Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: New mbp, drives do not mount over USB  (Read 2134 times)
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« on: February 03, 2014, 06:27:21 PM »
ReplyReply

I have a new mbp retina.

Problem is that drives formatted on the old Mac do not mount over USB and there is no easy way to connect by esata (and not sure that would work)

I tried a ntsf windows drive and it will not mount over USB, but does work over FireWire/thunderbolt.

Any suggestions? Apple spent 2 hours on the phone with me and they don't have a clue.

Thanks!
Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
RobSaecker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2014, 01:47:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Does anything mount via USB? What troubleshooting steps have you taken?
Logged

Rob
photo blog - http://robsaecker.com
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2014, 05:26:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Disk utility sees the drive, but can't repair it.

I did format a USB thumb drive and it works...but could not mount on a windows PC that reads Mac drives...

Phone support took me through many reboots and safe mode, but it was not effective.
Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
RobSaecker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2014, 03:04:50 PM »
ReplyReply

I can’t imagine I’d have any useful suggestions that Apple support wouldn’t have already tried, other than reinstalling the OS. If you’re anywhere near an Apple Store, I’d suggest taking it in to see if the techs there can do anything with it. Otherwise I’d be inclined to ask Apple for a replacement.
Logged

Rob
photo blog - http://robsaecker.com
jduncan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 296


« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2014, 03:27:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Do you have the old mac? are the disk still working with it?
When you say that Disk utility can't fix it what do you see, does it give you an error messages.

Please do the following and give us the results.
1. Open the terminal.
2. type: cd  /Volumes/  <enter>
3. type:  ls <enter>
If you see the volume and is called buelita do the following:
4. cd buelita/ <hit enter>

Some times drives get mounted on a bad state and the operative system can't mount them.
Please show us the results of this tests and the answer to the question abobe.

Best regards,
J. Duncan
Logged

english is not my first language, an I know is shows
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2014, 04:25:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks, will try this tomorrow:)
Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2014, 03:25:42 PM »
ReplyReply

bruce-greenes-macbook-pro-2:volumes bagreene$ cd /Volumes/
bruce-greenes-macbook-pro-2:Volumes bagreene$ Ls
Macintosh HD   MobileBackups
bruce-greenes-macbook-pro-2:Volumes bagreene$


Does this help?

Disk utility reports:
Verifying partition map for “Hitachi HDS5C3030ALA630 Media”
Checking prerequisites
Checking the partition list
Problems were found with the partition map which might prevent booting
Error: Partition map check failed because no slices were found.

Drive works on the old computer via eSATA.  Does not work using USB.  New computer has no eSATA.


Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2014, 03:27:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Maybe I need an eSTATA to thunderbolt dock solution?  Any suggestions?
Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
RobSaecker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2014, 07:32:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Drive works on the old computer via eSATA.  Does not work using USB.  New computer has no eSATA.

The drive doesn’t work on either computer with USB? If you haven’t already, try a different cable. If that doesn’t work, then the USB port on that enclosure is fried. You could try opening it up and putting the drive in another enclosure, or you could just replace it, but I wouldn’t depend on it for anything critical even using eSATA. The eSATA port might work indefinitely, or it might die too, at any time.
Logged

Rob
photo blog - http://robsaecker.com
k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1465


WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2014, 06:54:40 AM »
ReplyReply

I had an issue like this with my NEC calibration sensor not working on my new Mac. Turns out the USB 2 sensor is not compatible with the USB 3.0 ports on the computer.

Try this: get a powered USB 2.0 hub, and route your hard drives through that. This solved my issues with the sensor. These hubs are cheap and ubiquitous -- you probably already have one.

Of course it will run at USB 2 speeds, which is not an advantage. But at least you'll know if the various USB ports are working or not.
Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2014, 12:12:25 PM »
ReplyReply

I tried two different enclosures and two cables with the same result.

A different drive, in its own enclosure worked over USB ... With the same cable.
Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2014, 12:14:11 PM »
ReplyReply

I don't have a USB 2 hub. Will need to buy one...Are there USB3 hubs?
Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1465


WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2014, 02:07:58 PM »
ReplyReply

I don't have a USB 2 hub. Will need to buy one...Are there USB3 hubs?

Yes, but that was part of my problem. I "upgraded" all my peripherals to USB 3 -- the hub, the card readers, the Voyager drive bay -- and everything works fine, except I could not get my NEC sensor puck to work. It drove me crazy, and the NEC tech finally figured out that I was using USB 3 and it's not really backward compatible with everything.

Luckily I had not tossed my old USB 2 hub. So when I need to recalibrate my monitor each month, I attach the USB 2 hub, hook up the sensor puck, and it works.

I'm not at all certain that this will fix your problem, of course. But good luck with it.
Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
smthopr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2014, 01:05:51 AM »
ReplyReply

Well, sort of solved the problem, but not the issue...

I bought a esata to usb3 adapter for $30.  Drive works fine through this method and plays my video clips in realtime at full res!  Yea!!!!

Thanks for the suggestions guys!

Logged

Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad