Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Can the Dynamic Range of a Canon Mark II be expanded?  (Read 765 times)
sunshine1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« on: November 21, 2013, 07:28:16 AM »
ReplyReply

Can the Dynamic Range of a Canon Mark II be expanded?

If so, how is that done?

Is it a gimmick or can it really help produce higher quality photographs?
Logged
hjulenissen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1677


« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2013, 07:40:02 AM »
ReplyReply

The obvious choice would be multi-exposure bracketing/HDR.

I can really help you capture a larger DR than what is natively available on your sensor, given that there is no scene/camera movement in-between shots. As to if this makes your photographs "higher quality", I guess it up to you and your processing.

-h
Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3563


« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2013, 08:29:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Can the Dynamic Range of a Canon Mark II be expanded?

Hi,

Beyond setting your ISO to 'L' (nominal ISO 50), and 'exposing to the right' (maximizing exposure without clipping the highlights), there is only exposure bracketing that can help.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
sunshine1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2013, 10:03:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you for your replies - apologies - I should have specified that I meant without using HDR or bracketing.
Logged
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2013, 10:04:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Technically using dual iso from magic lantern but I found it useless due to heavy aliasing outdoors though almost perfect indoors, not sure why the difference.
Logged

MatthewCromer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 411


« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2013, 10:16:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Sell it and buy a Sony Alpha 7R and metabones EF-mount adaptor Wink
Logged
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2013, 11:12:22 AM »
ReplyReply

You can trade it in for a system built exclusively for image quality.

Kidding...

Mostly
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
robdickinson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 146


« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2013, 01:11:25 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Beyond setting your ISO to 'L' (nominal ISO 50), and 'exposing to the right' (maximizing exposure without clipping the highlights), there is only exposure bracketing that can help.

Cheers,
Bart

'L' will reduce dynamic range. It effectively exposes at 100 and clips.

The options are blending and HDR or use filters.
Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3365



WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2013, 01:40:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Depending on what you are shooting fill flash is another option for dealing with large dynamic ranges. Obviously better suited to portraits than landscapes.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3563


« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2013, 01:52:57 PM »
ReplyReply

'L' will reduce dynamic range. It effectively exposes at 100 and clips.

Hi Rob,

With my 1Ds Mark II I can maximize DR by setting the ISO (= gain) to ISO 'L', which effectively is approx. ISO 75-80 although the exposure meter assumes ISO 50 (which would overexpose the image). The Raw read noise level is lower (by 10-12%) than at ISO 100, and the saturation level is the same, thus maximum DR (engineering definition) and native sensitivity is ~ISO 80.



On my 1Ds Mark III however, ISO 'L' and ISO 100 both result in virtually identical read noise and saturation levels, so the best DR is at the native sensitivity of ISO 100:


The 1Ds2 has a 12-bit ADC, the 1Ds3 has a 14-bit ADC, so I normalized the Raw ADUs to 16-bits in the above graphs, for easier comparison.

Cheers,
Bart
« Last Edit: November 22, 2013, 03:37:38 AM by BartvanderWolf » Logged
robdickinson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 146


« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2013, 06:01:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Well thats the 1 series.

But then according to clarkvision I am wrong and iso 50 has a very slight edge over iso 100.
http://www.clarkvision.com/articles/evaluation-canon-5dii/index.html
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad