Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LightRoom6 Must have!  (Read 46939 times)
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5489


WWW
« Reply #260 on: July 09, 2014, 10:57:41 AM »
ReplyReply

As a Windows users, I never suspected this kind of difference, now I'm wondering if all the professionals use Apple for good reason (aside from usability preferences) but you're suggesting not?

I really wouldn't loose any sleep over it...fact is, if you are working with 16 bit images and using the Adobe ACE when printing from LR or Ps, you won't really be at a disadvantage...The Adobe ACE CMM does it's color transforms in 20-bit precision before sending the final 8-bit to the print pipeline.
Logged
alifatemi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171



WWW
« Reply #261 on: July 10, 2014, 11:39:46 PM »
ReplyReply

Two things I like LR has:

-Easy mirror for canvas without using PS, automatically.
-Restro option in case you loose your main hard and want to restore everything from your back-up external drive without hassle. I am still not sure if anything happened to my hard disk, how to use all these back up files!
Logged

Ali
David Eichler
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 330


WWW
« Reply #262 on: July 12, 2014, 03:38:30 AM »
ReplyReply

An export preset that activates a group of export presets. Is such a thing that hard to add?
Logged

smahn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130


« Reply #263 on: July 12, 2014, 01:07:57 PM »
ReplyReply

The ability to batch export embedded raw smart objects, without having to open and save them in PS as is now required.
Logged
hdomke
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #264 on: July 14, 2014, 01:22:27 PM »
ReplyReply

I wish LR could show the focus point.
This information is displayed for my Canon DSLR cameras using DPP (Digital Photo Professional) and with Aperture.

Seeing the focus points can be very helpful for understanding why some pictures seem out of focus.
Logged

Henry

Henry Domke Fine Art
www.henrydomke.com
Doc
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70


WWW
« Reply #265 on: July 15, 2014, 07:41:56 AM »
ReplyReply

Its been some time now...Anyone want to vote on the initial post?
I have a thought that since Photoshop is now in heaven, perhaps LR would have a chance to evolve its capabilities...At least only in having the options of doing things mentioned initially and many of the wonderful and key points made by you.


+1 for Better Dual Monitor support.
(+1Trillion if I could !)
Logged

Learning everyday !
PeterAit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1924



WWW
« Reply #266 on: July 24, 2014, 08:46:27 AM »
ReplyReply

When importing images, quick access to the Desktop as the source without having to drill down thru c:\users\username\desktop.
Logged

Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my photos at http://www.peteraitken.com
smahn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130


« Reply #267 on: July 24, 2014, 08:57:38 AM »
ReplyReply

And if I drag a group of images or a folder from the finder to a LR folder, that LR folder should automatically be selected as the destination folder in the import dialog box. Duh.
Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3499



WWW
« Reply #268 on: July 24, 2014, 03:46:16 PM »
ReplyReply

When importing images, quick access to the Desktop as the source without having to drill down thru c:\users\username\desktop.
You can already do that as the arrow next to the 'Select a source' gives you a list of places recently imported from. I always copy off card to a folder named 'To Import' and then that's top of the recent list when I import pics into LR. And as it happens 'Desktop' is also there along with 'recent places'.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
SangRaal
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #269 on: July 24, 2014, 06:52:19 PM »
ReplyReply

As long as Adobe includes an Apple I phone camera profile in Lightroom; how about a profile for Samsung Note / Galaxy currently the most popular phone in north america ?? I never thought I would ever take a meaningful photograph with a camera phone but late last week I caught a Commercial spray truck (1,500 gallon tank) cleaning his tank with water from a trout stream and flushing the residue into the trout stream. I have already printed pics for the prosecuting authorities and for myself to use as an exhibit when testifying. 
Logged
PeterAit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1924



WWW
« Reply #270 on: July 24, 2014, 07:03:10 PM »
ReplyReply

You can already do that as the arrow next to the 'Select a source' gives you a list of places recently imported from. I always copy off card to a folder named 'To Import' and then that's top of the recent list when I import pics into LR. And as it happens 'Desktop' is also there along with 'recent places'.

OK, thanks!
Logged

Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my photos at http://www.peteraitken.com
PeterAit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1924



WWW
« Reply #271 on: July 25, 2014, 03:22:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Automatic paper length when using roll paper. If I set 1" top and bottom margins and my print is 12.5" high, the paper size should automatically be set to 14.5". If the print is 16.25" high, then it should be set at 18.25".
Logged

Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my photos at http://www.peteraitken.com
johnkiv
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


WWW
« Reply #272 on: August 03, 2014, 08:17:39 AM »
ReplyReply

In the Develop module:  Love the local adjustment tools.  A polygon, square / rectangle version of the Radial filter would be handy.  If there is one out there, or I'm missing it, let me know.

John
Logged

PeterAit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1924



WWW
« Reply #273 on: August 15, 2014, 07:53:49 AM »
ReplyReply

When defining rules for smart collections, it would help in debugging if one could temporarily turn off a rule without deleting it.
Logged

Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my photos at http://www.peteraitken.com
Peter M. Macdonald
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #274 on: September 15, 2014, 08:18:01 AM »
ReplyReply

It would be very useful if Lightroom could take the dust delete map which can be output from a Canon camera and automatically apply that information to photographs in the way which can be done with Canon's own DPP.
Logged
Rick Popham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 126


WWW
« Reply #275 on: September 15, 2014, 06:25:09 PM »
ReplyReply

I'd like to have a way to change the default "Edit In" application.  Right now, LR defaults to the latest version of Photoshop installed on the computer and there's no way to change this.  Yes, you can select a secondary application, but the "Open in Layers" and "Merge to Panorama" options only work with the default application.

Given the recent problems with Photomerge, etc. in CC 2014, it would be nice to be able to bypass it and use an earlier version -- with these time saving options in the "Edit" menu.

(sorry if this has already been posted -- I haven't read the entire thread)
Logged
orc73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #276 on: September 17, 2014, 01:26:19 PM »
ReplyReply

and instant slideshow... Huh
Logged
Adam L
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 187


WWW
« Reply #277 on: September 17, 2014, 01:33:04 PM »
ReplyReply

There is a quick slideshow feature in LR now.   Select the images from the library.  Hold down ctrl and enter (windows)
Logged

"That's a lot of money to move a few pixels around"
Eyeball
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 106


« Reply #278 on: September 17, 2014, 04:53:25 PM »
ReplyReply

I'd like to see the Whites and Blacks sliders added to the adjustment brush.
Sometimes I like to use the brush to reduce exposure, contrast, and saturation of the background of outdoor portraits and sometimes as part of that I need to bring up the black levels so the background contrast doesn't compete with the subject.  None of the existing brush sliders, including Shadows, really allow you to bring up values that are close to solid black.
Logged
Sharon Van Lieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 379


Nantucket Landscape and Architectural Photographer


WWW
« Reply #279 on: September 18, 2014, 05:41:53 AM »
ReplyReply

I'd like to see the Whites and Blacks sliders added to the adjustment brush.
Sometimes I like to use the brush to reduce exposure, contrast, and saturation of the background of outdoor portraits and sometimes as part of that I need to bring up the black levels so the background contrast doesn't compete with the subject.  None of the existing brush sliders, including Shadows, really allow you to bring up values that are close to solid black.

Yes!!! I vote for this.
Logged

Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad