Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Position RAM on board?  (Read 752 times)
russellsnr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 45


« on: December 30, 2013, 01:36:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi, Happy new year when it arrives for you.
I just upgraded with two sticks of 4GB RAM and now for a price I could not refuse I bought another one stick of 8GB RAM of the same make.
What I don't no is how to place them in the 4 slots, I no that if you have for example 2 X 2 GB and 2 X 4 GB you have to place 2-4-2-4  but I only have the one stick of 8GB and two 4 GB total 3 sticks 16 GB how should they be placed?
Thanks
Russ
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2004


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2013, 03:53:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Look at your manual for confirmation, but it's likely you can't mix that configuration of RAM sticks.
Logged
Alan Goldhammer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1739


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2013, 01:54:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Look at your manual for confirmation, but it's likely you can't mix that configuration of RAM sticks.
+1, you are inviting trouble as the RAM sticks are not matched.
Logged

Remo Nonaz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 270


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 01:10:36 PM »
ReplyReply

I would have agreed with the others that using a mix of three sticks of memory is not a good idea, but I was looking up some other information and came across this article: http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/cs-011965.htm .

At least with some Intel boards, apparently your configuration of 2 x 4 + 1 x 8 would be OK. Don't know what your board is and I would read the user's guide carefully before trying it. 

Logged

I really enjoy using old primes on my m4/3 camera. There's something about having to choose your aperture and actually focusing your camera that makes it so much more like... like... PHOTOGRAPHY!
tived
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 691


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2014, 02:16:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Russell,

It all depends on your motherboard / Chipset, if its dual/triple or quad channel, however, if you only have four slots then you are most likely to have dual channel memory, and therefore they need to be matched in pairs - however, you will need to check your manual for you particular board -

I am just curious how you decided that the price was to good to refuse - given you clearly have no idea of what you "bought"?

read the manual or look at the two existing ram sticks - what type/speed and then get double the size in pairs! and that is if your motherboard supports that quantity of ram

all the best - hope this helps

Henrik

Hi, Happy new year when it arrives for you.
I just upgraded with two sticks of 4GB RAM and now for a price I could not refuse I bought another one stick of 8GB RAM of the same make.
What I don't no is how to place them in the 4 slots, I no that if you have for example 2 X 2 GB and 2 X 4 GB you have to place 2-4-2-4  but I only have the one stick of 8GB and two 4 GB total 3 sticks 16 GB how should they be placed?
Thanks
Russ
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad