Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 14 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LightRoom6 Must have!  (Read 39781 times)
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7326


WWW
« Reply #80 on: November 26, 2013, 10:52:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Which one?

BR Erik

Interesting idea.
Logged

jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3365



WWW
« Reply #81 on: November 27, 2013, 02:06:23 AM »
ReplyReply

The one directly above it. If it had been any other post, I would have quoted it.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
nik
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 202


WWW
« Reply #82 on: December 01, 2013, 01:24:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Speaking for the .1% here;

- Fix tethering and make it fast. Hell, fix it in LR5 - it's so broken right now it's unusable due to it's instability (loses camera connection constantly regardless if it's on a laptop or a desktop). Also, how about being able to create multiple folders beforehand and then select the desired one as your "capture-to" folder? And be able to re-select the folder as a "capture-to / shoot-to" folder by right mouse clicking it? Instead of having to type it's name in again (current implementation) ? C1 borrowed ideas from you, why not borrow from them?

- The ability to color folders would be nice.

- Lastly, a biggie, multi-user Catalogs.
Logged
JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 360


WWW
« Reply #83 on: December 01, 2013, 03:17:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Speaking for the .1% here;

- Fix tethering and make it fast. Hell, fix it in LR5 - it's so broken right now it's unusable due to it's instability (loses camera connection constantly regardless if it's on a laptop or a desktop). Also, how about being able to create multiple folders beforehand and then select the desired one as your "capture-to" folder? And be able to re-select the folder as a "capture-to / shoot-to" folder by right mouse clicking it? Instead of having to type it's name in again (current implementation) ? C1 borrowed ideas from you, why not borrow from them?

- The ability to color folders would be nice.

- Lastly, a biggie, multi-user Catalogs.
+1 on the tethered shooting plus Multi-folder
+1 on the Multi-user catalogs, including the option for secure access across the internet.
Logged

Fine art photography: www.janrsmit.com
Courses and workshops: www.centrumbeeldbeleving.nl

Jan R. Smit
hjulenissen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1677


« Reply #84 on: December 01, 2013, 05:47:49 AM »
ReplyReply

I might have 5 different virtual copies of the same file, edited for different purposes. It would be nice to (more easily) be able to distinguish them at a glance (while rendered as a small tile). If one was last printed on glossy photopaper, while the other was exported as sRGB JPEG, cannot this infomation be presented in a way that lets me choose the file that I am most probably searching for instead of having to inspect them more closely?

-h
Logged
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7898



WWW
« Reply #85 on: December 01, 2013, 01:19:25 PM »
ReplyReply

I might have 5 different virtual copies of the same file, edited for different purposes. It would be nice to (more easily) be able to distinguish them at a glance (while rendered as a small tile). If one was last printed on glossy photopaper, while the other was exported as sRGB JPEG, cannot this infomation be presented in a way that lets me choose the file that I am most probably searching for instead of having to inspect them more closely?

-h
+1 on this.
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
David Jilek
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82


« Reply #86 on: December 06, 2013, 06:42:45 AM »
ReplyReply

I agree! I'm so tired of wasting time switching back and forth all the time!
I would also love to be able to  have preset carry over  from a previous image while shooting tethered.
Logged
tomrock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #87 on: December 06, 2013, 07:03:30 AM »
ReplyReply

If you want a preset to automatically apply when shooting tethered, change the default for that camera to your preset for the duration of the shoot. Change it back when you're done.
Logged
sertsa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


WWW
« Reply #88 on: December 08, 2013, 08:01:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Add grain to the adjustment brush, or add a slider sort of like the mask in sharpening that varies the grain by value.  Film grain is not uniform but varies, as is it often looks fake.

Extrapolating this out to pie-in-the sky (Ideally combined with an earlier suggestion to let all the adjustment tools work together - gradient, brush, radial filter) - when selecting the mask tools allow all the adjustments to be used with the masking tools.  The small panel that pops up would be eliminated and the look of the entire right panel would change (different color?) to indicate global adjustments vs being in a masked mode.

In the slideshow module bring back the toggle to require/not require a preview before the slideshow will run.  It is frustrating to watch Lightroom crank away before it will start the slideshow, never had a problem with them being built on the fly before, and if there was a slight stutter between images occasionally it is better then the long wait before.  I should be able to decide which is preferable.
Logged
Scott Hargis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191



WWW
« Reply #89 on: December 09, 2013, 10:33:19 AM »
ReplyReply

I'd like to see a voice memo feature added. While in the field, I sometimes shoot an image that's going to have a very small, very specific role in the post-processing, and it'd be nice if I could click a button, dictate a quick memo to myself about what that image is for, and then have a little badge show up on the thumbnail so that days (or weeks) later I'll know that there's a memo associated with that image.
Logged

<a href="http://www.scotthargisphoto.com">Website</a>
Rory
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 159


« Reply #90 on: December 09, 2013, 02:03:55 PM »
ReplyReply

I'd like to see a voice memo feature added. While in the field, I sometimes shoot an image that's going to have a very small, very specific role in the post-processing, and it'd be nice if I could click a button, dictate a quick memo to myself about what that image is for, and then have a little badge show up on the thumbnail so that days (or weeks) later I'll know that there's a memo associated with that image.

You sure you cannot do this now?
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2750



WWW
« Reply #91 on: December 09, 2013, 05:28:46 PM »
ReplyReply

It can play voice notes recorded by the camera, that's all.
Logged

JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 360


WWW
« Reply #92 on: December 10, 2013, 03:25:44 PM »
ReplyReply

I might have 5 different virtual copies of the same file, edited for different purposes. It would be nice to (more easily) be able to distinguish them at a glance (while rendered as a small tile). If one was last printed on glossy photopaper, while the other was exported as sRGB JPEG, cannot this infomation be presented in a way that lets me choose the file that I am most probably searching for instead of having to inspect them more closely?

-h
You could use the copy name field to fill with its purpose, e.g.: SRGB JPG, Print. Also use the softproof create softproof copy, it adds the printerprofile used in the copy name. Typically you would use a vc in an outrput driven way, to achieve some form, size, color of b/w variant or what ever output objective you have.
Logged

Fine art photography: www.janrsmit.com
Courses and workshops: www.centrumbeeldbeleving.nl

Jan R. Smit
Remo Nonaz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 257


WWW
« Reply #93 on: December 14, 2013, 09:08:52 AM »
ReplyReply

I'd like to see the ability to turn on  / turn off (preview) individual adjustment pins. Unless I've misses something, currently preview turns them all on or off.
Logged

I really enjoy using old primes on my m4/3 camera. There's something about having to choose your aperture and actually focusing your camera that makes it so much more like... like... PHOTOGRAPHY!
Dr Tone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #94 on: December 16, 2013, 10:09:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Performance improvements have to be number one for me.  Higher MP photos with a few localized adjustments can really bring LR to it's knees.  I think GPU acceleration would be a great start.
Logged
Dan Glynhampton
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #95 on: December 16, 2013, 02:07:55 PM »
ReplyReply

I think GPU acceleration would be a great start.

I'm not so sure GPU acceleration would do for Lightroom what you hope, as with most things in life it's not that simple.  Data has to be presented to a GPU in a very specific way, and the overheads of that processing can outweigh any benefits. Jeff Schewe explains it well (and more directly!) in this message.
Logged
mlewis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #96 on: December 17, 2013, 06:57:37 AM »
ReplyReply

What I would really like is the ability to use the straighten ruler in the crop section when zoomed into an image.  Often I find it difficult to correctly draw the line when zoomed out.
Logged
hjulenissen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1677


« Reply #97 on: December 17, 2013, 07:24:20 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm not so sure GPU acceleration would do for Lightroom what you hope, as with most things in life it's not that simple.  Data has to be presented to a GPU in a very specific way, and the overheads of that processing can outweigh any benefits. Jeff Schewe explains it well (and more directly!) in this message.
Image processing should generally be well suited for GPU. Especially batch-processing many images. But doing algorithm X (well, i.e. accurately, stable and fast) on a hand-ful of GPU architectures, debugging, etc is more complicated than doing the same algorithm on x86. So how is this complexity going to be "paid"? By Adobe nicely hiring more staff? By Adobe redirecting algorithm development resources into GPU acceleration tasks? By Lightroom 6 having more bugs? By customers paying more for the product?

I am guessing that it should be relatively "easy" for e.g. Nvidia to port significant parts of the Lightroom pipeline to a recent generation Nvidia/CUDA GPU and making it produce equivalent output 2x or 10x faster than a recent Intel CPU for a demo. Making this into a robust software product that can be sold to customers of various hw configurations (and competence), making the software maintainable for adding features and fixing bugs, making money off of the thing, that is harder (I guess).

-h
Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« Reply #98 on: December 17, 2013, 12:27:34 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm not so sure GPU acceleration would do for Lightroom what you hope, as with most things in life it's not that simple.  Data has to be presented to a GPU in a very specific way, and the overheads of that processing can outweigh any benefits. Jeff Schewe explains it well (and more directly!) in this message.


The bottle neck for most people that have just about all things updates ends up being the server or harddrive the file reads/writes to. It maybe worth it for some, as I consider it to have a "staging" drive. A large SSD drive to have all the projects/files your working on and then copy over to the server/main storage.  One thing that would concern me is the possibility of the SSD being bricked/wiped, as it isn't written on to the drive. So perhaps you have to save to the server move files to the staging drive, then move them back?  Not sure. I obviously havnt figured a way for this, but I think I would gain at least a couple hours if I could make things read/write faster. 

I for one get up and do something else while a 1-2gB PSD in max compatible mode starts writing.  I try and do this after major changes. So it breaks up the workflow a bit.
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« Reply #99 on: December 18, 2013, 11:31:45 PM »
ReplyReply

I have a NEW Must have....(along proper dual screen)

How many times do you have to edit something in PShop and then go back and forth with Synchronizing the folder to finally have it appear?

LightRoom needs a "HOT FOLDER". A folder that you can designate when ever you work on a project. The designated folder will be monitored and will automatically create previews for the folder gaining new files from outside folders. This would make LR more of a active DAM that you can cotrol, rather than a DUM DAM, ughmm.
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 14 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad