Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: graphics processor  (Read 2089 times)
tongelsing
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« on: January 21, 2014, 09:07:42 AM »
ReplyReply

I use Photoshop cc. In there latest version “Perspective Warp” is greyed out.
So i went to preferences/performance/graficsprocessor/ advanced settings to discover that  it was impossible to activate “Use OpenCL” and “Use Graphics Processor to Accelerate Computation” in each of the drawing modes.

Computer Mac Pro early 2009   OS Lion 10.7.5  12gig RAM
Monitor: Mac cinema display 30”
Videocard: NVIDIA GeForce GT 120  vram 512mb   driver 2012

Do I need another videocard or can I change my settings somewhere?

Ton
Logged
Redcrown
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 144


« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2014, 03:13:51 PM »
ReplyReply

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3609102

Says it might not work on 16bit images.
Logged
jerryrock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 568



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2014, 08:22:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Your video card was not tested and is not supported in Photoshop CC.

"Note: AMD/ATI 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000 series, nVidia GeForce 7000, 8000, 9000, 100, 200, 300 series and Intel HD Graphics (First generation) cards/GPUs are no longer being tested and are not officially supported in Photoshop CC. Some GL functionality is available for these cards, but it's possible that newer features don't work."

http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/photoshop-cs6-gpu-faq1.html#Graphics%20hardware%20not%20officially%20supported%20message
Logged

Gerald J Skrocki
skrockidesign.com
bill t.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2693


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2014, 04:06:23 PM »
ReplyReply

There are nVidia 640 and 650 series cards available for under $100.  If you ever plan to use After Effects, Premiere, or FCP those will help you a lot.  Photoshop is less impacted, although the problem you see now is probably the tip of the iceberg for increasing dependence on the GPU's in high end video cards for new PS functions.  I recently upgraded from a 210 to a 760 nVidia card, and in addition to much better timeline flow in Premiere, some issues with third-party PS plug-ins cleared up.
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8254



WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2014, 04:46:20 PM »
ReplyReply

I was facing a similar problem with my Pro 2,1 with FCPx and upgraded to an ATI 5770.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
MarkM
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2014, 06:26:55 PM »
ReplyReply

I was facing a similar problem with my Pro 2,1 with FCPx and upgraded to an ATI 5770.


I did exactly the same thing. Quick, painless, and relatively cheap.

Logged

tongelsing
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2014, 03:33:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks a lot for your responses. It explained why everything was working fine with PS-CS6 and not anymore with PS-CC

So I have to look for a new video card for my mac that will hopefully last  for the next two years.

I work only with Photoshop and Lightroom.

Ton
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad