them.
Can I see them doing it ? not at all. I doubt they'd consider the effort(=cost) worthwhile. Plus whilst I think a lot of people will give a smaller player like Phase One some slack if they don't get it right for the first few times, if Adobe release a poor offering it would be heavily criticised.

Lightroom's cataloguing is the key feature for them to develop and improve on as it keeps users locked into the product and less likely to migrate elsewhere.
I find it remarkable that they aren't putting more effort into improving this part of the program for that reason alone.
If you had your eyes peeled when Lr4 was released a year ago, you might have noticed brief hints of an import feature, not with P1 but another well-known app.

Though I share the frustration at the slow progress in Library, it's the app as a whole and not just Library that deters people from moving. Adobe know they can afford to improve it at a leisurely pace.
Logged

Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1889


WWW
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2013, 04:18:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Adobe know they can afford to improve it at a leisurely pace.
Whilst that seems to reflect the latest upgrade, it's a complacent attitude to take.
Read through Lula and there are many people who see benefits in using other RAW converters like Capture One, DXO etc
Whilst at the moment I use and like LR4, I've tried others and could imagine using them instead of LR. An awful lot of the learning investment in RAW conversion is program agnostic and transferable. A change of licensing model or a failure to develop the product sufficiently will see me move elsewhere.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad