Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 32-bit HDR Lightroom plugin  (Read 3202 times)
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5744



WWW
« on: December 19, 2013, 04:47:20 PM »
ReplyReply

I just downloaded this today and haven't had much time to play with it yet, but the folks at HDRSoft (Photomatix) have a plugin for LR 4.1 and later that will take your original bracketed images and created a 32-bit floating point .tif then stack the result with the original images.  LR 4&5 have the ability to work with 32-bit images, so you can do your tone mapping within LR.  No PS required, and at $29 US it's a lot less than even Photomatix.  Been looking for something like this.

http://www.hdrsoft.com/download/merge_lrplugin.html

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
thierrylegros396
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 652


« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 01:49:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for that interesting link !

Thierry
Logged
aduke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 361


« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2013, 02:15:32 PM »
ReplyReply

I downloaded it yesterday. Easy install, went well. Ran several different sets of three exposures, all sets comprised hand-held images. After creating the 32 bit image, processing in LR was easy and satisfactory, better than what I had gotten from using PS merge to HDR.

I think I'll buy.

Alan
Logged
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7965



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2013, 04:08:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Looks very promising. Thanks for the link, Mike.
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6819


« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2013, 09:58:16 AM »
ReplyReply

I'll also try this one when I have a little free time. Thanks for the link.
Logged

Francois
alban
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90


« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2013, 10:55:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Has anyone downloaded the Macintosh version successfully? Somehow it isn't working for me
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6819


« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2013, 10:59:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Has anyone downloaded the Macintosh version successfully? Somehow it isn't working for me

Download worked fine (using Safari, OS X 10.9.1). Decompressing the zip file also and the installer opens correctly. I'm not on my "photo" computer so I didn't install it.
Logged

Francois
thierrylegros396
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 652


« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2013, 12:44:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Have tried it today.

Works well but with tripod and good lenses.

Why, because it seems that the automatic (embedded in Raw file) and manual corrections are not (fully) taken into account.

Is it possible to use corrections (CA, Distorsion, WB,...), then save into tiff (or other format), and then use the merge Plugin.

That would be more versatile.

Have a Nice W-E.

Thierry
Logged
Jason DiMichele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 160



WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2013, 05:46:59 PM »
ReplyReply

I've tried it out (On my PC and not the Mac yet) and my initial testing is proving to be successful. I own Photomatix Pro but I think this plugin will fit in nicely with my workflow as I'm really keen on using Lightroom for the dealing with HDR.

Cheers!
Logged

Jason DiMichele
Fine Art Photographer and Printer
www.jasondimichele.com
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5744



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2013, 01:11:21 AM »
ReplyReply

Jason: As I understand it, if you already own Photomatix you can get the plugin for free.

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1925


WWW
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2013, 02:26:33 AM »
ReplyReply

if you already own Photomatix you can get the plugin for free.
It's not clear from their site if that is the case. Looking at http://www.hdrsoft.com/order.php it may be that it's only included with the Plus bundle, rather than the basic package.
Logged
thierrylegros396
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 652


« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2013, 02:31:31 AM »
ReplyReply

1. If you bought a Photomatix Pro license before the Merge to 32-bit HDR Plugin was released, you can get the plugin for free from here.

2. Important: This plugin does not offer Photomatix HDR Tone Mapping. The Lightroom plugin that creates HDR photos with Photomatix is included for free in Photomatix Pro.

Thierry

Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1925


WWW
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2013, 02:35:02 AM »
ReplyReply

The Lightroom plugin that creates HDR photos with Photomatix is included for free in Photomatix Pro.
Yes, thanks I read that. So is "The Lightroom plugin that creates HDR photos with Photomatix" different to the create 32 bit from LR then ?
Logged
Jason DiMichele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 160



WWW
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2013, 09:19:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Mike: I definitely got the plugin for free. I had to download the trial version and then install my licence key for Photomatix Pro.

To anyone else who may not be familiar with this plugin, it basically just assembles your selected images into a 32-bit HDR image ready to be processed in Lightroom. The plugin allows you to do basic HDR merging such as fixing alignment and ghosting issues as well as noise reduction. It does have some control over these options as well. You can have the plugin auto import the 32-bit HDR file back into Lightroom stacked with the original files you exported or just back into the library. Most of Lightroom's features support 32-bit HDR processing but they won't necessarily be obvious. One obvious control in the basic panel of the develop module is the exposure slider which has a range of -10 to +10 when working with 32-bit images. You also want to be using Lightroom's process 2012.

Also note that the plugin version is completely functional aside from creating watermarks. So it's definitely worth trying out if you're at all interested.

Cheers!
Logged

Jason DiMichele
Fine Art Photographer and Printer
www.jasondimichele.com
Jason DiMichele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 160



WWW
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2013, 09:23:30 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, thanks I read that. So is "The Lightroom plugin that creates HDR photos with Photomatix" different to the create 32 bit from LR then ?

I don't think it's possible to create a 32-bit file from Lightroom. You need to do a round trip to Photoshop's Merge to HDR I believe. In my opinion Photomatix does a better job with HDR in general and this plugin is a more seamless workflow integration in my opinion than using the Photoshop Merge to HDR.

Cheers!
Logged

Jason DiMichele
Fine Art Photographer and Printer
www.jasondimichele.com
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1925


WWW
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2013, 01:25:16 PM »
ReplyReply

I don't think it's possible to create a 32-bit file from Lightroom. You need to do a round trip to Photoshop's Merge to HDR I believe.
If you bothered to read this thread from the start you'd know we're discussing the HDRSoft (Photomatix) plugin that creates a 32bit file from LR
Logged
Jason DiMichele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 160



WWW
« Reply #16 on: December 22, 2013, 01:40:13 PM »
ReplyReply

If you bothered to read this thread from the start you'd know we're discussing the HDRSoft (Photomatix) plugin that creates a 32bit file from LR

Thank you for your insight. However it's not LR creating the HDR file. It's Photomatix via their plugin. Which means it is not created via LR natively, not by LR at all. Perhaps you didn't understand my previous message.

Cheers!
Logged

Jason DiMichele
Fine Art Photographer and Printer
www.jasondimichele.com
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1925


WWW
« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2013, 05:01:47 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you for your insight. However it's not LR creating the HDR file. It's Photomatix via their plugin.
Which is what we're discussing. If you have anything constructive to add to this thread please feel free to add it.
Logged
Jason DiMichele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 160



WWW
« Reply #18 on: December 22, 2013, 05:09:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Which is what we're discussing. If you have anything constructive to add to this thread please feel free to add it.

If you've been following this thread you'd have already read that I have added something constructive. Feel free to continue your ridiculous arrogant replies that are a waste of everyone's time. Much like this one is I suppose. Smiley. Let's get the thread back on topic.

Cheers!
Logged

Jason DiMichele
Fine Art Photographer and Printer
www.jasondimichele.com
Jason DiMichele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 160



WWW
« Reply #19 on: December 22, 2013, 05:22:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Mike and Thierry,

Have either of you played around with the plugin any further? I'm liking it. I am wondering about the "Use Half Floating Point Format" option. According to the tooltip over the checkbox when hovering: "Reduces output file size by half while encoding the same dynamic range as the OpenEXR HDR file format. Recommended to save disk space as full Floating Point TIFF files are particularly large. ".  My question is if either of you (or anyone else) has found out if here are any disadvantages of using this option.  Typically there is no free lunch and 50% disk space saving isn't insignificant, more so because it will theoretically be a lot quicker to process and tone the image. Smiley

Cheers!
Logged

Jason DiMichele
Fine Art Photographer and Printer
www.jasondimichele.com
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad