Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: What is the correct Procedure for all of this?  (Read 1536 times)
offtheroad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« on: December 21, 2013, 10:31:54 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm on a Mac with latest Mavericks OS  and Latest Aperture 3.5.1
I moved around a lot of Projects and added to them and deleted some.
I want to replace my Photo internal hard drive with a new one
I want to replace my external hared drive that has my Vault on it that is now too small with a 1TB hard drive.
I  haven't done anything with the library like restoring it and done nothing with the Vault since my current external hard drive is now too small. One big mistake I made was I have a folder with folders in it on my desktop 37 GB of images That I added to Aperture If I now drag that folder and all it's internal folders to my Photography internal hard drive will the link to them be broken?
I would also like to rename my Vault and Library since they have old dates in there name.
Thank You
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2013, 10:35:30 AM »
ReplyReply

Are your images stored as "managed" (in the Aperture library) or "referenced" (in folders on your hard drive)?
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
offtheroad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2013, 10:39:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the speedy reply. I don't know how do I tell?
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2013, 10:45:36 AM »
ReplyReply

The choice is made on import. Since you mentioned backing up to a vault, I'm wondering if you are letting Aperture manage the images. That's the only way Aperture backups up image to the vault, otherwise it just backs up setting and meta data.
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
offtheroad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2013, 11:00:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Well as I was doing all the changes and deletions the vault was not attached.
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2013, 11:19:56 AM »
ReplyReply

Well as I was doing all the changes and deletions the vault was not attached.

That won't make any difference.

Let's assume your images are being managed by Aperture; that's the default behavior and you have to do something on purpose to have them in Aperture by reference. If that's true, then your images are in three places (which is not bad): 1) in the Aperture Library, 2) in the Aperture vault, 3) in the 37GB folder of images. But each group probably isn't the same if you've been deleting arranging and renaming in Aperture - those changes are only in the Aperture Library until you back up to the vault.

So, to move the Aperture Library, you would just need to copy it to it's final destination and open it with Aperture (double-click it) from there.
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
offtheroad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2013, 11:27:30 AM »
ReplyReply

So since my old external HD is too small the first thing I should do is attach th3 new external HD and tell Aperture to make q new vault on it or do I do something with the untouched library first. As my notes said I didn't restore library as I made all the changes just closed Aperture. I'm just asking the stepts in what order amd how to tell Aperture I want a new Vault on the new hard drive. The 37 GB folder on my desktop was extra to all the other changes I was makeing out of my Photography internal HD.
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2013, 11:38:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Sure. Make a fresh new vault on your new external drive. Then backup the internal drive somewhere, replace it and restore the vault to a new library on the new internal drive, or copy the old library over from the backup.
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
offtheroad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2013, 11:56:02 AM »
ReplyReply

I keep my library on same HD as Aperture withall my other app's. I keep my original Photographs on one independent internal HD with no OS just images and Vault on an external HD. Is that the best way?
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2013, 01:07:42 PM »
ReplyReply

There's nothing wrong with that. Your images are inside the Aperture Library package, your backup images are inside the vault, and spare images can be anywhere you like.
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
offtheroad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2013, 01:15:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for all your help.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad