Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Edit in Nik Software from LR  (Read 1652 times)
jma47
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« on: August 30, 2013, 04:09:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Hello,

I am currently working with a Canon 5D III (file 5760x3840), LR 4 and a Epson 4900 printer.
When editing the file in NS (from Lightroom), I have to select a few options. My selection is to work in: TIFF/ProPhoto/16 bits/No compression but I am wondering what is the best number to enter for 'resolution' in order to get the best quality (it is 240 by default) for my master file.
Thanks for your input.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Antoine
Logged
tommm
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 05:10:06 AM »
ReplyReply

It makes no difference whilst editing only when you come to print.
Logged
jma47
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2013, 03:11:56 AM »
ReplyReply

It makes no difference whilst editing only when you come to print.

Thks but what will happen if I enter the default (240) when editing but enter 360 (or 720) in the LR print module?

Best,
jma47
Logged
tommm
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2013, 12:52:38 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry if this is teaching you to suck eggs....

An image contains a certain number of pixels, x by y, so long as you don't upsample (expand the image and create extra pixels) or downsample (condense the image into fewer pixels).

The resolution is simply a factor of the number of pixels in the image divided by the size you choose the image to be displayed or printed at. Or, equally, the size of the images is simply how many pixels it contains divided by the resolution you set.

On screen, if you zoom in or out you change the resolution. So by setting the resolution for display on screen you simply define how big it will be displayed but as soon as you change the size (by dragging a bounding box or zooming in, etc) you also change the resolution - but it has no effect on the content of the image.

Equally if you print (without resampling) at different sizes you end up with different resolution prints.

However, the "resolution" tick box in the Lightroom Print module is actually an instruction to resample your image. So it will either create extra pixels to print or condense the image into fewer pixels. To maintain the relationship described above you need to untick this box completely. If you then tick the dimensions box higher up, the true resolution of your image will be displayed top left.

This resampling by lightroom is only done "on the fly" whilst making the print so it still would have no effect on your master image, just on what the print would look like (usually a positive effect but this is another lesson - check out the lightroom video tutorials or "From camera to print" video tutorial).

Hope that helps.

Tom
Logged
jma47
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2013, 03:26:14 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks Tommm.
I don't have a understanding issue with the resolution issue in the LR print module (thanks to this forum).
My problem is to understand the resolution approach within the Nik software products. When I edit in NS (from LR), I have to enter a number, the resolution is 240 by default. In previous answer you said :
"It makes no difference whilst editing only when you come to print".
So, the printer native resolution being 360, do you advice to enter this number (360) instead of the default figure (240)?
I hope I can express myself clearly as I am French speaking.  Thanks again for your help.
Logged
PhotoEcosse
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 613



« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2013, 09:48:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Maybe you are confusing ppi with dpi.

If so, have a look at this: http://www.rideau-info.com/photos/mythdpi.html



Logged

************************************
"Reality is an illusion caused by lack of alcohol."
Alternatively, "Life begins at the far end of your comfort zone."
tommm
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2013, 11:37:27 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Jean-Marie,

Assuming you are just editing the image in Nik software and not printing from there or resampling (I don't use Nik software so not even sure if it's possible to print from it), then as I said it makes no difference what resolution you set, it is just a nominal value which actually changes every time you zoom in or out.

Resolution on screen will never effect the image unless it is expressly being up or down sampled.

When it comes to printing resolution is important and generally it is thought best to print out at the printers native resolution but this need only be done at the time of printing.

All the best,

Tom
Logged
IWC Doppel
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99


« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2013, 11:04:24 AM »
ReplyReply

I am also interested in this and if the choice of ProphotoRGB and TIFF is also the best.(My 'guesses' as well)

I print from LR as I suspect the OP does and using an epson 3880 I choose 360 dpi in the LR print module so the flow is raw in LR-NS-LR-Print. The question is regarding the resolution choice on the first move from LR to NS where their is an editing choice regarding resolution, which possibly has nop effect on printing when the saved from NS image is bought back to LR ?
Logged
IWC Doppel
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99


« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2013, 10:05:48 AM »
ReplyReply

I think I got there, you can ignore 'resolution' as this only relevant for printing ans if you save back into LR and print from there, no issue

I have settled on

Photo RGB
Tiff
16 bit
No compression
360 (just in case !)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad