Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Hasselblad tethering issues - Contact me  (Read 3231 times)
oneword123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« on: July 11, 2013, 09:21:51 AM »
ReplyReply

Hello all,

I have owned or tested 4 Hasselblad H4's over the past two years and currently own two H4D's which I use professionally. I wont bore you all with the entire story here however, I have had countless problems getting this camera to work correctly tethered to the point that it does not work in a professional setting as a tethered camera. I have tried absolutely everything, changed cables, computers etc. etc and have been given a phenomenal amount of "run around" by Hasselblad. In the end, I have figured out the problem and Hasselblad's solution was to come up with the H5 and change the configuration while pretending I'm the only person who has had trouble with the H4.

If you own or owned an H4 and use it tethered or have had a problem using it tethered, I'd like to hear from you and find out what your experience has been or if you found a solution. Please message me if you have any experience or thoughts on Hasselblad H4's and any issues related to tethering.

Thanks
Logged
Dustbak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2375


« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2013, 09:40:58 AM »
ReplyReply

I have been using HB product for the last 5 years intensively and tethering has never been rock solid dependable. My H4D60 regularly looses its connection. Allegedly because of a lesse quality firewire cable but now with the new 'grey' cable the issue is still there.

All in all tethering has become more reliable but it still has not gotten to the level that I consider the 'gold standard' which was my Leaf Valeo22. The Leaf just kept going and going no mather what you did to it.

The disconnects, crashes, hangs, whatever at least once every session. It is workable but yes I would love to see it better.
Logged
epines
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 173


WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2013, 03:15:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Hmmm. I'm not an expert on this, but my tethering (H3DII-39) has been rock solid. It's fastest and easiest with my Mac Pro, but even to my ~2008 MacBook Pro it's dependable. Phocus is slow on the laptop, so I only tether when shooting architecture, not people. On the Mac Pro, where I upgraded the graphics card, it's much better.

Very strange. I literally just plug in and go. I know this doesn't help the OP directly, but it might help to know that it's not a universal problem.
Logged

EricWHiss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2451



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2013, 11:16:37 AM »
ReplyReply

I use both leaf and Hasselblad backs. Occasionally they interfere with each other and I have to close C1 to get phocus to recognize the FireWire connection. It's possible other FireWire devices also interfere with the phocus connection? 

I did notice that HB made a Lightroom tether plugin available recently, but haven't tried it. Perhaps it's another alternative?
Logged

Authorized Rolleiflex Dealer:
Find product information, download user manuals, or purchase online - Rolleiflex USA
Louis Novak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2013, 12:48:26 PM »
ReplyReply

oneword123,

What computers have you tried tethering with? If you are using a tower are you using the firewire ports in the front or back? The ports in the front are not part of the logic board so they do not receive reliable power from the computer. Have you tried using a powered hub?
Logged

Louis Novak | louis@captureintegration.com
Tech Support Specialist, Capture Integration
Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Hasselblad, Cambo, Leica, Eizo & More
Main: 877.217.9870 | Direct: 786.459.7865
bab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2013, 07:38:40 PM »
ReplyReply

I have been using the phocus tethered for a while in the beginning it was flawless but recently I've had a crash every 25 to 30 images when shooting quickly seems the buffer can't handle progressive bursts. Reopen does not solve problem need to reboot program and camera then it works fine if you slow down
Maybe someone can add to my experience ?

Barry
Logged
Louis Novak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2013, 09:56:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Are you using the latest version of Phocus? Do the software requirements meet the specs on your computer?
Logged

Louis Novak | louis@captureintegration.com
Tech Support Specialist, Capture Integration
Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Hasselblad, Cambo, Leica, Eizo & More
Main: 877.217.9870 | Direct: 786.459.7865
bab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2013, 07:08:59 PM »
ReplyReply

V2.7.4
and YES
16GB w two Flash Drives
Logged
oneword123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2013, 08:40:59 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the suggestions everyone. Believe me, I've tried it all. I wont bore you with all the details but I have owned an H3D39, an H431 and an H440 and none have worked well tethered. I have also had demo units in H440 and H460 which worked equally poorly. Either the camera or the software locks up and it stops transferring files or corrupts those files it does transfer

All my cameras have been back to Hasselblad for "testing and repairs" and all have been returned without any improvement

I've tried dozens of Firewire cables and multiple MacBook Pro computers as well as having had one custom built especially for tethering on location.

I've always maintained the most current version of all firmware and software.

When I completely gave up on Phocus, I asked Hasselblad if there was any way I could tether to Lightroom and they said it was not possible. A digital tech on a shoot in LA later told me about the plug in Hasselblad had on their website for this exact purpose. I found it and discovered it had been available for at least 6 months prior to when the Hasselblad rep told me there was no such thing.

Using Lightroom has made the system "barely usable and frustrating" whereas with Phocus is was "completely unusable"

Hasselblad eventually told me to stop contacting them and to deal with the original retailer who is a really great guy and has since appealed to Hasselblad multiple times on this matter, loaned me cameras for testing etc etc. however, has been completely brushed off by Hasselblad (not a small dealer either, probably one of the biggest in fact)

Multiple emails to the President of Hasselblad USA have gone un replied to (message me, I'll happily share his email address).

The new H5 now has the ability to power the back from the camera or the firewire cable which indicates to me that they are fully aware of the problem and are hoping it will just go away without them having to make good on the previous models shortcomings.

They have offered to take both my cameras back at wholesale used prices against a new H5 however, their offer will mean I eat about $12,000 for cameras that never worked properly so, I've refused. They have said it's a "take it or leave it offer" and they have no further interest in discussing it or coming to any agreeable solution.

I've already spoken to a lawyer and am meeting him again in the next few weeks to discuss the matter, but, if anyone else can think of anything or wants to share their experiences, I'd love to hear from you.
Logged
design_freak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1074



« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2013, 05:17:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the suggestions everyone. Believe me, I've tried it all. I wont bore you with all the details but I have owned an H3D39, an H431 and an H440 and none have worked well tethered. I have also had demo units in H440 and H460 which worked equally poorly. Either the camera or the software locks up and it stops transferring files or corrupts those files it does transfer

All my cameras have been back to Hasselblad for "testing and repairs" and all have been returned without any improvement

I've tried dozens of Firewire cables and multiple MacBook Pro computers as well as having had one custom built especially for tethering on location.

I've always maintained the most current version of all firmware and software.

When I completely gave up on Phocus, I asked Hasselblad if there was any way I could tether to Lightroom and they said it was not possible. A digital tech on a shoot in LA later told me about the plug in Hasselblad had on their website for this exact purpose. I found it and discovered it had been available for at least 6 months prior to when the Hasselblad rep told me there was no such thing.

Using Lightroom has made the system "barely usable and frustrating" whereas with Phocus is was "completely unusable"

Hasselblad eventually told me to stop contacting them and to deal with the original retailer who is a really great guy and has since appealed to Hasselblad multiple times on this matter, loaned me cameras for testing etc etc. however, has been completely brushed off by Hasselblad (not a small dealer either, probably one of the biggest in fact)

Multiple emails to the President of Hasselblad USA have gone un replied to (message me, I'll happily share his email address).

The new H5 now has the ability to power the back from the camera or the firewire cable which indicates to me that they are fully aware of the problem and are hoping it will just go away without them having to make good on the previous models shortcomings.

They have offered to take both my cameras back at wholesale used prices against a new H5 however, their offer will mean I eat about $12,000 for cameras that never worked properly so, I've refused. They have said it's a "take it or leave it offer" and they have no further interest in discussing it or coming to any agreeable solution.

I've already spoken to a lawyer and am meeting him again in the next few weeks to discuss the matter, but, if anyone else can think of anything or wants to share their experiences, I'd love to hear from you.

Leave it. It does not make sense. Vote with your money. PhaseOne will offer you better terms. Your problems will disappear
Logged

Best regards,
DF

-------------------------------------------
WORK HARD AND BE NICE TO PEOPLE
-------------------------------------------
MrSmith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 922



WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2013, 05:40:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Trade in and get a phase/leaf cut your losses and move on. Only the lawyer will come out of this with a smile.
Logged
bab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2013, 09:22:28 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm sure of one thing there are three sides to every story what u said, what they said, and what happened. If u have owned and been shooting with the equipment for two years things have dragged on for too long.
The amount of money your fighting over is not the issue and whether you right or wrong wont solve your problem now neither will a lawyer. If you have enough money at stake to hire an attorney to take this case to litigation you can certainly try something else first.
 Request an H5D ? And hook it up for a week an try it, if it works trade in and take hasselbald s offer if it still won't work for you man up and move on.
I don't mean to be cold and without sympathy for your past frustrations but without getting into long conversations that's the short story of wisdom I have to offer. Also I have not owned a phase system but ill bet u it comes with its own surprises!
Logged
Enda Cavanagh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 577



WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2013, 10:08:49 AM »
ReplyReply

I've shot tethered on a H3D 39 for 6 years. Usually with my internal architecture. It's a lot better than it used to be but there are still frequent freezes in Phocus. Half the problem is that the firewire connection on a mac book pro is a complete pile of shite. If you move the cable or laptop it pops out very easily, enough to break the connection. Separate from that Phocus does tend to freeze quite often. I have to force quite it. Remove the cable from the back. Reconnect. Take  one shot and reload phocus.
Logged

bab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2013, 01:11:12 AM »
ReplyReply

I have been shooting aggressively this pat week with my h5d 50 and 120 mm macro phocus froze up several times my best guesses are
1. The buffer can't keep up with the shooting speed
2. I'm stacking and using the phocus software to change the focus point it seems to bind up with fast repetition
3. Camera goes to sleep and won't reconnect
4. Electronic signal from or to strobes or pack has a way of corrupting the tethered solution?

After a frustrating 5 minuets wish I could resort to using a hammer to restart it the old fashion way I can get things back to normal and continue shooting. When it works I'm in awe with the ease of the process and get fantastic results.
I'm sure some code work could solve the sticky issues, we are all spoiled by our macs and the mostly remarkable smoothness of the flow from program to program. Hasselblad phocus is far from the frustrations of Microsoft products but not quite up to the consistency of apple products.
I would love to know why live shooting can't be easier and why the phocus can't function a little better being its proprietary with the h5d?
Any tips out there someone cares to share would be appreciated!

Barry
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad