Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Canon 5D mk 1 tethered work around  (Read 1869 times)
Wills
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


Wills


WWW
« on: December 14, 2013, 05:00:04 AM »
ReplyReply

I've been searching the net for days now and have failed to find a solution to tether an original Canon 5D to a Mac Book Pro (Nov 2013 running Mavericks) are there any work arounds that will either import to a watched folder or directly into Lightroom 5.x.
Logged

robertvine
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 10:30:59 PM »
ReplyReply

With the 5D Mk I you can use the canon remote control utility to change the camera settings and fire the shutter, this will download the image to a folder that you can set LR to watch so that it will automatically import the files to LR with a preset you choose.
Logged

Wills
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


Wills


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2013, 02:49:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Robert this application no longer works, I have exhausted all the obvious routes I even downloaded a trial of Capture One and the camera is not recognised even though some have reported success I cannot get it to work.
Logged

Wills
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


Wills


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 04:21:09 AM »
ReplyReply

I have utilised an old iMac with Snow Leopard (it can't run the newer LR versions) to shoot tethered saving to a watched folder the MBP running LR5 monitors its a bit of a pain but works, I might use a Mac mini for this to save space.
Logged

Wills
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


Wills


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2014, 03:10:21 AM »
ReplyReply

An update

I picked up an early 2009 Mac Mini with Snow Leopard and an early version of Lightroom 3.6 I think, tethering works a treat, I created a watched folder on my MBP and Lightroom 5.3 this also works, time delay is around 10s from pressing the shutter not much slower than to the Mac Mini.

Logged

Alto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2014, 09:19:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi There
The only way we can get our 5D MK1 to tether is to partition the disk with an older version of the OS on the second portion then you can drag and drop files between partitions.
A pain but it works.

Regards

Jon
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad