Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: serious bug  (Read 1618 times)
kikashi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4122



« on: June 29, 2013, 07:30:45 AM »
ReplyReply

I've found this bug with several photos.

Start with a photo edited in a previous version of LR. In develop module, there's a list of commands in the history on the left.

If I click anywhere in the history, all edits above where I have clicked disappear and replaced with "Post-Crop Vignette Style: Paint Overlay". I have no vignette applied.

"Undo" doesn't then work: the edits are irretrievably lost.

Has anyone else seen this? Any suggestions?

Jeremy
Logged
Simon Garrett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2013, 08:08:19 AM »
ReplyReply

No ideas, but my suggestion would be to post on the Adobe forum at http://forums.adobe.com/community/lightroom?view=discussions, where there probably more Adobe staffer's lurking to comment.  (Yes, I know there are a few here too.)
Logged
kikashi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4122



« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2013, 08:23:54 AM »
ReplyReply

No ideas, but my suggestion would be to post on the Adobe forum at http://forums.adobe.com/community/lightroom?view=discussions, where there probably more Adobe staffer's lurking to comment.  (Yes, I know there are a few here too.)

Thanks. Done (in a slightly expanded form).

Jeremy
Logged
watsonm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2013, 12:57:53 PM »
ReplyReply

Just wanted to check.  Have you tried using a different browser .

If yes then my apologies.  Its just that on my laptop the browser I also use on my main machine has some odd issues
with various action/logon buttons.
Logged
kikashi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4122



« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2013, 08:30:00 AM »
ReplyReply

No ideas, but my suggestion would be to post on the Adobe forum at http://forums.adobe.com/community/lightroom?view=discussions, where there probably more Adobe staffer's lurking to comment.  (Yes, I know there are a few here too.)

I was directed to a thread on feedback.photoshop.com, in which Becky Sowada, an Adobe employee, had written:

There is a bug in which Process Version 2003 photos (only) in catalogs that have been upgraded to Lightroom 5.0 will incorrectly get a "Post Crop Vignette: Paint Overlay" History State applied when further processed in the Develop Module. This in-and-of-itself is innocuous, however, for photos in this condition, selecting a subsequent History State can reset existing settings that follow that state in the History panel. This reset cannot be undone, effectively deleting any settings that have been applied after the selected History State.

We are working on a fix for next dot release of Lightroom. In the meantime, a back-up copy of your previous Lightroom catalog is always recommended and will insure that all settings are recoverable for those who experience this issue.


So, we wait. And we don't edit PV2003 photos (even those which have since been upgraded to PV2010) in the meantime.

Jeremy

PS: watsonm, you have the wrong end of the stick: this is a bug in LR5 and nothing to do with browsers.
Logged
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8292



WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2013, 12:42:15 PM »
ReplyReply

That is one scary bug. I'm glad I haven't seen it yet. Thanks for the warning.

Eric M.

Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7002


« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2013, 01:14:00 AM »
ReplyReply

I was directed to a thread on feedback.photoshop.com, in which Becky Sowada, an Adobe employee, had written:

There is a bug in which Process Version 2003 photos (only) in catalogs that have been upgraded to Lightroom 5.0 will incorrectly get a "Post Crop Vignette: Paint Overlay" History State applied when further processed in the Develop Module. This in-and-of-itself is innocuous, however, for photos in this condition, selecting a subsequent History State can reset existing settings that follow that state in the History panel. This reset cannot be undone, effectively deleting any settings that have been applied after the selected History State.

We are working on a fix for next dot release of Lightroom. In the meantime, a back-up copy of your previous Lightroom catalog is always recommended and will insure that all settings are recoverable for those who experience this issue.


So, we wait. And we don't edit PV2003 photos (even those which have since been upgraded to PV2010) in the meantime.

Jeremy

PS: watsonm, you have the wrong end of the stick: this is a bug in LR5 and nothing to do with browsers.



Jeremy,
Glad that you reported the issue and got a reply. I noticed that and started to worry. history…
Logged

Francois
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad